We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bicheno Backpackers

Booking.comUS$43*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$49*
US$43*
Great Deal
US$47*
US$47*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Bicheno Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 127: English reviews
Start your review of Bicheno Backpackers
 Click to rate
Cesano Boscone, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Friendly staff, clean common area, washroom and shower are not perfect but acceptable. My husband and I got lucky to have a room with a small balcony and a view and was away from the youngsters in the other block. The location was pretty good too. Cafes are in walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KeloB
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

nice place! nice people! we stayed like home~ everything is good~ very tidy & clean! kitchen toilets common room all very clean~ great and friendly staff with good recommendations. budget price with great value~

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hkchertsang
Tampere, Finland
Reviewed 1 April 2017

I spent one night in a 4-person female dorm late March. The hostel was really cozy and had a nice personal touch to the decoration, and it reminded me more of a cottage than a normal hostel. The hostel was divided into two buildings, and the one I was staying in had a big common area, including a kitchen, surrounded...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Veera K
New Zealand
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

I had such a lovely stay here. Found everything to be very clean and staff helpful and friendly. I wish I could have stayed longer to be honest. That view !!!! Bicheno is so lovely if you want a quiet place to base yourself. I will definitely return!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IrishGinger86
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Hi when I traveled there with a group of close friends and booked out numerous rooms for a few days I wouldn't of picked a better place to stay for the duration of our stay.. Not only is Bicheno the pick of the east Coast of Tasmania but it's central to all the wonderful places around it.. If you looking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Winxs80
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

I had bed bugs and saw them in two different rooms .. told the owner , she didn't care about it ! Run down place , if you don't have to stay here, don't do it . It was a nightmare . Also the Atmosphere wasn't good , everyone just stayed one night got up at 5:30 , because the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hallohallo7890
mongosemporium, General Manager at Bicheno Backpackers, responded to this review

It is a very rare occurrence to get a bed bug complaint as our hostel is regulary and professionally treated for them. We did take your complaint seriously & got our pest controller over immediately to check the situation which was all clear. I find it interesting that you saw them in two rooms when in fact they are extremely...

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Obviously the worst place i stayed in my whole life. That old lady was the most unfriendly I've met in the hospitality industry. She yelled at us and cut off the water because it was 10:03 and the check out was at 10:00. I would not recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roald f
mongosemporium, Owner at Bicheno Backpackers, responded to this review

Your group was reminded at 9.55am that check out is 10am to which you seemed to be happy with although it was obvious you would not be out by then. After your group packed up it appeared you were leaving and then you decided to take a shower well after 10am (not 10.03am). Check out times are imposed for a...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Booked 4 beds in an 8 bed dorm for two nights and it was exactly what we needed! The common room was really nice and had really great facilities. The bathrooms were clean and the showers were the best we'd had on our trip! The backpackers is in a great spot, walking distance to everything and the cute residence dog...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kaitlyn B
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We been arranged to stay at homestay style backpacker. Only 2 of us occupy the whole unit with 4 rooms. Only 2 washroom is available, if more people stay at the unit, you need arrange the time to use washroom. The room is clean and well maintained. Definitely recommend it when visit Bicheno.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JiaLily
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 7 January 2017

This hostel was my favorite when we were traveling through Tasmania. Our room was clean and spacious, it had a private balcony with excellent view of the beach, and the kitchen and bathroom were clean. The hostel staff was friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Meredith C

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bicheno hotels
0.4 km away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
365 reviews
2.4 km away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
336 reviews
0.3 km away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#3 of 12 in Bicheno
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
0.3 km away
Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park
0.9 km away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Bicheno Backpackers

Address: 11 Morrison St | PO Box 177, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Price Range: $63 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bicheno Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bicheno Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bicheno Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms away from the common areas would be quieter I would think.”
alwaysunderway, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one that doesn't smell like penguin.”
Y5459QUmaryt, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The 2 bed accommodation is newer than the dormitory.”
Helenovitch, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Do your shopping early ... since it is a small town all the shops close early”
amyF7341QF, 9 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Book ahead before you arrive Bicheno and write to them if you have any special requests.”
ch_smartie, 28 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$43* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$47
TravelocityUS$47
PricelineUS$49
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates