We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kempsey Powerhouse Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Kempsey Powerhouse Motel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 185: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed on the way back from the Gold Coast. Spacious rooms, very clean & tidy. No crockery or cutlery in rooms but coffee/tea making facilities. Peaceful surrounds a few minutes drive from the CBD & Golf Course. Had dinner in the restaurant & in room breakfast. Both very nice & reasonably priced. I will certainly stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
power465, Owner at Kempsey Powerhouse Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our motel. We are pleased you found everything clean and in order. We provide the essentials to the rooms only in the first instance. There is always quality coffee, sugar, tea, milk and biscuits in the rooms on arrival. We also offer fresh milk on check in. We also provide a kettle and...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room we had was a bit dated but was very clean, bed was comfortable and AC worked well. Also shower had great pressure which is a big plus with me. It is also close to the highway and rates were good. We had dinner at their restaurant. Food was very good (rated as one of the best restaurants in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arron W
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We often stay here on our travels. Very clean, great food and wonderful service.The motel is situated in a convenient location in a beautiful country setting. I highly recommend the Powerhouse motel .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sparky2110
Kempsey, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We found Martin and Tracy very helpful and understanding to our needs. The cook does amazing meals. Extremely happy overall. Highly recommend Kempsey Powerhouse motel. We will be back again that's for sure!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MummaNPappaBear
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the Powerhouse Motel, Kempsey on our way to Sydney from Byron Bay on New Year's Day. It's just off the highway, 5mins south of Kempsey, so convenient for a quick overnight stop if all accommodation in Port Macquarie is full, as was our case. The motel looks old & dated, but our room was very clean &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arichardson2016
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

the below comments i find very disgusting to read.We stayed here for 2 nights and found the staff more then friendly, The motel is situated where there is bush,so yes there is the often BUSH ROACH around the area.I find it more upsetting that the people belows comment very confronting, since i was a stay the morning these people checked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kristie876
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stay in this place if you LOVE cockroaches & maggots. I had to call owner around 11PM to kill cockroaches and believe me he was able to kill 8 of them in 10mins. HORRIBLE experience the stuff is really impolite and rude. Live in here like disaster. The room was full of cockroaches. I can't bear to stay here. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aman Y
power465, Owner at Kempsey Powerhouse Motel, responded to this review

Nice exaggeration. You rang me at 1230am because you found a bush cocky in your room. This country area has a lot of bush cockies around at night and when you were standing around late at night sneaking the children into the rooms (who you hadn't paid for) you obviously let the cockies in. I came straight over and caught...

Wattle Grove, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

WORST experience ever!!! Cockroaches crawling everywhere. Found cockroaches eggs under the couch and maggot on the towel. You name it. Outdated room n furnitures. The so called owner of the business is extremely rude and ill-mannered. Surely bush cockroaches didn't conveniently arrive the same day as the guests and happened to lay eggs under the furniture! If you can't at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YjSood
power465, Owner at Kempsey Powerhouse Motel, responded to this review

So you didn't pay for the children in the rooms (3 of them in three rooms), you call me over after midnight to remove some bush cockies, you abuse my wife when she reminded you of checkout time in the morning, you then leave without paying for minibar items. You threaten us with photos of bugs you can't even identify....

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent presentation and service. Tracy and Martin run a very efficient and friendly Motel. We rang ahead and their and the arrangements were fulfilled courteously. The evening meal at the on site restaurant "The Lantern" was most enjoyable and not overpriced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rob28092017
power465, Owner at Kempsey Powerhouse Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and meals. All the staff work hard to provide the highest level of hygiene and cleanliness in all the rooms, dining room and kitchen. We do hope we can help you again in the future. Travel safely and have a happy new year

Gold coast
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Checked in for a one night stop over. Staff very friendly and recommended the RSL for dinner which was helpful. Room was clean and had everything you need for the night including air conditioning which worked well. Bedding is obviously personal preference however we recommend that you bring your own pillows. Also had a bit of a mosquito problem at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lukeandmelyssa
power465, Owner at Kempsey Powerhouse Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We always need feedback to ensure we have any problems rectified. We did unfortunately have a lot of pillows taken over the xmas break or swapped with old ones but we now have new ones to replenish our stores. Hope you had a safe new year. Martin

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempsey hotels
4.9 km away
Moon River Motor Inn
Moon River Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Kempsey
110 reviews
1.4 km away
Kempsey Motor Inn
Kempsey Motor Inn
#6 of 7 in Kempsey
77 reviews
2.9 km away
Motel Kempsey
Motel Kempsey
#5 of 7 in Kempsey
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#4 of 7 in Kempsey
83 reviews
5.0 km away
Park Drive Motel
Park Drive Motel
#3 of 7 in Kempsey
52 reviews
4.8 km away
Colonial Court Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on 5 acres of manicured bushland, the Kempsey Powerhouse Motel is a quiet place to unwind after a day on the road. It is suitable to sit amongst the trees up the back and enjoy the wildlife that abounds or watch your children kick a ball around in safety well away from the road. We are no longer pet friendly. The motel is also very conveniently located set back from the highway halfway between Sydney and Brisbane. The motel is 500mts from the southern most exit if heading to the north or 1klm only if heading south. The now completed Slim Dusty centre is only 200 mts down the road. The motel is close to beaches and other interesting icons around town. 21 Very clean and spacious rooms, majority are ground floor and others have a maximum of three steps and handrails. Parking outside the door for most rooms. All rooms have had a modernized makeover with the bathrooms being our main priority at present. Ample truck, trailer and caravan/camper parking available near units. A very affordable a'la carte restaurant and bar is available Mon to Sat from 6.00Pm and can vary depending on the season. Closed on Sundays and Pub Hols. Booking a table is recommended on arrival to ensure you do not miss out on a delicious meal. Room service is also an option. A wide variety of Australian meals is offered. Children, romantics and small groups can be catered for. Your hosts, Tracy and Martin, are welcoming folk who enjoy and take pride in caring for the needs of their guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kempsey Powerhouse Motel

Address: 465 Macleay Valley Way | 1klm Fm the Roundabout Exit Sthn End of New by-Pass, Kempsey, New South Wales 2440, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kempsey
Price Range: $94 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kempsey Powerhouse Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Kempsey Powerhouse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kempsey Powerhouse Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kempsey Powerhouse Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bathrooms are being renovated so ask for a newly refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles stephencK3095VQ, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms are best”
 of 5 bubbles Contributor2015, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms towards the back seem very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Gutta2Gutta, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room was up the back”
 of 5 bubbles petesylz, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Motel is situated off the Pacific Highway in a bushy location.”
 of 5 bubbles Nonie50, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay