We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Magnums Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Magnums Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

419 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Magnums Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 371: English reviews
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2015

While Magnum's is definitely a hub of activity in Airlie Beach, it really provided the perfect launching point for our Whitsunday adventure. Night at Magnum's: Our accommodations at Magnum's were adorable and we had no problems. The location was amazing! There was a BWS and Woolworths right next to Magnum's and the beach was a right across the street. I'm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sophia A
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this comprehensive review, we genuinely appreciate the feedback, sounds like you had a great time in Airlie so our job is done! In relation to your comment re the arrival time for checking in for Habibi, Yes - you are correct we do need to know everyone is in town, the boat... More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

My wife and I had a fantastic sleep topped off with terrific service. We were a bit worried about the party atmosphere but we had no trouble getting to sleep. Our room was at the back of the accommodation which helped a lot. We're over thirty as well and enjoyed our stay very much.

Helpful?
Thank Gregg S
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you! We genuinely appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience. Enjoy your travels :-) More 

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

We booked to stay at magnums for 2 nights because we were in Airlie Beach to do a Whitsunday Islands cruise. However I wish we had stayed longer, I was definitely not ready to leave! The place was so lively and we were able to sit in the 'beer garden' both Tuesday and Wednesday night and there still be live... More 

Helpful?
Thank l2202d
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you, we sure do hope you come back! We are so grateful you took the time to share your great experience. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Other than the location, this hostel had very little to offer. The kitchen and bathrooms were really dirty and mouldy, our room was more like a car garage and so damp! My mattress was actually wet with damp. There was no real social area, and the wifi area is just a small hut between all of the rooms. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robyn T
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, we are of course both surprised and disappointed and we can not relate your comments in anyway to the facilities we offer, we would very much appreciate it if you would contact us via our website and share some more details such as which room number you were in etc More 

Travellers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

Great location and very good atmosphere, however I woke up with over 20 bites on my legs and arms... This could have been due to bed bugs? Would recommend this hostel to others but I'd suggest taking insect repellent to avoid the same problem I had!!

Helpful?
Thank leeeeees
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we follow a strict code of conduct if any insect bites are reported, did you report your room number and seek assistance? (we do not have a record of any incidents at all) Bed Bugs are a very unique type of bite, more similar to a rash / multiple lines of many bites, 20 bites... More 

South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2015

I stayed here in a single room with a double bed and television over the course of five nights last week and would gladly do so again. Whilst obviously being a backpackers' hostel, the room was modest in size (but certainly adequate, clean and comfortable) and had shared bathrooms (two toilets and shower facilities between six units), it was conveniently... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ahnjaeeouk
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

THANK YOU! A lovely review and very much appreciated, we are so pleased we were able to host you at Magnums and more so that you felt SO welcome. Please let us know if you are coming back anytime via our website! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

I went to magnums for 3 nights and it was a good hostel. Wooli, Peter Pans and Macces are just next door. You can get there through a "private path" -very nice! The lagoon is a 3 minutes walk across the road and you can reach everything by food. I stayed in a mixed dorm with 7 people and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yasemin S
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we will take all your comments on board! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and loved Airlie Beach as much as we do! Travel Safe More 

Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed on a 8 people dorm. The room was good, comfortable mattress. There was a bathroom in the room, which as good and bad at the same time, because made things really practical however it's easier to wake up someone else. Also, there was no common bathroom available for who was in these dorms, and it is quit inconvenient for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Felipe H
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Reviewer, good to hear you enjoyed your stay, it is hard to please everyone but we will continue to do our best, I tend to agree that the shared bathrooms could be a little disruptive but for most people this is their preference. If you had chosen a private room you are able to access shared bathrooms. Travel... More 

Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2015

This is a great hostel, centrally located, good dorms, beds, and friendly staff. Double rooms are available (small) and there is a discount for booking 4 nights I think. Woolworths is right next door for food, and the hotel kitchens are great! Only downsides are; the wifi is really slow, and I don't remember there being lockers in the dorms.

Helpful?
Thank Rory C
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you – we think we are pretty good too! We really appreciate your review. (Because the WIFI is FREE 24/7 it can be a little slow! ) WE do provide each guest with individual storage space in their rooms and valuable storage is FREE in reception. Travel Safe More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2015

We used this hostel as a pre and post whitsundays accommodation. The hostel is really nice, clean and the staff are helpful. You can store your bags whilst away for free. The only issue is if you need to get something out, its only open on the hour for 5 mins. You can store your valuables for free at reception.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bethany M
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Oh dear nothing worse than a cold shower! Could you advise which room number, we can fix it in a flash (just drop us a note via the website) Very pleased you enjoyed the rest of your stay. More 

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.7 km away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#18 of 53 in Airlie Beach
402 reviews
0.1 km away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 53 in Airlie Beach
164 reviews
0.1 km away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#34 of 53 in Airlie Beach
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#32 of 53 in Airlie Beach
163 reviews
0.2 km away
Base Airlie Beach Resort
Base Airlie Beach Resort
#37 of 53 in Airlie Beach
476 reviews
1.8 km away
Seabreeze Tourist Park Airlie Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Whitsundays!!Magnums is a tropical oasis in the middle of the excitement of Airlie Beach. Relax in our beautiful settings or take the short stroll to the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon, Abel Point Marina or Port of Airlie. Magnums is an “over 18 years only” budget holiday retreat in the heart of the beautiful Whitsundays.No need for a cab - Magnums is within walking distance of all the fantastic restaurants, pubs and nightclubs Airlie beach has to offer.Our affordable accommodation styles include dorm rooms, deluxe cabins and private rooms which are all surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. All of our rooms have air-conditioning and ceiling fans for your comfort. Professionally cleaned linen is provided and our rooms are cleaned daily by our friendly in-house housekeeping team. Magnums’ facilities include a fully equipped shared kitchen and undercover eating area, coin operated washing machines in our laundry, free security deposit service for your security and a free WiFi area, all for your convenience.Our new kitchen/recreation room is now open! We have a 51 inch Plasma TV, games and free Wifi - so it is the perfect indoor entertainment area for your enjoyment. Get some friends together or make some new ones and enjoy a game of volleyball on our sun-filled volleyball court.Want to venture out on a daytrip or an overnight sailing adventure and discover what the Whitsundays has to offer? Magnums has a fully accredited tour desk within our reception area with a large range of tours and activities at very competitive prices. Come and discover Magnums – you will be surprised! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnums Backpackers

Address: 366 Shute Harbour Rd | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range: $44 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnums Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Magnums Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnums Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Magnums Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I cannot get over that a double room for us both was less than most 8 bed dorms!”
 of 5 bubbles kayleighwallace, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The free parking is actually in a parking lot behind the complex; 3 minutes walk away.”
 of 5 bubbles RosarinhoPT, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great Value”
 of 5 bubbles Bella392, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“8 Person Cabins are the best!”
 of 5 bubbles erinb185, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back far away from the bars.”
 of 5 bubbles suusst, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay