We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island

Booking.comUS$34*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 228: English reviews
Start your review of Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island
 Click to rate
Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff and it's an relaxing place to be. Stayed one night in the wooden cottage dorm room, nice and relaxing. Outdoor chair n hammock available for everyone. BBQ area n got washing machine. On quiet street , walking distance to beach n little shops. 20 mins walking to greyhound location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kyielee
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 15 April 2017

First of all, Hervey Bay is not really a place you want to stay for longer if you aren't visiting Fraser Island. Anyway, the hostel is very nice, relaxing garden, welcoming, and helpful staff. Book your tours at the hostel, the owners will highly appreciate it. Good atmosphere. Takes some time to get to the beach and shops though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arlo_carlo
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night after returning from Fraser Island 2 days tour. I booked a private room which had everything you need. Also common areas were very cozy ans clean. What I liked the most was the fact that it is a small and quiet hostel, so you can enjoy and relax in peace. Hostel also offers free drop offs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andreja T
Megan S, Owner at Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we hope you can return again soon. Safe travels! Meg

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

•Room full of insects and had a cockroach run across my face when trying to sleep •Reception staff weren't very helpful when we wanted to store our luggage there when we went on our Fraser Island tour • Kitchen and chill out room was clean • Washing machine didn't work • Free wifi - although slow • Overall an average...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebeccaw3003
Megan S, Owner at Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your concerns and I'm sorry you had a restless nights sleep. I can guarantee having a bug in your room is not due to our cleaning standards and most likely your door was open and 1 of Australia's 35 native bush cockroaches species must have been attracted by the light. That's Queensland living!! We have day...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Such a lovely oasis. Beautiful garden hang out/bbq area. Big kitchen with lots of utensils. Good wifi, clean rooms and bathrooms. Walking ditance to the beach and shops. They run a pick from the greyhound bus stop which is a great help. Keep up the good work ; )

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neve420
Megan S, Owner at Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your encouragement and we're glad we met your expectations. Happy travels. Meg

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

The hostel has a great and relaxed atmosphere with hammocks in the beautiful garden. The kitchen is super clean and open 24 hours a day. The BBQ area is the cleanest we saw in a hostel so far! Rooms are cozy and really clean, can't complain about anything. WIFI could be faster, but at least it is for free.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Megan S, Owner at Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island, responded to this review

Your feedback is appreciated and we're glad you noticed our cleanliness!! As we are a small regional city the NBN hasn't reached us yet however we've been told it will be here soon! Our wifi is free and it can be accessed from all the rooms and the common areas! Happy travels Meg

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

A cosy place and a good kitchen/common area. Cockroaches in the room and you have to pay extra for the air condition. The reception is closed in the middle of the day and we didn't get any information about that. Nice staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Megan S, Owner at Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. The Woolshed is set on 1 acre of lush tropical vegetation which is home to many native insects including the flying Australian bush cockroach. Our rooms are cleaned to a very high standard and all rooms have insect screens on the windows however if you leave your door open insects may come in for a visit....

Risskov, Arhus, Denmark
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Amazing and cozy stay! Many friendly people and super helpful staff! Hervey Bay wasn't our favourite place in Australia, but this lovely hostel made it worthwhile. Nice rooms, good kitchen and drop off at the greyhound busses available. Only thing missing is a small pool. Thank u for a lovely stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MathildePoulsen
Megan S, Owner at Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and were working on funding the swimming pool. Guests can help this dream become a reality by booking direct through our website. Until then the beach is a five minute walk and very safe for swimming. Happy travels!

Belfast
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

I did not actually stay in this hostel but I stayed across the road! When I came back off a trip I realised that I had lost my towel and with my reception closed it meant I did not have a towel to have a shower with. Thankfully the guy on reception here was really friendly and let me hire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Expert123
Megan S, Owner at Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and we're glad we made your experience in Hervey Bay a friendly one! Happy travels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Although this hostel is not near a lot it is only a few minutes walk to the lovely Hervey Bay beach! This hostel makes you feel like you're in the outback with all the little shacks! It's by far the most chilled hostel we've been to so far and it also has free wifi which up the east coast doesn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZoeSmith2131
Megan S, Owner at Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback! When Brent has the time he loves to have a chat and Xena the dog loves a pat and belly rub!! Hervey Bay is the Gateway to all Fraser Island highlights and the Woolshed offer some great money saving accommodation/tour packages when booking direct. Everything is hot in this heatwave however we do offer rooms with...

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
2.6 km away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
264 reviews
5.3 km away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,676 reviews
0.3 km away
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
#2 of 53 in Hervey Bay
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
2.1 km away
Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay
0.7 km away
Coconut Palms on the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Aussie Woolshed Backpackers is a small, family run hostel, that offers a wide range of very comfortable, cosy country style accommodation. All buildings are designed around an Australiana theme and set on a large property with tropical gardens. The hostel is right in the center of town, only 5 min. from the beach, supermarket, shops, restaurants & pubs. We offer ensuite doubles & twins, standard doubles & twins (aircondition optional), triple rooms & dorms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island

Address: 181 Torquay Rd, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Price Range: $40 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Remember to book the shuttle from the bus stop!”
MarielaCoach, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not next to the toilet!”
Primone2125, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem good but room 10 gets a lovely breeze and is nice and quiet.”
Adampop, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“SQ, "Super Quiet" was a cool 8 bed dorm”
albertobY5694NU, 6 May 2015 | Read review
“rooms near the reception might get wifi but not ours”
Nibletroo, 25 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$34* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$39
Hostelworld.comUS$37
Hotwire.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates