We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bignell Street Motel

Orbitz.comUS$51*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$51*
US$51*
US$51*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Bignell Street Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bignell Street Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 43: English reviews
New Zealand
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Dont stay here if you like cleanliness. Yes it is cheap but very dirty and dodgy.We booked without checking first and will never do this again. we were a booking of 12 couples. We had the pleasure of having the honeymoon suite. Rather quaint with heart pillows on the bed. Until we pulled back the top bed cover and the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank sandy22NewZealand
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

Like other motels, we service our units daily to ensure they are clean & fresh. We always change the sheets as we know how important it is to stay in a clean room. Occasionally, like all other buildings in New Zealand, we get the odd ant, but these are always eradicated quickly to ensure we do not get an infestation....

Masterton, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 January 2013

we booked for a couple of nights but then rang up and cancelled, when booked were not told of any cancellation fee and then few weeks later i get a letter in the mail saying we owe full price of what it would have been if we had stayed, then it went to baycorp i am currently fighting it as...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank alana2112
Nigel M, Owner at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

Dear Alana Thank you for booking one of our Quiet, Large, Luxury Motel Units with Kitchens When you book a motel unit we must keep it reserved for you. NZ Law states: if you make a booking then we must keep the room for you. But you in return must pay for it, unless we are able to re-let the...

Hawera, Taranaki, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Peter is a lovely friendly face to great you at reception. the location is wonderfully quiet and means a great sleep. The accomodation is clean and tidy and for a excellent price. I have recommended Bignall Street Motel to others. I will certainly be back next time I have a course in Wanaganui.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aileen K
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I was tempted to rename the review a single word "Dive". Do not be fooled by any pictures on websites. Threadbare carpets, holes in sheets, "spacious bathroom" is in fact a shower recess with a toilet tacked on. Constructed out of tilt up concrete panels with a slap of paint, there are no smoke detectors, outside security lighting, power sockets...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Nickbruining
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

Nick, thank you for your review. As with all of our guests, we offer you a choice of rooms so you can choose the one that you like the best. If there was a problem with your room in any way and you had told us about the issue, we could have resolved it on the day. Your feedback on...

Reviewed 30 August 2012

Peter One is an absolute crook. This place should be shut down - the health dept. should be getting in there and closing it for good. Absolutely disgusting place, no one should be subject to these conditions.

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Biddyness
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

Biddyness, Thank you for your review. I have checked your Tripadvisor profile and you have not stayed with us. The Health Dept conduct regular reviews of our business and we pass 100% each time. We are happy to show these certificates to our real visitors if them wish to view them. We have the best new Motel Units in town...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Unfortunateley I booked this place prior to reading the reviews on trip advisor...yes I am kicking myself! I looked into cancelling the booking but the cancellation must be 30 days prior to your stay which seems really unreasonable. This motel was dark, dingy and just generally awful, the sate of the grounds was poor, the playgound consisted of a rusted...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank STARMAN678
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

Starman678, thank you for your review. In response to the points you have raised: 1. Our cancellation terms are as per NZ law. It is important for any business that if goods or service are reserved, that they paid for. 2. As shown on the video and pictures on our website, our rooms are clean, bright and fresh, not dark...

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 March 2012

was told cash only but my mum only had credit card, was told that Peter didnt like paying the bank fees but he did accept my mums credit card, Room looked like it hadnt been cleaned at all in a long time!! the sign on the wall red "Kitchen comes free, leave kitchen how it was or leave $5 for...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Dayna W
Whanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Actually stayed here September 2009. Was visiting family here and stayed here with my fiancee. She is in a wheelchair and was told the unit she booked was wheelchair accessible. Ok, she could get into the unit but not the toilet/shower. The shower was dripping, it was not possible to even wash, the sheets and pillow cases were mixed colours,...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Uzbug
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We enjoyed our stay, the unit was cosy and clean. For a reasonably priced place to stay, I would recommend to others.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Viola49
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Friendly manager and nice to be given a choice of units, plus a really good shower. Downsides were some less than clean aspects in the kitchen, paint falling off the shower lining, no bedside reading lights (but one supplied on request), shabby furnishings (incl hole in carpet) and beds very overdue for retirement. Some (unintentionally) amusing notices around the unit...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank miloandmates

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
4.0 km away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#17 of 26 in Whanganui
53 reviews
4.8 km away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
3.0 km away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Econo Lodge Wanganui
Econo Lodge Wanganui
#21 of 26 in Whanganui
4 reviews
3.0 km away
Midtown Motor Inn
Midtown Motor Inn
#20 of 26 in Whanganui
23 reviews
2.0 km away
Fiesta Court Motel
Fiesta Court Motel
#4 of 26 in Whanganui
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
$50 MOTEL. Save $$ On Your Accommodation. Come stay with us! Large new units available with one or two bedrooms. 36 caravan sites set in park-like grounds. Close to city centre. Quiet location. 24-hour camera security. Friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bignell Street Motel

Address: 86 Bignell Street, Whanganui 4501, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Price Range: $77 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bignell Street Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bignell Street Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bignell Street Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bignell Street Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room in the new block”
trevore805, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
“No good rooms or caravans”
JustusHutt, 21 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Go somewhere else!”
nzkeg, 20 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Do not recommend this motel”
LaurayneP, 20 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Choose a room in another part of Wanganui in another motel.”
sandy22NewZealand, 20 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$51* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$51
TripAdvisorUS$51
Expedia.comUS$51
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates