We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Drovers Motor Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Drovers Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 75: English reviews
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

didn't get much sleep as bed was as hard as, we did get about four hours though, i don't mind if the maintenance is not kept up with. the tariff is good as one would close a blind eye to these minor imperfections wifi's excellent.

Helpful?
Thank muzbme
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2016

I had a great experience here, despite being a little concerned at some of the poor comments posted. The Motel was easy to find, very well presented and great parking. The reception was friendly and efficient and the room (downstairs studio #8) was modern, tidy and clean. There was a little noise from neighbouring guests later at night, typical for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glenn L
Rapaura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

We had 5 nights at this 'family' motel and certainly won't be going back or recommend. The rooms weren't regularly cleaned. After a number of incidents, the service was so disappointing, with little/ no attempt to make amends or rectify our issues. Sadly unprofessional when we weren't demanding and would have been easily pleased.

Helpful?
Thank jbhlr
Israel H, Manager at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review

We weren't able to fully service this room as the amount of belongings on everything was amazing and our Policy is for our cleaners to not touch a guests belongings. We are aware of x2 issues you had. You requested an additional bed within moments of arriving at the property which we located and put into the room at no... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

After being treated rudely from a previous hotel, I was in a bit of a mood until I walked into reception and was greeted by the most cheerful person who helped us out last minute with a room and also with directions to a restaurant nearby. Room was very clean and warm. Shower was very roomy and water was hot.... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrystal h
Israel H, Manager at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review

=) More 

Tairua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Always hard to find a place when your towing a race car trailer as you don't want to leave them on the road and it's nice to have it inside a compound so you don't have to sleep with one eye open. Two story complex and I would suggest upstairs is better than down as you don't always get considerate... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin G
Israel H, Manager at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! Hope to see you guys again. More 

Kamuela, Hawaii
Level Contributor
373 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2016

My family stayed here on the way down to Wellington. There was a large military convention in town and everything was booked in Wellington and Palmerston North as well. This was the last vacancy in town and not the best motel but we only stayed a night here. The carpet was stained in the room but it was clean.

Helpful?
Thank Gordon K
Israel H, Manager at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We do assume if a guest is not happy they would come and mention it at Reception, because at the end of the day no one made you take it. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2016

Lovely family friendly atmosphere. The room was clean and well equipped. Great shower pressure (which I love) and a coffee plunger with coffee provided which made the room feel a bit more like home. Very central and quiet even though it is so close to the city. I will definitely be returning.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nick B
Israel H, Manager at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the Review. Hope to see you again some day! More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Ok, but a good dusting around to get rid of the cobwebs and dead flies and spiders was needed. Apart from that and some small bits on maintenance the accommodation was decent enough. The cost of a night was very good though. I won't stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank Richard F
Israel H, Manager at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for this review. We have since replaced that cleaner and the standards have improved. More 

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2015

Came here to stay for 2 nights while we move out of the house in Palmerston North to Rotorua. Decent place to stay. Service - Friendly service and very welcoming. When we wanted to switch room, we were sorted out quickly and was impressed with this. Cleanliness - Very clean and tidy. It was well looked after. Comfort - Bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank MJJC_1982
Israel H, Manager at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! apologies with the room preparation. We have since changed cleaner and hope to see you again one day. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Currently staying at Drovers after booking the trip over 4 months ago. Big rooms very good shower and handy to all the city attractions. Staff are friendly and nothing was a bother, would recommend this Motor Inn for anyone. We were here as part of a national shooting competition and a good many people attending the competition has stayed here... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank IECody
Israel H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! We appreciate it heaps. More 

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
1.8 km away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#9 of 25 in Palmerston North
301 reviews
2.0 km away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
304 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#19 of 25 in Palmerston North
100 reviews
1.7 km away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
39 reviews
1.7 km away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the suburb of Terrace End, the Drovers Motor Inn offers a variety of well-presented apartments and suites to suit your individual needs and budget. Choose from our spacious family apartments to relaxing spa suites. Each offers comfortable seating, a fully equipped kitchen and a comfortable place to rest your head. Situated just 1.6 km from the central city you can enjoy a leisurely stroll into town, the Hospital or even the Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Drovers Motor Inn

Address: 746 Main Street, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Price Range: $97 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drovers Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Drovers Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drovers Motor Inn Palmerston North, North Island
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Drovers Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I presume that upstairs rooms would be quieter, assuming accessibility is not an issue”
 of 5 bubbles GlennL89, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go upstairs and be considerate of those below.”
 of 5 bubbles A7750TFkeving, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Great two bedroom suite for a group!”
 of 5 bubbles 147janellew, 9 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Choose an upstairs room that way you will get a fan.”
 of 5 bubbles vomo2i, 27 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Ask for an upstairs room if you can, to avoid any chance of noise through to your room, from above.”
 of 5 bubbles BossandMrsBoss, 13 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay