Academy At Botany Motor Inn

Academy At Botany Motor Inn

4 Leixlep Lane, Botany Downs, Auckland New Zealand
I have tried cleaning this glass multiple times, however it seems to stay dirty no matter how hard I try.
Traveller (33)
View
Room & Suite (36)
1 Bed Room kitchen
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#1 of 1 motel in Botany Downs
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Just 15 kms from the Auckland International Airport, 20 kms from the Auckland CBD and 3 mins. walk to shopping, restaurants and bars at Botany Town Centre. The Academy at Botany Motor Inn is the perfect place to stay for your business or holiday trip. Conveniently located in close proximity to the East Tamaki, Highbrook Business Park & Manukau City Centre. Just minutes away from the Northern & Southern Motorway. Adjacent to Botany Town Centre and Dannemora Retirement Gardens Village, this modern property is maintained to exceptional standards of cleanliness & hygiene and boasts a variety of features aimed at your pleasure. Business visitors will appreciate the excellent conference facilities, full catering & onsite parking for guests & delegates. Families are just as welcome with spacious modern fully contained family units; kids can enjoy the playground and trampoline. Guests can take a plunge in our outdoor swimming pool or relax by the poolside to unwind after a long hard day. For guests with reduced mobility access units are available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Outdoor pool
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range

Location

4 Leixlep Lane, Botany Downs, Auckland New Zealand
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 51 out of 100
51
Auckland Intl Airport
12.9 km
See all flights
46Reviews0Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 16
  • 7
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
prntbl wrote a review Jan 2017
Christchurch, New Zealand
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We took our grandson to Auckland to meet his cousins who came down from Whangarei. The reason we chose this property was that it advertised a playground and swimming pool ideal for us wth 3 under 10 year olds. When we arrived the pool was green and remained that way the entire 4 days we were there and the playground consisted of 1 rusted slide and a trampoline that was just the frame without the middle. When we complained to the owner that they advertised a playground and pool we were told "oh we are getting new equipment for the playground and the pump for the pool is broken, little comfort for our stay considering this was a key reason we had booked this property and we still had to pay the full rate.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Rooms were clean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Queenayayi wrote a review Jul 2014
Sydney, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Not too good, not too bad.
Close to Botany down center where you can find post office, bank and supermarket but city center is far away. Not recommend for tourists.
Paid Wifi was slow. Bought 6 hours two times but spent most of the time waiting.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sbarfoote wrote a review Aug 2014
Auckland, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Academy at Botany Motor and yes it is a 3 mins. walk to Shopping, Restaurants and Bars at Botany Town Centre across the road.

Very clean smart motel rooms with good supply of cups so you can have a visitor over. I would call it more of a business motel and for families rather than romance.

Staff very warm and welcoming
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
This little adventurer here Ashlee. wrote a review Feb 2020
Auckland, New Zealand
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was untidy, WiFi barely connected or functioned of that matter, toasters constantly trip the fuse box even when all other power and power points are turned off, heater doesn't work, kitchen tap leaks to the point where it floods the entire kitchen bench, fridge/freezer freezes up to fast then completely defrosts itself, seal on fridge door has mostly lost it's grip, broken blinds, shower door seal has pretty much all come off, grease and grime in bathroom and kitchen, very dusty, spider webs, whitetails, breakfast menu at reception is just for show, the white towels, flannels, bathmats and hand towels are discolored, cleaners were absolutely rude when I asked them if i could please get a change of towels and bathroom supplies. I let them know that my partner was in the shower and I would bring the bathmat along with the extra towel when he was done, upon my request they told me that I would not get clean towels, bathmat, hand towel, flannels, dishcloth or tea towel until i gave them the remaining towel and bathmat. When I got back to the room I talked to my partner about this whilst he was in the shower and he told me to just take the bathmat, and he would mop the floor with his towel afterwards.
I took the bathmat to the laundry room to let the ladies know of this and politely ask again however, the laundry room was locked. I then took the bathmat to the managers office and explained to him what had happened, he then took me to the laundry room to get me some fresh towels [ETC.]
I got two clean towels, a dish cloth, a tea towel and two clean flannels, then I was told that the washing was on and that I needed to wait until the laundry was finished to receive a clean bath mat and hand towel. That I did not mind since I felt that that was better than nothing.

I've been holding off on posting this review, however the cleaning staffs rude and abrupt behavior has prompted me into posting this earlier.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheryll O wrote a review Apr 2017
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked a couple of months back and due to the bad weather on Thursday night our flights out of wellington were delayed. We had kept the motor inn informed and they were going to keep one of the rooms unlocked so we could get in. When we finally arrived the doors were locked an nobody was answering, it was pouring with rain and we were stranded. We then had to locate another motel who were very accommodating. We will never use Academy again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AcademyBotany, Manager at Academy At Botany Motor Inn
Responded Apr 22, 2017
Hi There was a communication gap and you have also acknowledged the bad weather that day which made things worse.There was an advisory in Auckland for everyone to stay indoors and your arrival was late in the night after closing hours.Our staff waited till 9.30 pm and after you failed to arrive they closed the reception. We apologise for the inconvenience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mickiew2015 wrote a review Apr 2017
Hong Kong, China
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Originally, I had booked this motel for a 14 days stay. The no.16 room was absolutely horrible. There are only four narrow open windows in the whole of the double bedroom flat with no air-conditioning. The room was so hot it feels the air can't circulate. The place was run down, the bath towels smells & flies and insects everywhere. The light witches don't even work properly.

The nightmare began on the second day. The cleaners knocked our door early in the morning asking if they can come in to clean the room while we are still asleep. I asked if they can come back later & the replied was "There will be no cleaners later". So I have to wake my wife and two kids up for them to clean the room. The cleaners did not even make our beds that day!

On the third day, I discovered we had a slightly broken floor fan and ask the owner if we can exchange of another & his reaction was "Are you kidding me, are you asking me to do something for you"?

After only 3 or 4 days of staying, I finally gave it up & asked for a refund. Even though I have lost 7 days of payment, I have to save myself, my wife & two kids. We went look for another hotel to stay for my remaining trip in Auckland.

My feeling was, the owner don't have the heart to sever his customer. If you booked this motel, I urge you to re-think again or at least stay away from room 16. With this kind of people running this motel. I am sure it will be another housing development soon.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: I don't know which is the best, but I do know no.16 is the worst.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AcademyBotany, Manager at Academy At Botany Motor Inn
Responded Apr 22, 2017
Hi Mickie. Every story has 2 sides. You have given this negative review after you were charged for cancelling your reservation without any notice. What we charged was as per the mentioned cancellation policy. Please do not misuse a public platform to disgrace any business. In regards to your complaints: It is nowhere mentioned that the room is air conditioned and the Apartment has multiple windows in all the rooms. Our facility is most modern and well maintained. The cleaner knocked on your door @ 11.30 am and they said that they will finish at 12 noon as it was the weekend. We think 11.30 am is a reasonable time to enquire from guests for servicing the room. The beds were not made that day as they were heaped with your personal belongings and cleaners are advised not to touch personal stuff of the guests for privacy reasons. All our linen is of the highest quality and replaced every day. There are 2 table fans in both the bedrooms and the guest can always ask for more if required, It is absolute fabricated that we used the words "Are you kidding me, are you asking me to do something for you"? We have been in the Hospitality Industry for a long time and these words are not in our vocabulary. All the light switches work properly; the bed room switches are parallel switches which you might not have used before. You mentioned you were cancelling the reservation as your travel plans had changed and we enquired from you on numerous occasions if your stay was comfortable and you always answered positively. There are no flies or any other insects in the room. You were leaving food uncovered on the kitchen shelf and crumbs all over the room which is very unhygienic and might have attracted flies in this weather. All our guests acknowledge our service standards and will see through the reason of your negative review. We enjoy our work immensely and these kinds of fabricated reviews will not dampen our spirits to serve our customers. You have made a very personal statement on our livelihood, but rest assured we will not give you the satisfaction of having a housing development in our Motel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Khaybee wrote a review May 2014
Wellington, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a workmanlike Motel that will take care of everything that needs taking care of, but is unlikely to wow. Good kitchen, good bed good shower. For business, I like the location with nearby groceries and shopping for anything that might have been forgotten.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim K wrote a review May 2014
Rangiora, New Zealand
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived quite late (9.30 Monday night) and reception had no lights on. The owner promptly came out and sorted me out for the key and milk.

Got settled in and as it was late I checked the compendium re the Wifi only to read you can plug in via Ethernet. ??? Yeah right, I have an iPad!!

Didn't want to disturb the owner so I did without the wifi and used my phone.

Following night after work I checked in re wifi, $10 for 2 hours... I complained and said usually it is free... The response boiled down to they have to charge for wifi as they pay $2300 rates per month and it's expensive in Auckland.

Hmmmmm, not impressed, but what can you do?

Apart for that, the room was immaculately clean, bed and pillow was ok but the water pressure in the shower was pretty darn poor. I jumped about to get wet.

I stayed here as work booked me in due to their preferred hotel being booked out.

The road noise is painful, there is no double glazing, the light which came into the room was annoying and at 5.30am the motel sign (bright white light) went out. Maybe midnight would be better for their timer to switch it off??

Another request from the owner is for guests not to cook spicy food, e.g. Curries so as to be considerate for future guests. Well, reception smelt of curry....!!!

Is that the pot calling the kettle black?

So, if you do stay there don't accept room 25, the ones at the back of the property may be quieter.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GTPeters wrote a review Sep 2013
Cooma, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been staying at the Academy on a regular basis for a number of years. It is a very pleasant motel, clean and functional rooms and close proximity to the Botany shopping mall, restaurants etc.
The Academy is a family run motel and the personal service, attention to detail and warmth of welcome make for a very pleasant experience.
One of my favourite destinations!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
steo18 wrote a review Jul 2011
Western Australia, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Academy at Botany Motor Inn, a small motel that I spent 5d during my stay in Auckland, NZ. Small & simple, comprised of 25 rooms, Queen bed, en suite shower & cooking facilities just like service apartment. Yet, able to provide a clean & comfort accommodation for travellers.

Located 15km away (20 minutes’ drive) from Auckland International Airport. 5 minutes’ walk to shopping mall, restaurants, cinema across the road along Botany Town Centre.
Travellers can simply board on any bus from Botany Town Centre, which will lead them to downtown, city of Auckland.

Academy at Botany Motor Inn, an ideal motel with good & friendly service, convenience location, great place to stop overnight when you’re in Auckland, New Zealand, I would recommend
Read more
Date of stay: April 2011
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
suepernz wrote a tip Jan 2019
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't choose room 9, in corner and everyone who smokes does it outside the door of this room."
Read full review
cdn n wrote a tip Jun 2018
New Plymouth, New Zealand2,062 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room at the BACK of the Motor Inn to avoid traffic noise."
Read full review
smileypower1 wrote a tip Apr 2017
Wellington, New Zealand5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We have a back room ... number 4 - very quiet. Nice area."
Read full review
mickiew2015 wrote a tip Apr 2017
Hong Kong, China31 contributions33 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"I don't know which is the best, but I do know no.16 is the worst."
Read full review
Raski1966 wrote a tip Mar 2017
New Zealand,Northland20 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room upstairs, large and spacious. Quiet."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Botany Downs area.
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandBotany Downs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Academy At Botany Motor Inn - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Academy At Botany Motor Inn
What are some of the property amenities at Academy At Botany Motor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Academy At Botany Motor Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Academy At Botany Motor Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Academy At Botany Motor Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Academy At Botany Motor Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars