We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avoca Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Avoca Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Avoca Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 113: English reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights very expensive for a single room with shower / toilet. No linen or towel change. Room was stuffy and smelly.Won't be going back anytime soon. Only good thing are the restaurants around the block.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We advertise a weekly service and perhaps you missed this information when you booked. We are always happy to provide extra towels and amenities as requested. Our rooms are always presented fresh and clean. If we were made aware on arrival that you felt your room was not to the standard you were expecting...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Clean and newly refurbed rooms. Stocked with tea & coffee and hairdryer. Very handy for the hospital, which is why we booked. Only issue was they didn't email us with a code to receive our keys as we had arranged to check in late, so had to wait on doorstep for a bit of a while, while contacting people off-site...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hollysalvage
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you were inconvenienced on arrival. Our reservation confirmations do ask that you contact the lodge if you are arriving after 4:30 so we can explain to you the key collection procedure when you arrive. Also there is a telephone number on the door to put you in direct contact with the duty...

Reviewed 14 November 2016

Accommodation was average and satisfactory. The location is ideal for visitors to Randwick or Coogee. I was disappointed with the internet service. Had connection problems and kept asking for details that were already provided. Did not use the service at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raj S
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. At Avoca Lodge we offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation. Avoca Lodge is well located for visitors to the Prince of Wales Hospital, the University of New South Wales, the Royal Randwick Racecourse and beautiful Coogee Beach. We are sorry to hear you had internet connection problems however we can only attend to this...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I was happy with my stay. The previous night I had stayed somewhere much more expensive and was less impressed. I will definitely stay at Allison Lodge the next time I'm in Sydney. I enjoy walking so it was a lovely walk to Bondi Beach and an easy bus trip back. Staff were friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leanne191
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at one of our Sydney Lodges properties. I am unsure if you stayed at Alison Lodge or Avoca Lodge. Anyway we are glad to hear it ticked all of the boxes for you and the staff were friendly. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 14 September 2016

Located ideally for access to Coogee, Randwick's entertainment areas and the UNSW/Randwick hospital precinct. Avoca lodge provides an economical option for those visiting this part of the eastern suburbs with good connectivity (public transport) to the city and Randwick racecourse.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcus C
Julie C, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We are glad Avoca Lodge ticked all of the boxes for you. Your description of accurate and helpful information will certainly assist others when looking for accommodation in Randwick. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2016

It is a very basic property, just good for overnight stay, and very convenient to shops, University of NSW and to the hospital. I think they should upgrade the carpets in the lodge and also check the Towels before put in the room. My room towels had lots of black stains.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ananda527
Julie C, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Avoca Lodge is advertised as budget accommodation and we have guests happily staying here daily, weekly and monthly. The lodge is very conveniently located close to the University of New South Wales, The Prince of Wales Hospital complex, 'The Spot' restaurant, bar and cinema complex and beautiful Coogee Beach. The...

Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Could not sleep all night noisy top floor max avoid ground floor. Feels like some one is playing drum on your head. Bads: dirty walls ... spitting marks smelly pillow, old furniture, dirty blanket, dirty carpet Goods: Clean toilet Awesom hot/ cold water Good lighting Good air-conditioning Ok bed Good room presentation Good price

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali K
sydney_lodges, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It sounds like your neighbors made excessive noise on the floor above and this would have been addressed should we have known. We are sorry it avoided you from sleeping at all. We pride ourselves on providing clean comfortable and affordable accommodation. What a pity you didn't bring to our...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Had the basic amenities except was missing a microwave which would have been helpful. Plenty of space to put one in. We booked two rooms opposite ends of the hallway from each other. One door slammed each time it closed and we were receiving complaints from the people next door. Rooms were clean and they leave plenty of fresh towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nooshie7
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Avoca Lodge. Our facilities at Avoca Lodge include a fully equipped guest kitchen on the ground floor including hot plates, a toaster and microwave oven. We apologise if you were not made aware of this. For security reasons the room doors close automatically. It seems the regulator on the...

Armidale, Australia
Reviewed 30 April 2016

Firstly, have to say reception staff were amazing, very friendly, very happy to accommodate as best as they were able to at the time. If you are looking for friendly staff and happy to accommodate you then this place is great. The people make this place. Room wise: double bed small, not suitable for tall people, bathroom clean and tidy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BBP181009
Management response:

We are so happy to hear you found the staff friendly, happy and very accommodating. Only our apartment has a queen size bed and all the other rooms have double, king single and single beds. We do advertise that the double rooms have double beds and not queen or king. We advertise a weekly service and are happy to exchange...

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Easy walking distance to cafes, restaurants, etc. Air conditioning and fan worked well. Clean, neat, room but coat hangers in the cupboards and a better towel would be good. Room was comfortable. Good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark h
Management response:

Thank you for your review. Avoca Lodge is a short walk to the restaurant/bar/cinema complex called 'The Spot', where there is a broad variety of restaurants and take aways. Glad to hear you found Avoca Lodge clean and tidy and that the air-con and fan made your stay more comfortable. We are sorry you weren't happy with the amount/quality of...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 14 in Randwick
129 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
High Cross Park Lodge
#6 of 10 in Randwick
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 10 in Randwick
260 reviews
The Blenheim Randwick
#8 of 10 in Randwick
176 reviews
Alison Lodge
#7 of 19 in Randwick
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Sydney like a local at Avoca Lodge, a boutique lodge close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport close by, it’s just 20 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is a 10 minute walk from the lodge.Avoca Lodge is situated just metres from the Prince of Wales Hospital and UNSW Kensington campus. The lodge also offers comforts such as wireless internet access, televisions and en-suites in every room. Spend the day at the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the local streets of eastern Sydney. Avoca Lodge is a great place to stay to experience the real Sydney on a budget. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avoca Lodge

Address: 235 Avoca St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Price Range: $107 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avoca Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Avoca Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avoca Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Avoca Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms with attached bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were on the bottom floor, closest to the front door, it's an absolute stunner of a room! I think the whole bottom floor is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles tegant2013, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was in room 101 that was very convenient & easy for me.”
 of 5 bubbles 224rajs, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Please ask a room in 1st Floor”
 of 5 bubbles ananda527, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“None- very depressing. Asked for better room but was none.”
 of 5 bubbles 362christinee, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5