We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Coachman

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Coachman
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Coachman
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Good room with view over pool. Great location for hair dressers and beauty salon if needed. Restaurant is great with excellent food. The beds and pillows leave a lot to be desired and quite dated, so could do with upgrade.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DTExplorer70
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Coachman. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our location and amenities including our "Restaurant with excellent food" . Our Maintenance Department has recently performed an inspection of our beds and pillows and many of these items have been replaced.

Sydney
Reviewed 11 January 2016

This motel is stuck in a time warp, and not in a good way. The decor is brown on brown, down to the amber coloured rippled glass in the tiny bathroom windows. No air-con and no cross-ventilation, so the room gets hot and stuffy. One of the staff was nice enough to let us have a fan. We ran the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SydKat
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

We are very disappointed to hear that you were let down by your recent experience at Hotel Coachman. We are constantly upgrading and renovating our property and will use your comments to help us prioritise what are the most important issues affecting our guests stay. We are pleased that you found our staff to be "helpful and cheerful" and will...

Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

I Had a wonderful 7 days at the Hotel part of the complex, I came from Wellington to plan and prepare for the year, without distraction. My entire experience was so much better then expected, the garden villa was accompanied with a fountain and suitable outdoor furniture, the inside public lounge has the most amazing modernised antique furniture, my room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jasmin S
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the fantastic review. We are pleased to hear you had such an outstanding stay at Hotel Coachman. We are proud of our staffs service and our amazing property. We look forward to seeing you again.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Don't bother looking anywhere else. If you are staying in Palmy you have found your hotel. First off, the staff were excellent. Professional, friendly, helpful. Nothing was too difficult and everything was accompanied by a genuine smile, including a late checkout on our last day. Second, the room we had was a motel studio with kitchenette. It delivered much more...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bonnie-May S
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the fantastic feedback. Hotel Coachman takes pride in offering visitors to Palmerston North a great experience. We are happy you found everything so exceptional including our wonderful staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Tullamarine, Australia
Reviewed 14 December 2015

We stayed at the Coachman recently during the "Square Day" higland gathering.. the hotel is close enough to the Palmerston North Square, to be able to walk there easily in 10 mins it is about 500 metres. We stayed in the motel portion of the hotel and although the building was old, it was well maintained, clean and functional. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin A
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Hotel Coachman is pleased to hear that you found our property clean and functional and a "Good Value". We look forward to your next stay in Palmerston North.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 December 2015

We got off to a good start with a very friendly welcome at reception. Our room was very comfortable, clean and had all that we needed. The décor was somewhat dated but that was of little consequence. The hotel is well located, close to the city centre, and has plenty of free parking - and free Wi-Fi. We were also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive comments. We are glad you were pleased with your stay and it was our pleasure to assist you with the shuttle for your daughter. Please come and see us again the next time you are in Palmerston North.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 December 2015

I have stayed at the coachman a few times in the past staying in the main part of the complex. This time I was in the motel rooms in the property next door. The room was at the back and was noisy due to the vent from the kitchen outside. Parking was tight and having a large car was quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Hotel Coachman is pleased that you often stay with us during your visits to Palmerston North. We are sorry that the noise from the kitchen disturbed you during your stay. If you could send me your Name, and Date of Stay to michael@coachman.co.nz I will have the maintenance staff look into the quality of the bed in the room. Thanks...

Siem Reap, Cambodia
Reviewed 12 December 2015

Great for a place close to the city centre. The small things would havemade a difference. There was no bath mat and thetowels are small. Our non-smoking room had a balcony on which the neighbors smoked, so we couldn't have the door open in the warm weather. Our requirement is for health reasons so this made it difficult. This probably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PopandAlf
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you were bothered by the smoke from the room next door to you. All of our rooms at Hotel Coachman are non-smoking but we do allow the guests to smoke outdoors. Our Hotel Accommodation would probably better suit you needs as you will not 't be affected by the adjacent rooms as the corridors are in...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 December 2015

We went to the Coachman for a lunch with a group of colleagues who had been ordained in the Methodist Church for 40 years. We had an excellent lunch and were impressed with the staff who waited on us. They were attentive and friendly. When we left at about 2.30pm we thought it was the end. However at 7.40pm I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 840Graeme47
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that Hotel Coachman was able to relieve some of the stress of having your flight to Auckland cancelled. Our staff will be pleased to hear that they did such a good job looking after you during your unexpected stay over in Palmerston North. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 December 2015

Had three nights here for a conference. The service was immaculate; a breath of fresh air in New Zealand. The foyer and bar were lovely too - obviously something the locals know as it always had people coming in (unusual in a local hotel/motel). The rooms were quite good - though the kitchen was a sink, a microwave and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey M
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Hotel Coachman is delighted to hear that you we so pleased with our staff and the quality of our accommodation. Please come back to see us again the next time you are in Palmerston North.

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
1.0 km away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
312 reviews
0.2 km away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
322 reviews
1.9 km away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#18 of 25 in Palmerston North
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
134 reviews
0.3 km away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
155 reviews
0.1 km away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of Palmerston North, New Zealand and just a 3 minute walk from the CBD, Hotel Coachman is Palmerston North's only 4 star plus Qaualmark boutique accommodation provider offering 72 accommodation rooms and suites feature sky digital television, mini bar, queen and king size beds and some studio rooms offer cooking facilities and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Coachman

Address: 140 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Rydges Palmerston North)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Price Range: $117 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Coachman 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Coachman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coachman Palmerston North, North Island
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Coachman staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the main block are more comfortable but the motel rooms are quieter - so take your pick!”
 of 5 bubbles PeterC410, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“try another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jonoashton, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Even numbers in the main building look on the garden.”
  • Window seat room 112
 of 5 bubbles drncc1701, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best to be on the southern side - away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles VillaInTheVines, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“One by the castle stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles L8331DOdeborahc, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5