We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beachfront Hotel Hokitika

Expedia.comUS$81*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$124*
US$81*
US$84*
US$124*
US$81*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

536 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
See the most recent reviews
Showing 506: English reviews
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked 3 Oceanview King Rooms. We were late getting in (after 10p), but since I had called earlier that evening to let them know, I was impressed (and thankful) that they waited for us to arrive. The rooms were very spacious, clean, and comfortable. The view of the beach and ocean was gorgeous. They offer a breakfast buffet (extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haylaura
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your most positive feedback in regards to the staff and the accommodation. We are delighted to hear that you found the room very spacious, clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed the view from your room. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future again. Kind Regards Oytun

Langley
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had dinner in their restaurant and it was one of the best meals we have had in New Zealand. They have vegetarian options too. Breakfasts are included and they have both a full breakfast and a continental breakfast. They had the best fruit we have had on this trip. The rooms are small but very clean with a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ponopuppy
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your delightful review of the hotel. I will certainly share your feedback with the chef and his team so that they get the credit for their hard work. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards Oytun

Mumbai
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were on our honeymoon and came across some travel difficulties , the staff and management at Beachfront hotel was very helpful and co operative . We are very grateful and quite pleased to see them offer assistance over and above the required minimum .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EUtrip_10
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Congratulations on your honeymoon and thank you for your most positive feedback. I am pleased to hear that were able to help to take some stress off you on your very special day. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards Oytun

St Neots, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was the one hotel that we thought would be the worst on our 3 week itinerary, but it turned out to be one of the best. We had a seaview room, which meant that we had a balcony, and as this hotel is right on the beach, the view was spectacular.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you staying with us and reviewing the hotel in regards to your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectation and that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future again. Kind Regards Oytun

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel was clean and tidy and check in very easy I rang through a booking as was traveling and they had delux suite for $175 so we booked it was clean and tidy but pretty average for that cost and also charged for a visa card fee which took the price up to $178 which most motels do not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rustyrufa
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your feedback. It is great to hear that you found the hotel clean and tidy but unfortunately out of your price range. There are certainly different quality and service differences between motels and us like hotels. I am sorry to hear that the credit card surcharge was...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The lady at the front desk was very friendly. We checked into a beachfront room. The views were spectacular, the noise of the water at the beach made the stay even better. We slept with the balcony doors open in order to maximise on the sound of the waves!! The bathroom was large and the shower was amazing. They hard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivy444
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review

Dear Ivy444, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking time to review the hotel in regards to your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that the team at reception was friendly and that the you found the view and the bathroom features above your expectations. I am sorry to hear about the internet as this occasionally...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The quickest check-in/check-out ever which was great. Nice central location, close to local shops, bars and restaurants. Rooms were well sized and views were terrific out to the ocean. Great to sit in the sun on the balcony. We did not eat there but had great food in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sallyr1962
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the Oceanview Rooms and had a relaxing time. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards Oytun

Brampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not an architectural gem from the outside but the Ocean View rooms are superb. They are generous in size, fabulous bathroom with heated floor and a fabulous ocean view. Breakfast was a disappointment and have had far better in cafes. Jenny on reception was magnificent and rang up to tell us not to miss the fantastic sunset.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterLeggett
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you staying with us and taking time to review the hotel I regards to your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you liked the Oceanview Rooms and that the features in the bathroom were fabulous. I am sorry that the breakfast was below your expectations. I would like to know more about your feedback which...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a 3rd floor beach front beautiful room loved everything about this stay. Had a super meal at the restaurant and the staff there were so friendly . We had our door open all night just listening to the roar of the waves.... fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrissyanddave1955
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your most positive feedback in regards to your room and the restaurant experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards Oytun

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were lucky and had a beach facing room, the sun was on the balcony when we arrived (exhausted) on our tour of NZealand and we could collapse and nap on the balcony listenng to the sea! The bathroom was modern and well equipped, the shower was very good. I think the bathroom had been recently renovated. There were a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jsmw10
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and reviewing the hotel in regards to your stay. I am pleased to hear that the room including the bathroom exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the view from your room. I am sorry to hear about the confusion in terms of your request to dine in the restaurant....

308 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (185)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
1:42
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (123)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.4 km away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.9 km away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#8 of 9 in Hokitika
89 reviews
1.4 km away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
258 reviews
0.4 km away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hokitika
156 reviews
0.6 km away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The stunning Beachfront Hotel Hokitika located by the beach and in the central of Hokitika offering wide range of accommodation from 28 luxury, modern and spacious Ocean View Rooms overlooking Tasman Sea, to 23 newly refurbished Driftwood superior rooms to 2 & 3 bedroom suites or The Magnificent Penthouse. Newly refurbished Ocean View Restaurant with its sleek and contemporary design overlooking Tasman Sea offering daily breakfast, dinner (A La Carte, Buffet and Set Menu Options) Central location to Pancake rocks, Shantytown, Gold panning, art galleries featuring jade, wood, ruby rock, gold, glass, Fox and Franz Joseph Glaciers as well as numerous rainforest walks and cycle trails. * Free WIFI, * Free Parking, * Laundry service, * Bike storage, * Free Netflix (Only in Penthouse) * Bottle Store on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beachfront Hotel Hokitika

Address: 111 Revell Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Price Range: $131 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachfront Hotel Hokitika 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachfront Hotel Hokitika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hokitika Beachfront Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beachfront Hotel Hokitika staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
York, Pennsylvania
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Beachfront Hotel Hokitika staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure to you do have a view. Second floor in the driftwood wing”
  • Bathroom
  • Basic amenities
  • King size bed in room
  • View of the parking lot from the room window (with curtain closed to avoid look ins)
freeamac, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 106 has a good ocean view”
ponopuppy, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book a table with the sea view.”
rogerw245, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with sea view on the second floor are best.”
jsmw10, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't be taken in by the use of the word "superior". Check that the windows lock!”
MidlandsYorkie, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$81* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$84
TripAdvisorUS$81
HotelQuicklyUS$124
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates