We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Nelson by Accents

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Nelson by Accents
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Nelson by Accents
See the most recent reviews
Showing 87: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Friendly staff & lots of space, though the German group didn't tidy up after themselves the hostel staff thankfully did it for them. Free fresh bread & assorted random baked goodies available every day which was lovely & 2 clean kitchen areas with lots of space. Had just picked up hire car & had a nightmare parking. The 'free' parking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mechanogirl
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 14 February 2016

I stayed here for 5 nights and it was good for the most part. The location is really good. Right in the CBD and close to everything. Close to good grocery stores and the Warehouse for anything you need. The kitchens here were really nice and there are two. There was always enough room including refrigerator space plenty of utensils...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Coloradical13
Royce L, Manager at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hostel and for taking time to review your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your week in Nelson. The reason Linda and I chose this wonderful hostel was the fantastic location and the amazing spaces for guests to enjoy. We are pleased you agree. Being here just a few months now were are still...

Reviewed 5 February 2016

This was such a great place to stay before and after a mulit day trip into Abel Tasman Park. They allow you to use their lockers or storage to keep the stuff you do not need while you hike or kayak. It is so centrally located to everything you could want for planning to get into the park, amenites, bus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee-Ann H
Royce L, Manager at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this review

We are very grateful you have taken the time to post a review of your stay with us in Nelson. We are continuing to add more services and facilities that we think travellers can use, so keep the good ideas coming. As this is our first Summer here at the YHA we are especially noting comments about the rooms to...

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

We've stayed at many YHA hostels in New Zealand. We have always been welcomed with amazing service and happy staff. We didn't really feel the same way at YHA Nelson. We tried to get their help booking a day trip but they weren't really that helpful. After some hours we managed to do this ourselves which saved our stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eelsaandersson
Royce L, Manager at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us in Nelson. We are pleased you enjoyed the hostel's facilities and our fantastic location. We were of course disappointed to read that our team weren't able to help organise your trip to Abel Tasman National Park at short notice. At this very busy time of...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 January 2016

I've never stayed at a hostel before and I was incredibly hesitant to stay at one because I've always pictured them as being quite seedy and dirty. However, YHA Nelson is the absolute opposite. I was so impressed by how clean the facilities were- the bathrooms were spotless and the showers had a good water pressure and enough room to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paige C
Royce L, Manager at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are continuing to make changes here as fast as we can and our new style Single Rooms have become very popular. As you mentioned the Ladies Dormitory and Share Rooms are nice to meet fellow travellers. We hope you will try some of...

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2015

A central purpose built hostel, with 2 large well stocked kitchens. The place was clean. Unfortunately there was nowhere near the hostel to park your car unless you were prepared to pay. As we were travelling on a 'shoestring' this situation didn't suit us. A member of staff told us we could park at the rear of the hostel between...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jac6757
Royce L, Manager at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the YHA back in March last year, alas this was along time before Linda and I took over the management here. We have since arriving, together with the Nelson City Council, been working on improvements to the way the parking area is managed next to the...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Clean, efficient and comfortable hostel. One of the best have stayed in across the world. Plenty of common room space, very clean The fresh bread was a very nice touch. The age range of visitors said a lot about is appear.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WickedGiant
Royce L, Manager at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate any feedback we receive and are always pleased to here when guests have enjoyed the facilities we have and the great mixture of guests we welcome to the new home of "Accents". We hope to see you back in Nelson soon! Best...

Gorokan, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2015

I was a little hesitant to stay in a hostel, but my pre-conceived ideas were shattered, thanks goodness. We had a twin room and it was very clean and comfy. the Staff on the front desk were great - gave us some great tips and assistance with bookings for various things. I recommend this hostel and will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teena2503
Royce L, Manager at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review of our hostel. Linda and I are pleased your first experience of hostels will give you confidence to try another YHA soon. It's also great to hear our team were also helpful, as being locals they have some great knowledge of the area. We look forward to welcoming you back to...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 18 November 2015

My wife and I stayed in a private bedroom for a couple nights and really enjoyed the place. The room was clean, didn't feel cramped and had 2 heaters so we never felt cold. As far as hostel rooms go, I would say everything was above average from our experience. There is a spacious kitchen which seemed to always have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam D
Royce L, Manager at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us and for your generous comments about the hostel. Linda, Oliver and I, are so very proud to now be working with the wonderful team at YHA and look forward to bringing a new international look and style to the hostel over the next few months....

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 8 November 2015

We stayed in a number of YHAs in NZ, although the rest were all on the North Island, but this was by far the best YHA we stayed in. It is clean, confy, great cooking facilities, great bathrooms, free WiFi, and very centrally located. Can't say enough good things about this place. If you are going to be in Nelson...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuperDaveG69
Royce L, Manager at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. Linda and I are so very happy to be able to welcome travellers to such a wonderful hostel in our new fantastic location, right in the middle of Nelson. With the new décor we will be introducing over the next few months we believe...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
629 reviews
0.5 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
446 reviews
0.4 km away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.6 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.4 km away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Linda and Royce who ran the famous Accents on the Park Backpackers for a decade are now proud to welcome travellers to their new hostel in Nelson. Qualmark rated 5 Star and located right in the middle of NZ's sunniest city, YHA by Accents brings travellers home-style hospitality and great facilities all right next to Nelson's famous Saturday Market and walking distance to all the best cafes and restaurants in town. Use YHA by Accents as a convenient base to access 5 National Parks including the Abel Tasman, Kahurangi and Nelson Lakes. Our spacious kitchen facilities provide you with everything you need including a sunny BBQ courtyard and garden. There is Secure (internal) Bike Storage, a Piano, Foosball, table tennis and huge (Free) DVD collection. Of course we have great internet access too! ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Nelson by Accents

Address: 59 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range: $24 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Nelson by Accents 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your YHA Nelson by Accents reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Nelson by Accents staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from YHA Nelson by Accents staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ensuite rooms 23 [street view] and 5 [ground floor with high windows but no view]”
 of 5 bubbles Ted4606, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Theres two countdowns not overly far away !”
 of 5 bubbles FlyTravel26, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not get the room that has the window that opens into the foyer. It is noisy at night.”
 of 5 bubbles LaurieC591, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“do it nice place:)”
 of 5 bubbles englandfootball, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go for the single room if you can afford to! Your own space and guaranteed sleep”
 of 5 bubbles paigec730, 1 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5