We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 137: English reviews
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We booked this place at last minute as we had business to attend to in Airlie, we thought as though the business would only take a few hours, we would make a romantic weekend of it. We checked the photos on Wotif, Lastminute, etc.. etc.. it seems as though all the photos on the internet are of one room (possibly...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Rob B
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 1 January 2016

I have just spent 9 nights at this "retreat" and I would certainly never stay there again. If we hadn't paid for our accommodation upfront through our travel agent we would have sought alternate accommodation. It is marketed as a 4 star exclusive adults only retreat. It is outdated, needs maintenance and is very noisy due to its location on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nazz B
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Just turn right and cross at the roundabout 5mins walk to ferry terminal to the whitsunday islands.5 mins walk to town centre airline beach. Clean well kept room and friendly staff Kim. 40 mins drive to proserpine airport. Most comfortable bed and pillow. Serviced daily, free wifi (slow). Dvd player in room and various austar channels . Suit couples or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenDaveML
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

These apartments were perfect for our stay in Airlie. 10min walk from town so out of hustle and bustle, 10min walk to day trip cruises. Apartment had everything you could need to be self sufficient. Very modern and clean. Lovely balcony spa and separate pool area. Great value for money and no noise policy means lovely and peaceful at night!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billie-Jo77
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

Pros. Location Bed comfortable Room a good size Some FOXTEL channels Staff friendly Cons. We paid $780.00 for three nights, differently overpriced. No where to hang your towels after showering Bathroom vanity has no where to put your things except a toothbrush Bathroom vanity too low Vaneer off and peeling on the bedside tables Dinning room table and chairs rickety...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Topbabe
Uden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Well organised and nicely decorated, spacious appartment (the Penthouse). Plenty of room for 6. Be aware that the main Shute Harbour Road passes right in front of the balcony, so be prepared for a lot of noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurens D
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 July 2015

The main reasons for booking here were the R18 and no noise policy, plus spa bath and supposed luxury surroundings as we were after a quiet stay. We were met by Kim who is the major asset to this establishment. On entry to our room we noted the furniture was past its use by date and looked grubby, walls needed...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Ishkaa
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed for two nights here. Great little self contained apartment. Everything we needed was supplied (although we could have done with some salt and pepper sachets) but that's just a little thing. Two person spa on the balcony. The window opens so you can watch TV while in there which I liked. The balcony doesn't have a million dollar view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shantelilace
Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 27 May 2015

This is a very nice place to stay. Lovely well appointed large rooms. Great location close to everything. I would have given this place top rating if only the spa had worked. Everything else was great and the first accommodation I have been to with a reasonably price mini bar!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lianne L
WWBB29, General Manager at at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Lianne, Thank you for taking the time to review at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay at our boutique hotel, I am sorry you had issues with the spa on your balcony. We have since checked every spa and all appear to be working. If you have a moment to email Kim, stay@waterfrontwhitsudnay.com.au...

North West England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2015

Loved it. We could have stayed for months!mwe stayed in the two bed apartment which was infacg a penthouse! Was fantastic. We didn't want to leave this lovely place, with lots of space for 3 of us. Hot tub on the balcony and a short walk from the main road. What more could you want :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christina I
WWBB29, General Manager at at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Christina, Thank you for taking the time to review at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay at our boutique hotel, indeed the top floor Jacuzzi Penthouse is stunning, especially the 6 person Jacuzzi on the deck overlooking the Port of Airlie and Coral Sea. I will be certain to pass your lovely feedback...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1.7 km away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 9 in Airlie Beach
366 reviews
0.7 km away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.5 km away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 9 in Airlie Beach
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 9 in Airlie Beach
991 reviews
0.4 km away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#21 of 53 in Airlie Beach
565 reviews
0.3 km away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#30 of 53 in Airlie Beach
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat sets new standards of luxury award winning couples only boutique accommodation in the Whitsundays. Adjoining Airlie Beach and nestled on Pioneer bay which features pristine turquoise waters surrounded by breathtaking rainforest, guests can expect a high level of privacy coupled with exceptional unobtrusive personalised service. The luxury retreat comprises an exclusive collection of just five, one bedroom balcony spa suites and an incredible top floor Jacuzzi penthouse, with views over Port of Airlie and the Coral Sea. The luxury spa suites feature contemporary inspired interior furnishings that exude style and tropical ambience, natural timber louvers, spacious balcony with corner spa, Brand new king size beds, gourmet galley kitchen and pebbled ensuite bathrooms. The penthouse features a unique four posted king bed, the master bathroom featuring a double person rain shower, generous powder room complete with private balcony overlooking lush rainforest, a gourmet kitchen, black marble bar complete with wine fridge and stainless steel fixtures. Externally the penthouse enjoys an expansive balcony complete with six person Jacuzzi. Redefining intimate levels of service suites are serviced daily whilst the retreat boasts a private sun deck, deep water horizon pool, guest BBQ, lush tropical gardens, a-la-carte in room massage, facial and beauty treatments, unlimited FREE wireless internet, tour booking desk, great barrier reef touring, concierge and personalised limousine transfers. Exuding luxury, romance and tropical ambiance, at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat offers the travel connoisseur a perfect blend of relaxation, intimacy and personalised service for an unparalleled couples only retreat experience. PLEASE NOTE : For the enjoyment of all guests, Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat 18+ enforces a strict NO NOISE NO PARTY POLICY. ... more   less 

Additional Information about at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat

Address: 438 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range: $160 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat Airlie Beach
Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat Hotel
At Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You have to climb the stairs but higher floors have better views.”
 of 5 bubbles CrippAdvisor, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“coming out of arlie, through the round about, the driveway is just before the bus stop on the other side of the road.”
 of 5 bubbles 2ctalking, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Maybe the Jaccuzi rooms are nicer?”
 of 5 bubbles 506toniv, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms face the main road. Higher (3levels) better view . But for penthouse which can accommodate up to 6.”
 of 5 bubbles JenDaveML, 12 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a spa that works.”
 of 5 bubbles EllBeeEll, 27 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay