We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Mountains YHA

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Blue Mountains YHA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Blue Mountains YHA
See the most recent reviews
Showing 217: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very disappointing stay. Decided on the YHA as it was central, had wifi, and pretty cheap. Turns out the wifi costs money and this didnt matter as it was down our whole stay. We had an irate man bang angrily on the door at 10:30pm who introduced himself as the night manager and told us to turn our TV down... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jjjjjoseph
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mountains YHA, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your feedback and sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We do ask people to respect other guest's with restricting noise but this should always be a professional, polite request. We will be reviewing all your feedback with the staff member concerned. We have had an issue with our wifi antenna. The external supplier will shortly be... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed there for one night. Booked a shared room for 4 but fortunately no one else had booked the room that day. The only problem I faced was wifi, although I paid 5AUD for 24 hours but the wifi connectivity was very bad and I ended up using my phone's data pack.

Helpful?
Thank J_a_y_a_0_j_h_a
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mountains YHA, responded to this review

Hi J_a_y_a_0_j_h_a Thanks for your review and sorry you had WiFi issues. If that ever happens again at a YHA, please just see reception so they can try and help you out. That particular building is very solidly built and it means that there are dead spots in a few rooms. If you were in one of those rooms, we... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Since this hostel opened some 14 or 15 years ago we have gone every single winter and it never disappoints. Staff are great, rooms lovely and cosy especially with ensuites. This year new linen, doonas and tea and coffee facilities and this is a YHA , plus the beds were made up and rooms ready at 12noon, better than a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carmel O
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I had a great 1 night stay in this hostel. There is always a risk when staying in a backpackers hostel, but I found this one to be very pleasant. The staff were EXCELLENT and were genuinely interested in making sure I made the most of my short stay in the Blue Mountains. Walking distance to Echo Point, the famous... More 

Helpful?
Thank internetbt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My friend booked the trip for us to the Blue Mountains. When she said we were staying in a hostel I was slightly nervous. The YHA was great. It was spacious with a massive common room with 2 open fires & bean bags & books for kids. We didn't use the kitchen but it was lovely and big. Our rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank ClaireFromDublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I spent 1 night in this YHA with my boyfriend. Unfortunately the weather was bad but this way we enjoyed the hostel even more : there is a (fake) fire in the living room! That gives a very nice atmosphere, and it kept us warm on this cold day. The kitchen is nice, the staff is very available for any... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clémentine R
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Had a great time in the Blue Mountains YHA! We booked the Jenolan Caves package, which included a bus trip and entrance to the Caves. The caves were incredible, definetely go there! Initially had some problems with the package, because it wasn't totally clear to some of the staff, but they solved all the problems really good. Very nice people!... More 

Helpful?
Thank LaraenTim
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

The location of the hostel is good, though I arrived on the train and travelled with a heavy bag. The distance to walk is fine (similar to what I've experienced with other hostels), but the hill was a bugger with the bag. I experienced a major failure in trying to book the adventure package. The online booking for the package... More 

Helpful?
Thank chuyllu
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This place was huge, definitely no risk of feeling crowded here. The kitchen was massive, with a very good free food section, well-equipped with good cooking facilities (including ovens, hooray!) dorm rooms were in need of a little TLC but were spacious, beds were comfy and linen was clean. The bathrooms were superb, modern-looking and clean. Excellent TV room with... More 

Helpful?
Thank emkay33
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This YHA has got an excellent range of facilities: large and clean kitchen with all necessary utensils, comfortable couches, a broad amount of books and magazines and the house has a nice atmosphere. The staff is professionally polite and friendly. We stayed in a five bed dorm which was pretty standard - but clean and spacious. The Blue Mountains are... More 

Helpful?
Thank EirikH

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.6 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
787 reviews
0.7 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
505 reviews
0.0 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
1.5 km away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
330 reviews
0.1 km away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the adventure capital of NSW, stay at this award-winning YHA hostel and enjoy the log fire, cosy warm rooms (many with ensuite), great kitchen, fast internet, all in the heart of Katoomba. This is the best value budget accommodation, located in the heart of Katoomba. Chose from a range of rooms including multi share, double/twin and family rooms. Free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available). Relax in the large lounge, self cater in the kitchen. Housed in a beautifully restored historic National Trust building, the hostel is close to breathtaking scenic lookouts, and local cafes and pubs. Save with YHA discounts on heaps of activities, tours and attractions from the hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Mountains YHA

Address: 207 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Price Range: $58 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Mountains YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Blue Mountains YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountains YHA Katoomba, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue Mountains YHA staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Blue Mountains YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from the staircases which squeak”
 of 5 bubbles rosemarys898, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“ask to the personal i'm more that sure that they will help you”
 of 5 bubbles MarielaCoach, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“even dormitory for six was fine, nice communal bathrooms as well”
 of 5 bubbles 867eva_, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Book earlier to get a dorm that sleeps less”
 of 5 bubbles normanh414, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
“mmm, steps up to 1st floor got steeper each time I went up, all right for young'uns.”
 of 5 bubbles Dudleigh, 26 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay