We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Acacia Park Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Acacia Park Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 16: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We just stayed at this place , wellcoming host , very dated room and damp smell throughout , however the bed was very clean but not to comfortable to our personal taste . We paid $20 each for a full english breakfast that was delivered to our room , which arrived cold and was nothing like a Full english breakfast... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank madeperez2003
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Sonja is very welcoming and extremely helpful with local information and helping to book local services. Rooms are very clean and comfortable in quiet surroundings. Location is nicely on the outskirts of town, close to the river but within an easy stroll to the lively town centre. Rates are very reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank Mid_Life_Trekkers
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Older style cabin-type accommodation. Spotlessly clean. Comfy beds. Nice doonas. Very handy location. Friendly and helpful owners. They also were happy to accommodate our Maltese dog who always travels with us.

Helpful?
1 Thank Di J
Ohakune
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Very nice owners, we had 3 adults and 3 children stay in a family unit. Unit was outdated which we knew about, but comfortable. Nice pllows and duvets.There was quite a bit of road noise through the night especially heavy trucks. Children slept well though. Rates very reasonable.

Helpful?
1 Thank kune77
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Really enjoyed it here! Large rooms next to river! Televisions upto date! Just recently read new fridges and ovens installed!! Good cleaners!! Park like surroundings! Warm!! Enjoyable!! Would highly recommend stay here also do long term also excellent!! Would defnitley stay again!

Helpful?
Thank Antzxx2012
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2012

came across this motel at 11 PM, desperate for a place to stay for the night - and this was such a great find! great vibe in these little cottages, vintage radio, tiles, lots of space, and, uh, a trampoline and swingset in the yard? it's a really unique spot, affordable, and nice folks.

Helpful?
Thank John A
sunshineSouthAfrica, Manager at Acacia Park Motel, responded to this review

Thanks guys great to have guest leave us happy and hope that you'll stop over again on ya way back up to Auckland. Was great to get your comment for this website. Hope you also enjoyed your hearty, healthy breakfast. Regards and safe trip further Sonja and Team More 

Levin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Myself and three friends stayed three nights at Acacia park and were blown away by the scenery and the helpfullness of the staff at the motel. Nothing was too much trouble. We went to Wanganui for bowls and were very comfortable. We had clean towlels and linen during our stay there. Wine glasses and extra towels were supplied at no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Viv H
sunshineSouthAfrica, Manager at Acacia Park Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback much appreciated ...but then our happy guests don't have to spend their precious time surfing the net to bad mouth establishments, as they tell others verbally which is of much value to us. Unhappy guests make the time or have tooooo much time on their hands to bad mouth establishments on the net for personal reasons... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We booked this motel based on their own website information which turned out to be far from what we found.The units had potential to be made into acceptable accommodation but the owners of 4 years appeared not to want to upgrade from what our fellow guests described as " Back packer " standard.Their website quoted daily rates of $130 for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 930Hillman
sunshineSouthAfrica, Manager at Acacia Park Motel, responded to this review

Hi and so sorry to hear now that you were unhappy. Trust me if you had brought it to my attention, I would have personally sorted it all out. I took over in March of 2011 and we have done so much already in re-vamping the units, furnishings, linen, gardens etc. You also don't mention sleeping on Pure White, Clean,... More 

Travellers are raving about these Whanganui hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

From arrival until departure we had booked in 6 adults well in advance. The unit was tiny boasting 1 set of bunks, 2 beds pushed together, 1 queen in separate bedroom. Each bed had electric blankets but some couldn't reach the nearest plug. 300mls of milk per day - asked for a 2nd 1 consequently no milk on day 2.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frankguth
sunshineSouthAfrica, Manager at Acacia Park Motel, responded to this review

Management did inform you of the bed layout plan. You were wanting "As cheap as possible" accommodation and only wanted to pay $30-$35 per person per day. Please be advised that this would be more like a Backpackers rate or Student Group rate. Should you have paid for another unit and not wanted to go with budget - then your... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We stayed here with family to attend a combined function. Bookings were made by a family member who was organizing things. When we arrived at this motel, I first thought we had the wrong place..... the description of the place ( iphone while my Husband drove) was completely outrageous. Our local primary school can boast more beautiful and well cared... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrsgunna
sunshineSouthAfrica, Manager at Acacia Park Motel, responded to this review

All awful/Bad/Avoid Comments have been made from a Guest making a reservation and not wanting to pay more than $30 - $35 per person per night...There's no mention of what the Guest Requested...or of them not wanting to pay for extra units...so as to make their stay more comfortable. No mentioned either of the Pure White, Crisp & 100% Percale... More 

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.1 km away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
1.7 km away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 27 in Whanganui
203 reviews
0.7 km away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#22 of 27 in Whanganui
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Quality Inn Collegiate
Quality Inn Collegiate
#14 of 27 in Whanganui
38 reviews
1.8 km away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
2.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 27 in Whanganui
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Acacia Park Motel

Address: 140 Anzac Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Number of rooms: 12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Acacia Park Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just let them know what you need and they oblige willingly. I don't know what people are saying about it but we were very happy with the accommodation for our means any way. No spiders or cobwebs!!!!!!!!!!!!! in our unit-number 10.”
 of 5 bubbles VivH_12, 6 Feb 2012 | Read review
“Go to the motel two doors up the street, It is less expensive and is about 4 stars better.”
 of 5 bubbles 930Hillman, 2 Feb 2012 | Read review
“Go somewhere else!!”
 of 5 bubbles mrsgunna, 24 Apr 2011 | Read review
3 of 3