We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discovery Parks - Port Augusta

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Discovery Parks – Port Augusta
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 204: English reviews
Start your review of Discovery Parks – Port Augusta
 Click to rate
Moonta, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Always stopped here travelling from west coast to & from Adelaide over the years. No loyalty program though. Booked via bookings online put 3 kids in however after arriving late cabin only 4 berth, phoned was told it was a mix up with websites and this has happened several times lately nothing they can do. Reluctantly offered some more bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Opal2011
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Excellent service, location amenities. Room's were a generous size and clean. Easily sleep a family of 5. Would highly recommended to any travellers . Staff were very helpful and friendly. Park is pretty much located central to everything ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole-Lynne S
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Augusta, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and highly recommending our park, Carole-Lynne.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unpowered camp sites are quite small in size in comparison to the scaled maps they provide. The staff are friendly but the caravan park is old. A little bit of maintenance won't hurt now and then but it's a good place to stop before Coober Pedy. Kitchen facilities are probably the highlight of this place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ssdb22
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Augusta, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review of our facilities.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked a cabin for myself, husband and 3 children for one night travelling through Port Augusta. The cabins are very basic, dated, musty smelling and not clean enough. The oven didn't work. Our sheets did not seem clean and smelt like they had been used, on the one bed that was made. Children's beds had to be made up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FMenner
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Augusta, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. To discuss your comments further on the cabin you had stayed in, please feel free contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for sharing your review.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great time here - we had spent most of our holiday bush camping so it was nice to spend a couple of nights here towards the end of our holiday. Heaps of kids around which was fab and pretty good facilities including a pool. Nice spot

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LHPhot
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Augusta, responded to this review

We're happy to know you enjoyed the atmosphere at our park! Thank you for sharing your review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very reasonably priced camping. Great facilities and plenty of options for accomodation. Large sites and many drive through. Friendly staff and a clean and quiet place. Child friendly with playground. Clean camp kitchen with space. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meredith O
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Augusta, responded to this review

Thank you for highly recommending our park, Meredith!

Bunbury, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Excellent caravan park. We stopped in for a few nights on our journey to WA. Service is fantastic with staff going above and beyond. Accomodation to suit your needs from unpowered/powered sites to cabins from basic to spa deluxe. WE stayed on a Friday where the managers host a sausage sizzle for a gold coin donation with proceeds going to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kadarzz
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Augusta, responded to this review

We're happy to hear that our activities at park really added to a positive atmosphere and overall stay! Thank you for sharing your review.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We stayed overnight on our way to the Eyre Peninsula and found the park well set out and cared for. Staff were professional and helpful and the amenities were well designed and spotless. We have stayed before and are pleased that the service and quality is consistent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine Y
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Augusta, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of our customer service, Lorraine. We hope you return for another pleasant stay.

Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Stayed overnight in an ensuite site. The ensuite was clean (no soap or bathmat) and the shower had good water pressure. The staff were friendly & check-in was quick. We happened to be there on a Friday night when they put on a “gold coin donation” sausage sizzle and had an enjoyable time meeting & chatting to other campers/caravaners. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silver999
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Augusta, responded to this review

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the park activities and the site! Thank you for your review.

Cowra, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Decided to stop here on our way to Alice Springs. Stayed an extra night because the facilities met my requirements. Clean, great water pressure for showers, plenty of sites with space in between. The pool was lovely, very cold for the hot day and refreshing plus you could swim laps in it. Short laps but still laps, I don't care...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alohataj
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Augusta, responded to this review

It's lovely to hear you had a pleasant time at our park! Thank you for your review.

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Augusta hotels
1.2 km away
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Majestic Oasis Apartments
#2 of 10 in Port Augusta
539 reviews
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
#6 of 10 in Port Augusta
87 reviews
0.4 km away
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
#4 of 10 in Port Augusta
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Port Augusta
302 reviews
0.1 km away
Crossroads Ecomotel
Crossroads Ecomotel
#1 of 10 in Port Augusta
150 reviews
8.7 km away
Port Augusta Caravan Park Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the gateway to some of South Australia’s most spectacular destinations - the Flinders Ranges, outback and Spencer Gulf - is Port Augusta, just over 300 kilometres from Adelaide. Discovery Parks - Port Augusta (formerly Port Augusta Holiday Park) is the ideal holiday park to plan your great southern adventure. It’s not every day you get to travel on a moving museum, but step on board the unique Pichi Richi Railway and you’ll understand why it’s so special. Discover local history with a tour of the iconic Royal Flying Doctor Service and Wadlata Outback Centre, where you will walk in the steps of the Aboriginal people who have lived here for 40,000 years. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Parks – Port Augusta

Address: Cnr Highway One & Stokes Terrace, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Port Augusta
Price Range: $97 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks – Port Augusta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Parks – Port Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Parks – Port Augusta staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
4 months ago
Emerald, Australia
over a year ago
Eumundi, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks – Port Augusta staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay”
Opal2011, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Any ensuite cabin is good”
carolelynnes, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't waste money on a cabin or powered site”
ssdb22, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check site before paying. Ample drive thru sites for short stays”
494trevw, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Select a spa cabin”
YvaD, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5