We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avoca Lodge

131 reviews
Save
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (33)
Pool & Beach (1)
Overview
  • Excellent6%
  • Very good34%
  • Average29%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (131)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Avoca Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
8
43
36
13
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
8
43
36
13
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplace to staypublic transportclose to shopshandy locationbondi beachcar parkcafes and restaurantskeysspecialistcoles
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Easy walking distance to cafes, restaurants, etc. Air conditioning and fan worked well. Clean, neat, room but coat hangers in the cupboards and a better towel would be good. Room was comfortable. Good value for money.More

Thank mark h
Management response:Responded 1 May 2016

Thank you for your review. Avoca Lodge is a short walk to the restaurant/bar/cinema complex called 'The Spot', where there is a broad variety of restaurants and take aways. Glad to hear you found Avoca Lodge clean and tidy and that the air-con and fan...More

Reviewed 2 March 2016

Rooms are very dirty,bed spreads are dirty,fans not working,no plugs in sinks fit,rooms smell of sewage,no clean tea towels in kitchen, TV wasnt working for 5days, too much money for a place that needs money spent on it, will never return

Thank lowdown0
Management response:Responded 2 April 2016

Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves in supplying clean, comfortable and affordable budget accommodation. I can only assume there was a separate issue and please call me if you would like to discus this further.

Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

Work well for what we needed. Crisp sheets, clean rooms given the age of the building. Very dated. Handy spot for our wk long stay for appointments at children's hospital. No parking gotta be quick to get one either late at night or early in...More

Thank corrinab84
Management response:Responded 2 April 2016

Thank you for your accurate review, it will assist others who are needing accommodation located very close to the Prince of Wales Hospital complex. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation. It is quite an old building and improvements have commenced recently. There is also...More

Reviewed 27 February 2016

Broom cupboard room, window with view of a wall, odd smell in the room, TV didn't work, smoke alarm went off at 9pm for 10 minutes-all for $144/night. Rip off! Close to Randwick but very depressing. Never again.More

Thank Christine E
Management response:Responded 2 April 2016

Thank you for your review Christine. We are so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. You booked a single room in budget accommodation with a single bed and our rooms are quite compact although do feature a generous size desk, air-conditioning, ensuite bathroom,...More

Reviewed 24 February 2016

Spacious clean room with air conditioning and all conveniences supplied There is a separate kitchen so you can prepare a meal if not dining out at one of the many restaurant close by. We will certainly stay again when next in Sydney Cheers from Meg...More

Thank robmegv
Response from sydney_lodges, Manager at Avoca LodgeResponded 11 March 2016

Thank you for your review Meg & Rob. It will be most helpful for other guests looking for accommodation in Randwick close to the University of New South Wales, the Prince of Wales Hospital complex, 'The Spot' restaurant/cinema/bar complex and Coogee Beach. We are glad...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
15678925
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Microwave
Details
Price range
US$109 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$109 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (33)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Avoca Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"rooms at front have noise from traffic."
Read review
"Rooms in any other hotel are better"
Read review
"Never book any room!"
Read review
"rooms with attached bathroom"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing