We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Limpinwood
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were so pleased to find this cosy motel after trying to get reasonable accommodation in Queenstown which is overpriced & unavailable. Arrowtown has such a relaxed, vibrant atmosphere without the hassles of Queenstown which is very close for a day visit to see its highlights. Sheelagh was very efficient, knowledgable & helpful. I gave it a 4 because the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenwaldo
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi, and thanks for your positive review of our motel, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here, and Arrowtown in general. We hope you will return one day and in the meantime enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this one nighter as we were travelling down to Queenstown. It was immaculately clean and very easy to find and check in. Sheelagh was very professional and friendly. Really recommend the place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whittakb
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feed back, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were two couples who stayed here in November 2016 for three nights - we had an A frame cottage (No. 2) - this was a two storey unit - upstairs consisted of three beds - one double and two singles. Downstairs had a separate bedroom with a queen sized bedroom. We also had a complete kitchen - fridge, microwave,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George B
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks George, your positive comments are really appreciated, and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again some time.

Havelock North, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 May 2016

I have seen in an article that this motel has four and a half stars. It either needs a complete refurbishment or demolish and start again. I have been told the units are privately owned and a Manager is on site. She appears to work hard but owners do not want to spend money. A lingering smell, holes on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PMR1
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts on Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, the fact you were undoubtedly disappointed is to say the least, upsetting for us. We have never pretended to be a 4.5 star motel and are qualmark rated "3.5 stars", yes the carpet on the stairs is worn but hardly in holes and is due for replacement during the off...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2016

Quite a quaint little place with separate freestanding units.Heating was great and facilities good however the lounges in the room were a bit ancient and sagging and water pressure very poor but overall we would stay there again. Access from street was very narrow caused by cars in other units parking and partially blocking access to our unit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sullo1937
shorty27, Owner at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review

I am pleased you will come and stay again, and apologise for the of lack water pressure, now it has been brought to our attention we will endeavour to fix it. The lounge suite is starting to lose its firmness and is due to be replaced. Visitors to other guests and units is a problem that is difficult to address...

South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Staff were friendly and accommodating but we were quite disappointed with our stay. There is not much room for parking and at one time our rental car brushed a hedge completely down one side so we could get past another patrons parked and unattended car. The shower is very small and being 6 foot tall and broad shouldered it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about our friendly staff, but sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us. Sometimes we have guests who have visitors, and the extra cars can be a problem especially as they usually haven't been asked to take other guest vehicles into consideration when parking. Arrowtown has had a very busy summer and there has...

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 March 2016

The place itself is not super flash but if you are wanting a comfortable place this is it we loved it spent 7 days there and the lady running the place was massively helpful and went out of her way with extra things we needed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yukich1962
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 March 2016

We stayed 2 nights with extended family in February and found the detached dwellings private, clean and comfortable. Arrowtown is a lovely place to stay. It's peaceful and has great restaurants only 10mn walk from the hotel. However I was disappointed to see that our kids couldn't swim in the pool as the water was very cold, even on dry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VicDev
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback it is appreciated. The out door pool is heated by the sun and in February is usually quite warm, but if we have had a few cold nights it soon cools off. The mezzanine floor is always a draw card for children, but a stair gate is available if required. We are happy that you...

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

1970s style units. Very clean and comfortable. Lovely quiet location walking distance to main street where there are plenty of eating places. We only stayed one night but would be awesome place to stay with a family for longer. Trampoline and swimming pool to entertainment the kids. Beautiful soft towels and comfortable bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 February 2016

I like the place, whereby is is nice, comfy and suitable for family. There is no complicated items in the room, everything is back to the basics. has a good table and chairs for me to do some work at night after whole day travelling and shopping. like the beds on top, nice and soft.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kitson1351

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.7 km away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
16.9 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
2,870 reviews
18.5 km away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
0.5 km away
Shades of Arrowtown
Shades of Arrowtown
#2 of 11 in Arrowtown
149 reviews
0.2 km away
Arrowtown Holiday Park
Arrowtown Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Arrowtown
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel,situated on the sunny side of Arrowtown with its spacious family friendly one and two bedroom chalets,all with fully equipped kitchens,Sky Guest select and own washing machine. The large grassy section, with swimming pool,trampoline and guest BBQ's is perfect for those travel weary folk to just relax and enjoy. Restaurants,Cafe bars and Retail outlets along with the many cycle or walking trails provide something for everyone,while Queenstown and surrounding Ski fields are just a short drive for those looking for more excitement. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel

Address: 21 Inverness Crescent | Otago, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Price Range: $145 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the units are reasonably quiet”
  • Laundry area
  • Kitchen
  • seperate shower and toilet
  • Lounge room
  • downstairs bedroom
  • Lounge room
  • Upstairs bedrrom
 of 5 bubbles gbaias, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Nearest to the Pool is the best during summer”
 of 5 bubbles Kitson1351, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Our room in the middle had a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles f16addict, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Motel not hotel, centrally located”
 of 5 bubbles joana248, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
“All in cute, individual chalets, so I think they are all the same.”
 of 5 bubbles LadyMol, 26 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay