We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (40)
Room & Suite (33)
Pool & Beach (1)
Overview
  • Excellent6%
  • Very good35%
  • Average28%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Avoca Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
8
43
36
13
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
8
43
36
13
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplace to staypublic transportclose to shopsminute walkhandy locationbondi beachcar parkcafes and restaurantsaccommodationkeysspecialistlimitcoles
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

not informed they didnt have parking. extra $28 per day in hospital parking. Room was dirty and very dusty! floor boards creaked every time you moved around room! seriously over priced. Reception staff were not helpful at all.More

Thank Donna S
Response from SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca LodgeResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent...More

Reviewed 14 April 2017

We booked Avoca Lodge due to the proximity to the hospital but this is a warning for everyone who's considering this "hotel". Literally everything in our room was dirty, here's a list: - Dust everywhere - seems like this room hasn't been cleaned for decades....More

Thank S T
Response from SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca LodgeResponded 14 April 2017

Thank you for bringing this to our attention again. Your stay was in January 2017. Thank you for your email (forwarded from Alison Lodge) and I am sorry to hear that our accommodation did not meet your expectations. We understand that you were too busy...More

Reviewed 12 February 2017

This place did not feel safe and was very dirty. I didn't sleep much throughout the night as people were slamming doors, pacing up and down the hall way. The rooms were tiny, and were not clean at all.More

Thank matt1987abc
Response from Julie C, Manager at Avoca LodgeResponded 17 February 2017

Thank you for your review. I am unsure what you mean by 'unsafe'. The building is locked early evening and only other guests can access the building between 6pm and 8am. Room doors lock automatically. Nothing was reported during your stay. Our single rooms are...More

Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Room was very clean and had the space for two more people,close to university but car parking was a bit of a nightmare..but I think that is always going to be the case in the city .got key no worries,new bathroom which was spacious,close to...More

1  Thank nicole a
Response from Julie C, Manager at Avoca LodgeResponded 17 February 2017

Thank you reviewing your stay. This will help others when needing accommodation in Randwick. Avoca Lodge is close to the Prince of Wales Hospital precinct, the University of New South Wales, the Royal Randwick racecourse and beautiful Coogee Beach. A regular public transfer operates to...More

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

I'm not a very demanding person. I'm used to adapt to every place I visit, but for this time I found it fair to tell you how awful the place was before you take your personal decision. Firstly, you can find either cockrouches in the...More

Thank NMRey
Response from SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca LodgeResponded 4 February 2017

Thank you for your review and I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. I can only assume by your review there were other issues influencing your assessment. Please contact me personally should you wish to discus this further. I can be contacted on: +61...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$94 - US$136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$94 - US$136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (40)
Room & Suite (33)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Avoca Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"rooms at front have noise from traffic."
Read review
"Rooms in any other hotel are better"
Read review
"Never book any room!"
Read review
"rooms with attached bathroom"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing