We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Booking.comUS$59*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
See the most recent reviews
Showing 329: English reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

This motel is okay. I think if you pay slightly more it's more of a hotel above the main building. I was staying in the 60s style motel building in the carpark. The room was clean and comfortable and there's lots of shampoos and that sort of thing. The weirdest bit was that - in 2017 - the wifi costs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie O
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

We received an indifferent greeting at reception. We had paid extra for a "superior room with a view and breakfast". Both were somewhat disappointing... The view was of the car park, Burger King and Paknsave a discount superstore. The room was as expected however wifi was chargeable and the prices of the mini bar alarming. The quality of the cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Having stayed at the Copthorne Palmerston North several times, I find that every stay is different, however as always is great value for money and love the comfy beds. My recent stay I didn't find my room as clean as it normally is. The vent in the bathroom had a layer of thick dust on it (which I ended up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liam404
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback - appreciate you taking the time to let me know of the faults

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Booked into Central City Accommodation behind Copthorne Rooms are dated but ok until we found we were getting bitten by mozzies also side of toilet was leaking water told reception they were good swapped us straight away. Moved to new room all was good accept hot water tap in bathroom basin didn't work. Other than that great location Good value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJnemz
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Attended the hotel on a two day conference. The staff were really friendly and helpful we stayed in the main building which was modern and clean. The rooms were spacious and the king size bed very comfortable. The bathroom was very modern and the shower had great refreshing water pressure. Lots of little touches like shower caps, shampoo and face...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moonie2011
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback

.
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed for two nights and enjoyed it so much we decided we wanted a third but the price quoted for an add on was a tad much. It was very quiet and the view from the 6th floor is great. It's very central location made walking to town for food and shopping easy. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dallas S
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

With my husband as part of a huge cycling group. Booked by organizers and this is no criticism of them. However, feel shocked that Copthorne would associate their name with accommodation as poor as this. Our motel room was old and disgusting! Old everything, stained bed quilt, dirty fridge, grotty bathroom with badly rusted rail for shower curtain, paint falling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 699meredith
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed in one of the old rooms, hasn't been refurbished for a very long time, dirty cups, fridge filthy and hadn't been emptied from previous occupant. Whole room dirty and very tired. Worst hotel room I have stayed in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jellybean5955
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

We booked early and got a very good rate. We would rate this as a solid three star hotel. Reception is clean and modern but the welcome was lacking. We had to wait to be served and when we were there was no attempt at pleasentries. Our room was clean and modern except the shower in the bathroom which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey R
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the review

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We always stay at the Copthorne and ask for the economy rooms that get you a breakfast in the morning. The staff are always helpful & friendly, as we were wanting two nights but they only had one free night and gave us a card with their number on to ring if there was a cancellation to let them know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eggy62
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.8 km away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
321 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#8 of 25 in Palmerston North
208 reviews
1.7 km away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#19 of 25 in Palmerston North
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
46 reviews
0.1 km away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
149 reviews
0.2 km away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North offers 76 contemporary guest rooms ranging from Superior Twin or King rooms and Family Units to premium Executive Suites with spa baths. All have been designed with your comfort in mind and offer a relaxing space to unwind whether staying for business or pleasure. Facilities include a restaurant, bar, gym, 4 meeting rooms, 24 hour room service and a guest laundry. The hotel also offers complimentary car parking on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Address: 110 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Palmerston North)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Price Range: $83 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North North Island
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in the Tower Block rather than back motel units.”
PerryB137, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not sure there is one.... better still stay somewhere else.”
GeoffC456, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Poor outlook but rooms excellent.”
A1883CYalanb, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a corner room- they are slightly bigger.”
liam404, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“if you are low on funds ask for the economy rooms around the back and also get breakfast with these rooms”
Eggy62, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$59* /night
View Deal
Official SiteUS$59
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$59
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates