We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Caloundra Backpackers

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Caloundra Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Caloundra Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 54: English reviews
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Great location. Clean rooms. Wonderful Staff. MEt some firends for life at this little jewel located nera everything. I could have stayed longer as i was able to access The Australia Zoo and most great beaches. THe days were good. and the nights quiet and friendly. A great place to stay, Juanna was the manager. She was very helpful with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
Reviewed 21 March 2015 via mobile

We didn't really know what to do when we arrived at the Sunshine Coast however the manager at the Backpackers was great and shared lots of great recommendations, printed maps and generally went above and beyond. Thanks James!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alana K
Reviewed 19 March 2015 via mobile

The best place to stay in Caloundra. I will be telling people about it. The place was so clean and staff were just so happy to help you out, anyway possible. This made my time to leave hard, but i will be back one day. This place was EXCELLENT!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
Reviewed 24 January 2015 via mobile

AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID!!! foul smelling, rags as linen, dirty, noisy, customer service Ermmmm NONE AT ALL, room hot, humid and dingy... I wouldn't let a stray dog stay here. Beyond appauling. The whole establishment needs to be leveled and have someone with experience to run it professionally.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sacredgypsy
Reviewed 20 January 2015

Would definitely recommend to anyone, great location, very friendly staff, quiet so you actually sleep at night and cleaning keeped up to a high standard and friendly people and love the free BBQ on Wednesdays great job guys big thumbs up :)

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hslew T
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2014

Stuffed up our room allocations, room had no linen when we arrived at 5pm, the only cooling device in the whole room was a wall mounted desk fan (that didn't work) and we were kept awake until after 2pm - despite the rules (and I use that term very loosely) stating no noise after 10pm. Management didn't care or even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
Caloundra_Backpacker, Manager at Caloundra Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Catherine I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, and on behalf of Caloundra City Backpackers, I apologize. From looking at your account, I can see that you booked a Private Twin Room for 2 persons, and this is the room that we provided for you. All rooms are also provided with clean linen...

Reviewed 7 October 2014 via mobile

I simply can't understand some of the negative reviews below - we stayed 5 nights for the Caloundra Music Festival & found this place perfect for our needs. Our double room was exactly what you would expect backpacker accomodation, & was clean and well presented. What made our stay really enjoyable were the evenings spent with other guests sharing a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
Caloundra_Backpacker, Manager at Caloundra Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Steve, Thankyou for your wonderful comments. I am so glad you both enjoyed your stay here. Hopefully we can all catch up for next years Music Festival. O and we can't forget Lester.

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 3 October 2014 via mobile

I had such a great sleep here which was also helped by wearing earplugs like a seasoned traveller does. The beds were comfy but quite cramped. I kept hitting my head on the top bunk as they are far too low for adults. There are only 2 power points behind a bunk in the 4 bed dorm. Power board is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ivana-banana
Caloundra_Backpacker, Manager at Caloundra Backpackers, responded to this review

Thankyou for the positive feedback. We will certainly look into easier ways to access power points in the future. Please come back anytime. Kylie

Reviewed 3 October 2014

We stayed during the caloundra festival. The staff were friendly, the pets were cute and our twin room was clean. I read an earlier review saying the rooms don't lock from the inside, but discovered there was just a trick to it so all was well. We enjoyed a relaxing afternoon with cider out in the beer garden area. Nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank megsy23
Caloundra_Backpacker, Manager at Caloundra Backpackers, responded to this review

Thankyou for your wonderful review. We really enjoyed meeting you both and would love to have you back anytime. Kylie

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 13 August 2014

After traveling around in Australia I have stayed at different hostels and I must say Caloundra backpackers was one of the best! The staff was so friendly and helpful. The room was clean and it was so nice having a private room. We stayed for two days during easter and had a great time. The sunday market was really good-...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rikke G

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
13.3 km away
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
#21 of 30 in Mooloolaba
158 reviews
0.3 km away
Anchorage Motor Inn
Anchorage Motor Inn
#16 of 16 in Caloundra
31 reviews
0.7 km away
Golden Beach Motor Inn
Golden Beach Motor Inn
#26 of 51 in Caloundra
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#7 of 16 in Caloundra
99 reviews
1.9 km away
Moffat Beach Motel
Moffat Beach Motel
#11 of 16 in Caloundra
55 reviews
0.0 km away
Caloundra Suncourt Motel
Caloundra Suncourt Motel
#4 of 4 in Caloundra
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Caloundra Backpackers

Address: 84 Omrah Ave | Sunshine Coast, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Price Range: $26 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Caloundra Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caloundra Backpackers Sunshine Coast, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Caloundra Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor is usually quieter at night”
DMon13, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“make reservations. I was lucky to get a room. Great deal”
Y4922ESricks, 30 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Go somewhere else!”
glindley49, 13 Feb 2014 | Read review
“don't.”
275laurenr, 4 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Take a look before booking if possible, some rooms at the rear won't be affected by the other guests sitting outside the front late at night. If you can afford the room with ensuites, go for it.”
Bayliss728, 21 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Hostelworld.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates