We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Noah's Ark Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Noah\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Noah's Ark Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 156: English reviews
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2015 via mobile

We doing the te araroa trail. How ever due to the snow and needed more hiking gear we doing a road route at the moment. I needed pick up post from greymouth post office. Since my post has gone missing with my winter tent and clothes it thanks new zealand post for that. We decided to stay at Noah's ark... More 

Helpful?
Thank 4seasonbackpacking
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile

My daughter an I were looking for a tidy, reasonably priced place to stay for a weekend getaway to explore a bit of the west coast. We had a large room in this character backpackers. We found it quiet to stay in. A good location walking distance to lots of the town centre. Staff (owners I presume ) were friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank amanda1996
Quathiaski Cove, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2015

I have just stayed these final three nights of April, 2015, in NOAH'S ARK HOSTEL, GREYMOUTH, NEW ZEALAND; my first stay ever in this hostel. It is a huge, wooden, historic Catholic building built during the 1860s' gold-rush to this region. Wow. What stood out for me from the beginning of my stay was the cleanliness and good organization in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank alpinewriting
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Location was good. Near the bus terminal and supermarket. Staff was friendly and helpful. Good sized rooms. Clean and comfortable beds. The lounge and kitchen was spacious. It felt very cosy and comfortable so much so that you feel like you are in a house rather than a hostel/ backpackers. Keep it up guys!

Helpful?
Thank MizzieMizAdventures
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2015

This hostel was quaint and charming and just what we needed after many hours of traveling and driving in the rain across the South Island. The host was extremely lovely and welcoming, we fell in love with Bez the golden retriever, and the animal theme carried throughout completed the whole vibe. We were in a triple room, which had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chandler G
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2015

Noah's Ark is a nice hostel in a great building. The animal themed rooms are a cute touch (my partner and I spent 2 nights in the 5 bed penguin dorm room). Having looked around the town we'd say that this backpackers is in the best location at backpacker budget, there is a bonus of free wifi (limited amount). The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bertindiyo
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Immediately disappointed when I had to spend 10 mins looking for a staff member. Once found they we're very vague and unhelpful in terms of helping us find parking and showing us to our rooms - which we couldn't find as ours was the only one outside. Now let me tell you, this was not a room. It was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nomad_girl14
Matt_Noahs, Owner at Noah's Ark Backpackers, responded to this review

We were disappointed to receive this very bad review. We have taken the points you raise into consideration but we feel that some comments are inaccurate or unfair. You say you spent 10 minutes looking for a staff member but if you arrive during reception hours and the desk is unattended, there is a clearly marked call button and you... More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed our time but wouldn't recommend staying 3 nights in greymouth as there isn't much to do there it's a very quiet place! The hostel however was a big grand building and the owners were friendly, the rooms were of a decent size, however the kitchen was hit and miss, plenty of pots and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Egonthecritic
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2015

Noah's has a good name. It's clean, tidy, warm and well managed. Close in the centre of the town and easy access to all sightseeing. Kitchen and showers are busy, but that is normal for a good BB. Only small issue is the noisey pub goes in the middle of the night make a bit of a racket, being an... More 

Helpful?
Thank I1238UHbrucem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2015 via mobile

The last hostel of our trip. Could not have been worse. The hostel was fine the bed sheets clean, but my god, that smell. That smell got into every item in the room, it was like mouldy walls. I thought going on the reviews it was fine but how wrong were we.. never ever again.. wouldn't stay there if you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Orlagh K
Matt_Noahs, Owner at Noah's Ark Backpackers, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you really didn't enjoy your stay. It's a shame you didn't raise the issue with us while you were here - we certainly would have done our best to remedy it and we could have moved you to another room if possible. We had an issue with dampness in one room last week after rain got... More 

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
2.0 km away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#4 of 21 in Greymouth
145 reviews
1.5 km away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#3 of 21 in Greymouth
329 reviews
0.4 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#17 of 21 in Greymouth
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 21 in Greymouth
224 reviews
0.3 km away
Duke Hostel
Duke Hostel
#5 of 12 in Greymouth
109 reviews
2.7 km away
Greymouth Seaside Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Noah's Ark provides warm and welcoming quality budget accommodation in a beautiful heritage building, just 100m from Greymouth town centre! Receive complementary 100mb high speed Internet access for every night you stay - so it's easy to stay in touch with family and friends or plan your trip ahead. (Use WiFi or our hostel PCs). From May to September our WINTER DEALS are on! Enjoy our free self-served breakfast of toast, spreads, tea and coffee, and if you are enjoying the cosy atmosphere we're making it easier to stay longer by giving you your fourth night free! (Conditions apply). While enjoying your stay at Noah's Ark you can relax in our luxurious spa pool, take in the west coast sunset from our balcony, or have a barbeque and then laze in the hammocks in our large garden. To explore the area we have some bikes that are free to use for you and you can give the new coastel cycleway a go! Or we can direct you to the local bushwalks and nearby beaches or advise you about the various adventure activities on offer. Noah's Ark was originally a monastery. It now offers characterful spacious private and shared rooms that are warm and comfortable, with self-controlled heaters, clean linen, duvets and spare blankets. The rooms are beautifully decorated with fun animal themes - you can choose from tigers, penguins, leopards and more. There are two log fires that keep things warm and cosy on cooler days and we have a large lounge with piano, guitar, cd collection, book swap and lots of games. There is a separate TV room with a big screen and comfy sofas and we have a collection of over 200 movies for you to choose from. Noah's Ark has a clean & fully equipped kitchen and are tea, coffee, sugar and spices are provided free for your convenience. We are located conveniently in a side street so it's quiet to relax but also only s short walk to the supermarket, train station and bus stops (5-7min). If you are wanting a homely, friendly atmosphere, great value and a warm welcome come to Noah's Ark. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Noah's Ark Backpackers

Address: 16 Chapel Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Price Range: $58 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Noah's Ark Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Noah's Ark Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Noah's Ark Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to be away from reception”
 of 5 bubbles Angry-sparrow3, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are animal theme, but any room is comfortable, clean and fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles psi500, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“have a chat to the staff, they have a wealth of information on what is on in town; they are very helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles 8623PaulineS, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“lol each room has an animal theme! very daggy but cute- we got the cat room”
 of 5 bubbles 710rachaelp, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are recommendable.”
 of 5 bubbles 397bernhardh, 3 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay