We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 209: English reviews
Start your review of Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent the weekend here riding on the back of a business meeting. The king superior room was well equipped, large and overlooked the harbour. It also overlooked the main road which meant it was a trifle noisy until the traffic quietened down around 11 p.m. Lots of facilities as you would expect for a conference venue, but over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NeilMarshall2267
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback and your positive comments regarding the room are appreciated. Unfortunately these rooms do suffer from a bit of a supply and demand situation and pricing is dependent on bookings made. Especially the upstairs rooms with the balcony. The rate you have quoted is at the higher end of the scale and better rates may be...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nice place to stay, our room overlooked the boat moorings which was nice. Rooms clean and comfortable. Plenty of parking. Only niggle was the changing room/toilet in the pool area was filthy, not sure if it gets cleaned regularly enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to my attention I will talk with the department delegated this task and ensure it is brought up to required standards and maintained. I hope you enjoyed your time in Whangarei and thank you for staying with us. Kind regards Murray Cook

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

After a few days in smaller rooms this place was brilliant. There were 3 of us single ladies travelling together. There were 2 sinle beds and a separate room with a large double bed and bathroom. There was heaps of room big Windows, airy, a fridge, seats, a lounge and tv. It was very comfy and roomy. This place is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind comments and feedback. I hope you enjoyed your time in Whangarei and great that you took the chance to explore the Hatea loop walk into the town basin. Kind regards Murray Cook

Auckland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room: Very spacious and clean. Took me a while to figure out where the light switches and hair dryer were - they are not where I would expect. Bed very comfy, TV with Sky. Could not have survived without the aircon Service: all the staff I encountered were friendly and professional Facilities: free wifi, good bar/outdoor area. The complex is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jea M
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. It is a bit unfortunate for the hotel that is so well located just 5 minutes walk from the town basin that most guests choose to walk to town to take advantage of the local restaurants and bars with the marina views and passing foot traffic. This is especially so with the fine warm afternoons...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place was great. Friendly, spotless, great views over the river, walking distance to town for restaurants. Couldn't ask for more. Would definitely stay again and recommend. Recommend the Thai restaurant in Ruth one street where most of the restaurants are.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vik_and_Linz
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Your comments are appreciated and we look forward to accommodating you again should you be in Whangarei. I haven't tried the restaurant your have quoted but will be sure to check it out. Thank you for the advice. All the best for 2017 Kind regards Murray Cook

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Has potential to be much better. Stain on duvet first thing i noticed. No ashtray supplied on deck so beneath garden full of butts. Very expensive mini bar (which is normal i get it but $4 for a can of fizzy .. gummon)- but nice selection. Great spa bath and bits n bobs supplied were great. Plenty of parking. Friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments. As all rooms are designated non-smoking we do not want to put ashtrays anywhere in the rooms, your comment re butts on the ground has been taken aboard and will be cleaned by maintenance on a regular basis. The mini bar pricing takes into account the people not as honest as yourselves and factors in...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The hotel is dated but I don't care about these things as the price was reasonable. The pool and spa were great and we all enjoyed it. The room was clean and tidy. We had the breakfast included and you had the continental option or bacon and eggs with mushrooms and fried tomatoes. The location is close to town what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oeht
DistinctionWhangarei, Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback and great that you were able to visit Whangarei for a wedding. I am sure the weather made for a lovely day and hopefully you enjoyed yourself while here. Good that you were able to take advantage of the facility's while you were here and hopefully we see you again should you be visiting the...

Bundaberg, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We stayed four nights, January 1 - 4. The room we were given was clean and well presented which was in stark contrast to the rest of the hotel. After check in, as we entered the accommodation wing from the car park, the lack of maintenance and cleaning of the grounds etc was obvious. The entry area looked like it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vzrider
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for all your comments and I have replied direct by e-mail. I hope you enjoyed your time in New Zealand and had a safe journey home to sunny Queensland. Have a great 2017. Kind regards Murray

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 January 2017

For most of our one night stay we were really pleased with the hotel. The location was good. The room, whilst a little dated, was spacious, clean and the air con worked really well. We also made good use of the bar and enjoyed a good, reasonably priced bar menu, served with a smile by the friendly staff. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walden16
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback and kind comments. I apologise that the noise from the guest next door filtered through to your room. I am sure that reception would have been happy to move you to a quieter room if requested. Hopefully we will see you again if in Whangarei. All the best for 2017. Kind regards Murray Cook

Auckland
Reviewed 12 January 2017

This hotel changed ownership ( previously Kingsgate ) about a year ago . The room we had was very comfortable , plenty of toiletries in a generous sized bathroom and self control aircon ( most appreciated as Whangarei very hot on our two night stay ). Look forward to staying again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samjayAuckland
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

And we will look forward to accommodating you again. Thank goodness for the air conditioning as it has certainly been hot here for the latter part of December and now January. Your feedback is appreciated and we wish you well for 2017. Kind regards Murray Cook

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
0.8 km away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
3.7 km away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#10 of 35 in Whangarei
47 reviews
4.9 km away
Flames International Hotel
Flames International Hotel
#17 of 35 in Whangarei
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#24 of 35 in Whangarei
32 reviews
1.1 km away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#3 of 35 in Whangarei
146 reviews
1.8 km away
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
#6 of 35 in Whangarei
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre is perfectly suited to both business and leisure travellers. All 115 comfortable guest rooms & suites are air-conditioned and offer free unlimited WiFi & 50+ SKY TV channels. Conveniently located opposite the stunning Whangarei Town Basin and a few minutes walk from the city centre and Whangarei's most tranquil bush walks. The majestic Bay of Islands is less than one hour's drive from our 4 star hotel. Savour delicious cuisine at the on-site Portobello Restaurant and Anchor Down Lounge Bar. Work out in the fitness centre, swim in the indoor heated pool or relax in the spa. The hotel also caters for conferences and functions of up to 130 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 9 Riverside Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Price Range: $125 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get one set back from the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles NeilMarshall2267, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room at the rear away from the main road if available.”
 of 5 bubbles vzrider, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Away from the indoor pool. There are more expensive rooms which look over the boats in the basin but road noise can be an issue”
 of 5 bubbles stugross, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“superior rooms overlooking the marina are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles car0lsharp, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are in modular blocks. We had one at the back and it was wonderfully quiet”
 of 5 bubbles gwenu2015, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5