We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Trailways Hotel Nelson

Show Prices
#8 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Trailways Hotel Nelson
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 399: English reviews
Edgewood, New Mexico
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent one night at the Trailways Hotel while on a coach tour of New Zealand. The hotel is well-situated with a nice path across the river leading to a shopping area and large supermarket. We had a very pleasant walk to a park nearby. Our room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. We had a balcony overlooking the river, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnotherNiteOnTheRoad
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a good average hotel. Price is fair, rooms are average, service is good and location is excellent. You cannot go wrong here if you are looking for a mid-range hotel in Nelson. The bar and restaurant look fine also but did not try them.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pablo266
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our great location near the Nelson CBD. We have a lovely bar and restaurant we hope you can try next time you are in Nelson.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed 1 night. The hotel room itself was comfortable. Strong shower pressure for hot showers and comfy beds. They have self service laundry facilities. $4 each wash or dryer. The wash included washing detergent. Hotel is in a great location, walking distance to city centre. Staff tried calling us on the day we arrived to see what time we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JP1199
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. There is nothing like a hot shower and comfortable bed and we are pleased you experienced both at Trailways Hotel Nelson. I offer our apologies regarding the small mishap with one of our staff members. I will ensure to follow this up as our customer service is something that is very important to our team.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very centrally located. Possibly about $30 overpriced when comparing with other providers during our holiday at the South Island, however the room was great. We had a great sleep. The service was fantastic and there are really no negatives.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Knutus
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. No negatives is always a good sign and we are pleased you rested well and enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you visit our lovely Nelson again.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good base for exploring the city of Nelson. Sunshine. The accommodation was comfortable. Relatively clean. Great eating places, beaches, nice people. Had a slight misunderstanding with staff but got it cleared up. Would return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank merrilynraynerbrown
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear that we could clear up the misunderstanding as our guest experience is very important to us. Nelson is a lovely city to explore with many things to do. We look forward to seeing you next time.

York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night with our baby. The room was of good size, a huge king size bed, enough room for a porta cot (which the hotel supplied) good selection of to channels, and good selection of hot beverages. The bath was a spa bath which was lovely and hot, quick to fill and big. There were Christmas parties...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrincessYork
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and you could take the time to relax in your spa bath. We hope to see you next time you are in Nelson.

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I hate writing bad reviews but this hotel had NOTHING going for it from our arrival. This was the only hotel out of 6 over a 14 day holiday that was an utter disappointment. The hotel pictures are either very old or very well photo-shopped. The room was ample sized but lacking in comfort, style and charm. The walls are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danae L
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to see the issues you experienced during your time with us. Guest feedback is vital to our business and taken very seriously and we will certainly be investigating your concerns. With guest breakfast we do only provide a hot buffet for large groups. Individual guests are provided with our a la...

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights to explore a bit of Nelson for the first time. Had a wonderful 2 night stay other then the experience from staff 'Phillipa' on arrival. Direct communication between me and Phillipa: Me: Hi, I understand the check-in is from 2pm onwards though we are a bit early. Phillipa: It's 3pm not 2 ( and she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sweety3
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are most disappointed regarding your feedback in relation to your initial check in experience. I would like to offer our apologies as this is not the standard of customer service we expect or usually practice. We will be following this up with our reception team. I can also confirm that our website...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff very friendly, affordable rooms of high quality, a nice view on the balcony, a very nice place to stay. 300m of the center of nelson and the isite where a lot of buses go. It is also near a beautiful parc and the center of nz

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregory F
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback and review. Nelson has many wonderful attractions and we are pleased you got to enjoy these and our close proximity to them. Our staff are a great asset at Trailways Hotel and we are pleased you were impressed by our service and hotel. We hope to see you next time you are in Nelson.

Witney
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked at short notice due to cancellation of our accommodation in Kaikoura. Modern hotel, good sized room and balcony overlooking the river. Staff very helpful and friendly and good meal in restaurant. Convenient short walk to town and large sized Countdown Supermarket.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John R
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Trailways Hotel Nelson, glad to be able to assist with short notice change of plans, and look forward to an opportunity to host you in the future.

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.3 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
614 reviews
1.0 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.9 km away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
517 reviews
0.8 km away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#13 of 42 in Nelson
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Trailways Hotel, one of Nelson's most stylish and contemporary venues. We are centrally located within a few minutes walk of Nelson's central shopping precinct, theatres, cultural and sporting attractions, restaurants and cafes, the information centre, and close to the scenic waterfront. Stay in the heart of Nelson city and explore the region, famous for its sunshine, wine, seafood, art and craft, Saturday morning open-air market, its five national parks and abundance of outdoor recreation. Trailways Hotel is right on the river and many of its rooms open onto the river side. There are 47 rooms consisting of studios, studio spas, spacious suites and interconnecting rooms. Also overlooking the river is award-winning The Tides Restaurant and Bar. There are three serviced conference rooms for your next business event, wedding or function. For the business traveller, we have up-to-the-minute facilities to make your stay most productive. Our staff are on hand 24 hours to respond to your requirements. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Trailways Hotel Nelson

Address: 66 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range: $119 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trailways Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Trailways Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Nelson
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Trailways Hotel Nelson staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Riverside are better rooms - but cost more”
 of 5 bubbles Pablo266, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check reservation details.”
 of 5 bubbles merrilynraynerbrown, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor on the river side has sliding door to a nice view and option to sit outside. Also very quiet at the end of the corridor.”
 of 5 bubbles PrincessYork, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles danael2016, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles sweety3, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay