We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Harbourside Motor Lodge

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Harbourside Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Harbourside Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 100: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

Had 2 nights stay for work. Very friendly & welcoming staff. Room was very adequate. Bathroom size was huge. In room service with charge back & the meals were superb. Would definitely stay again. Only con is no unlimited wifi but that's in most motels today. 99/100

Helpful?
Thank Daena A
Brent W, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of our Motel. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us and do very much appreciate the feedback. Even though you were here for work we hope your stay in Nelson was enjoyable and we hope to see you back in the future. We are in the process of increasing... More 

Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

Tranquil location overlooking the marina. Short walk perhaps 10 minutes along the river to town. You could drive easily as well. We stayed in a studio overlooking the harbour. The space was perfect for two. We had a micro, small fridge, dishes and silverware. All good quality. The bed was comfy as were the sheets. Plenty of pillows. Wi-Fi service... More 

Helpful?
Thank KMills1960
Brent W, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank your for your lovely review of our motel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us as it is important that guests enjoy their vacations. We hope that the rest of your trip went well and welcome you back anytime. Kind Regards Brent & Vicki More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
1,550 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 678 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

2 GB internet included - very fast Full Satellite TV (Sky) offered plenty of TV options. Large ground room on the harbour, not the best room in the hotel however definitely more than adequate. Comfortable bed, good sized bathroom, good water pressure but wall dispensers for soap were not particularly good with poor dispensing ability. $155 for one night reasonable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Albywon
Brent W, Manager at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback it is very much appreciated. We have checked our soap dispensers and in particular the one you had. We have cleared the dispenser from your room and it is working a lot better now, we do apologise for any inconvenience. Thank you for your kind words and we thank you for your stay. Regards Brent... More 

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Gorgeous little spot overlooking the sleepy Marina. Everything delightful and the Manageress, Alison, couldn't have been more helpful. Her travelling tips were all spot on. Thankyou. Continental breakfast is included in the room rate and this is probably one of the best value-for-money stays we've had on our adventure. We ate at the restaurant adjacent which was excellent too. Well... More 

Helpful?
Thank SusiGee
Brent W, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review of our Motel. We were away at the time of your visit but are very glad that our stand-in manager looked after you during your stay. Thank you for staying it was great to have you. Regards Brent & Vicki More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Tucked away in the harbour area is this fantastic motel. Book an upstairs room and have a balcony overlooking the boat marina. Very friendly, helpful staff. Complimentary continental breakfast provided in a pleasant dining area. Great value for money. Close to town. Check out the Anchor Bar & Grill next door for a great meal.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
Brent W, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your lovely review it is much appreciated. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and also enjoyed your meal at the Anchor. We hope the rest of your trip went well. Kind regards Brent & Vicki. More 

Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

After many visits to Nelson we could not believe we had not discovered the Harbourside Motor Lodge before. Immaculately clean, very quiet, wonderful view over Marina, amazing continental breakfast included in tariff, and very accommodating hosts. Near to industrial area, but close to the city and 2 minutes walk to a very nice bar/restaurant. We had a lovely upstairs unit... More 

Helpful?
Thank sweetpea65
Brent W, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us on your trip to Nelson. We enjoy having friendly guests which makes our job enjoyable. We think that a good breakfast is a good start to the day and we put a lot of effort into making it worth the stay. Thanks for your great review. Kind Regards Brent & Vicki More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

The cleanest friendliest place ever with loads of space in bedroom and bathroom to boot! Very comfy bed too except my husband thought it was a bit soft but he's used to sleeping on a plank! No roll together at all. Tucked away with beautiful marina and mountain views and yet within walking distance of town, beach and restaurant. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Winifred H
Brent W, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your very nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The view of the Marina is a treat and it certainly adds to the rooms. Once again thanks for you review it was great having you stay with us. Kind Regards Brent & Vicki More 

London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Had the 1st floor Harbourside Apartment, which was lovely, having a double balcony overlooking the harbour. The apartment had lounge area with kitchenette, bedroom with kingsized bed and a good sized bathroom, all immaculate clean. Great welcome from husband and wife owners offering plenty of local advice. Alongside the harbour, to the right of the Motel is a restaurant which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Monument
Brent W, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review of our Motel and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay. It is our top priority that all guests enjoy themselves as we know what it is like to travel from Motel to Motel. We trust the rest of your trip went well and your enjoyment continued. Kind Regards Brent & Vicki More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2015

This was a place that was spotlessly clean, had a super comfy bed and fantastically friendly and accommodating owners. We really enjoyed our stay here because of these factors. The rooms are spacious and quiet as well. You cannot beat this accommodation for price and helpfulness of the staff.

Helpful?
Thank NancyDyck4
Brent W, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us. It is always enjoyable getting to know our guests and what they have been up to. We are sure the rest of your trip is going well and wish you safe a journey. Enjoy the rest of NZ. Kind Regards Brent & Vicki More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

A great motel with very helpful staff. The unit was fairly big with a large bathroom. Everything was tidy and clean, and looked rather new. The bed was very comfortable and there is a heater/aircon. There is also a large flatscreen with sky. There is s microwave and fridge, cutlery and plates for two people. There's also a toaster in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwigirl341
Brent W, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of our Motel and we appreciate the kind words. Customer service is a high priority for us and it will continue to be as it is important that guests enjoy their stay. We are glad you enjoyed the room and welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Brent & Vicki More 

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.6 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
598 reviews
1.8 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.7 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
511 reviews
0.8 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#7 of 42 in Nelson
411 reviews
6.9 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Harbourside Motor Lodge

Address: 4 Duncan Street | Port Nelson, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range: $125 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbourside Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Harbourside Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Harbourside Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Boat lovers will especially love this location.”
 of 5 bubbles JudeG363, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had an upstairs room with a view of the marina. Lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles jumping4j0y, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book a room overlooking the Marina to get the best of your stay.”
 of 5 bubbles SueC55, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Marina View”
 of 5 bubbles Rainy0, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had an upstairs unit which we well recommend,,looking down on marina.”
 of 5 bubbles alexandersZ6562IV, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay