We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All reviews spa bath the main road state highway road noise great place to stay light sleeper overnight stop whale watching full kitchen swimming pool stayed nights would stay again room was spacious town centre continental breakfast south island motel
The lodge is situated a short walk from Town and has ample parking. Bedding and towels were good quality and clean. The kitchenette was clean and well equipped. The kitchen blind was dirty.
The main issue for me was the smell of stale urine which...More
Response from IBH, Owner at Kaikoura Gateway Motor LodgeResponded April 22, 2017
We as owners and three of our cleaning staff checked twice for the odour in the room you had mentioned to us. None of us could detect any unpleasant smells.
We finally arrived at this lodge 7.5 hours after leaving Picton, due to the diversions still in force after the November 2016 earthquake. It was a welcoming sight! Lovely big room, spotless kitchenette and bathroom, and a welcome pack of tea, coffee etc. Clean bed...More
Modern, tidy and nice place. Enough room for 3 people (deluxe twin or triple studio with spa bath). Nice and big spa bath. I would gladly stay there again!
Check-out time 10 is way too early. But this seems to be standard in NZ. The...More
I read good reviews here and on Booking. Have no idea why. Dated, unpleasant, basic. The pool is a freezing puddle - the photo is very misleading. Bedrooms too small to open a suitcase. Uncomfortable beds and chairs, no view but other people's cars in...More
1 Thank sharon_avi
Response from IBH, Owner at Kaikoura Gateway Motor LodgeResponded April 1, 2017
This response and the other on 3rd of March were expected from you. We must mention the extra cleaning charge was imposed because the unit was left in a very messy state and was un-rentable for 48 hours after your departure due to the lingering...More
The room was small and tired very dusty cleaning of this room was not a priority. It looked like builders or road workers had been using it. It was supposed to be a disabled access room but fell far short for the money and had...More