We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Wayfarer Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Wayfarer Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 35: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Standing with remote in hand following instructions in motel guide to find FOXTEL or Austar..asked very helpful receptionist how to connect..she said new owners had taken channels away..Why is it still advertised..not a good start. Rooms very small,lighting dim..overall very clean..won't recoomend

Thank Wendy G
Lismore, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Dirty floors that have never seen a mop, broken bathroom doors, fixed open window in bathroom, rubbish has been swept under a bed including liquid of some sort. This so called family room has no cupboard space and dirty linen on pillows! Thank goodness I bought my own. Manager not available but why bother. You get what you pay for... More 

Thank OZBugler

Travellers are raving about these Muswellbrook hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

I was staying for 3 nights in the start of winter 2016. The room was always clean and tidy, good heating system and convinience parking. Another plus is golf course scenery from my room as I was staying in the back row. I surely will stay in this motel for the next visit.

Thank Noel P
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Was about to give up staying at Muswellbrook but tried this one as a last resort. Very friendly reception, reasonable price. Park-like environment which turned out to be a golf course. Older style with small rooms and bathroom. Open wifi, and fresh milk. Bed adequate, but when you have just driven 800klms you could sleep anywhere. Would recommend this as... More 

Thank allann879
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2015

I was impressed with the service I received when I dropped in, tired, to see if a room was available for the night. My room was clean and comfortable and I had a good night's sleep. Despite the room's being at the front, it was quiet. The room was smallish but quite big enough for 1 person. Upgrades are being... More 

2 Thank Marilynmargaret
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2015

We stayed at the Wayfarer for price only, but still feel we got a little short changed. The rooms are older style but are fairly clean but the receptionist disapeared after we checked in and wasnt sighted again. There obviously are a number of loud mouth miners living there permanantly who sat outside drinking until late, talking loudly and swearing.... More 

2 Thank Keiron R
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Motel was clean and quiet with golf course next door and close to local shops. Staff were really helpful and friendly with outdoor bbq and TV and pool facilities. Single level facilities with garage across the road. Great paths for walking fanatics

1 Thank Sandra G
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2015

some of our stay was ok we were there 3 days. Quite clean but very tired and needing an upgrade. Comp continental breakfast appreciated, but when contact with reception was needed after hours due to disruptive guest in other room being extremely noisy trying to open doors etc was not there no answer to phone at all. Hence very bad... More 

Thank Jillyjelly45
ronnie h, Owner at The Wayfarer Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry for the other guests that were noisy and causing you grief. We did not have any phone call or knock on the manager's door till mid night. If we knew, we would have approached those guests to see if they could reduce their noise. We would look into reducing the tap noise. We had given a discount... More 

Tamworth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2015

we arrived late Friday night by arrangement we had been told heater on it was but the best that could be said is the heat was just warm and was on the highest setting the t.v. didn't work, so as it was so cold jumped straight into bed the electric blankets didn't work, the sheets smelt had problem sleeping due... More 

Thank mick m
ronnie h, Owner at The Wayfarer Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry that one of the four hot water went down and was affecting a couple of rooms on that end. The electric blanket maybe loose at the power point. We are sorry for those unforeseen issues and you had a free stay. More 

Tewantin, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2015

The room was comfortable but very small. It did contain all we needed but after midnight the trucks started thundering past our front room and that was the end of sleep. The curtains did not meet in the middle neither because they were partly damaged. The ventilation was not good as opening the front window would have made the trucks... More 

Thank Doreen R

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (6)
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (9)
Room/Suite (4)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muswellbrook
2.4 km away
Noah's Mid City Motor Inn
Noah's Mid City Motor Inn
#3 of 7 in Muswellbrook
88 reviews
1.2 km away
Hermitage Motel
Hermitage Motel
#4 of 7 in Muswellbrook
31 reviews
1.7 km away
Remington Motor Inn
Remington Motor Inn
#1 of 7 in Muswellbrook
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Baybrook Motor Inn and Apartments
1.8 km away
Red Cedar Motel
Red Cedar Motel
#1 of 4 in Muswellbrook
26 reviews
11.7 km away
Aberdeen Motel
Aberdeen Motel
#1 of 1 in Aberdeen
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Wayfarer Motel

Address: 124 Maitland St, Muswellbrook, New South Wales 2333, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Muswellbrook
Price Range: $80 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wayfarer Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Wayfarer Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Wayfarer Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rear of complex looking over golf course”
 of 5 bubbles allann879, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“if you do choose to stay here ask for a room at the back as the rail and road noise is very noisy esp at night.”
 of 5 bubbles Jillyjelly45, 23 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Maybe back rooms but we weren't offered one.”
 of 5 bubbles DoreenR720, 13 May 2015 | Read review
“Rooms ar Back is Good and Good golf field view”
 of 5 bubbles delciep2014, 9 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles Ness2319, 12 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay