We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rose City Motor Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rose City Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 92: English reviews
Start your review of Rose City Motor Inn
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This motel is situated reasonably close to shops and the Art Gallery Cost about average Rooms clean and tidy Amenities average Pool not inviting BBQ average Road noise minimal If you go with a group very little outdoor furniture Outside appearance of rooms unappealing but inside very pleasant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norm B
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Norm. Glad you enjoyed your stay. As you pointed out the motel is an older style built in the 1960 but all rooms have been fully renovated to the highest standards. Our prices are $20 to $40 cheaper than other motels in Benalla and we are proud to be able to offer this great value. We have 2 acres...

Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Room is clean it was the cheapest in town at $129 good car parking it has a pool and spa. The room has a fridge and coffee and tea in the room. Close to town bathroom was a bit small water pressure was great definitely happy with my stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcus D
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Marcus. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our premium queen rooms are $114 and cheaper rooms start at $89. Twin rooms are slightly dearer but we are proud to be able to offer great value for money being part of the 'Budget' group of motels. All our rooms have now been renovated and we have lovely gardens. Thank...

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

This place was certainly comfortable enough for an overnight, and we paid the extra $ for a renovated premium queen room but somehow I struggled to get over the impression that I was on set of a 1950's horror movie. There were a couple of blokes sitting outside their room smoking and sharing a few beers and frankly I just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Wendy. I am so sorry that you did not feel safe. All our guests are asked to provide I.D and we have 24 hour security monitoring. We provide cutlery and crockery for coffee, tea and toast and any extras are provided on request. All our rooms are renovated to the highest standard and in keeping with the 1960 charm...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 February 2017

The Rose City Motor Inn is on a roundabout on the main road into Benalla, slightly out of the centre of town. It is an older-style (1960s?) motel structure, built on one level around the parking areas. Because of the typical "older Australian motel" construction, there is not an awful lot of soundproofing between rooms. Despite being near the road,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bluey99
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our property has now been fully renovated and we offer a range of rooms to suit your budget from single economy rooms from $89 to our premium queen rooms from $114. A few rooms at the front of the motel are $10 cheaper but our premium rooms at the back now...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Older looking motel, clean rooms, fridge, microwave, toaster, small pool, BBQ and grassed areas for the kids. Good value continental breakfast at $6.50 Quit location on the out skirts of the city, around 2k to shops. Good value for weekend or over night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Have stayed here a couple of times as a stopover on our way to Melbourne. Rose City looks a little old fashioned at first glance, but on a closer look you will find it has been freshly painted and maintained with love. We were in a queen room, which had a renovated bathroom and is sufficiently equipped with kitchenette, ironing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dionne C
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Dionne. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always very uplifting to see a positive review and are glad you enjoyed your stay. Rose City Motor Inn was the first motel in Benalla and has recently had a full renovation to the whole property but still keeping the charm and character of the 1960's....

Reviewed 30 November 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights with my mum and my sister. We found the Rose City motor inn to be very clean and well cared for. The rooms were fantastic and very clean. We went out for a few hours and when we got back the room was all made up again. I would recommend this beautiful place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Susan. It was such a pleasure having you stay with us. Thank you for your kind review and hopefully we will see you again. Regards. Angela and Peter

melbourne
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Best value for a long time! Booked a room at the last minute, on my travels north from Melbourne, and called ahead to give my ETA. Friendly, thoughtful staff, who even switched the light on for me, as I was arriving after dark. I had a good night's sleep before I was on my way again early in the morning....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindaaa60
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Linda. Thank you for the great review. It was a pleasure having you stay. Regards. Angela and Peter

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We stayed two nights in a renovated Premium room at the back of the motel. The exterior of the motel appears dated, however our room had been renovated with modern, tasteful decor and furnishings. Our room was very quiet at night. The room was spacious and well equipped. The shower and toilet were in a seperate room to the vanity...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey063
RoseCity M, Owner at Rose City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Tracey. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As part of the 'Budget Motel Group' we are proud to offer the best value motel accommodation in Benalla. All our rooms are now fully renovated and we offer some fantastic tariffs to suit mot budgets. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again...

Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I have driven past this motel for a number of years and thought it to be yet another aged 1960's style motel. Having just stayed there I can say looks can be deceiving. I stayed in a premium room at the back of the property and was pleasantly surprised. It had been refurbished with some flair and was quite pleasant....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AussieHolidays

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalla
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn Benalla
Comfort Inn Benalla
#5 of 6 in Benalla
46 reviews
1.0 km away
Avondel Motor Inn
Avondel Motor Inn
#3 of 6 in Benalla
71 reviews
38.6 km away
Wangaratta Motor Inn
Wangaratta Motor Inn
#9 of 10 in Wangaratta
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.8 km away
Hermitage Motor Inn
Hermitage Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Wangaratta
76 reviews
3.2 km away
Glider City Motel
Glider City Motel
#1 of 6 in Benalla
154 reviews
4.3 km away
Gateway Lifestyle Benalla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Four star rooms at a 3 star price. All rooms are now fully renovated with a selection of room types to suit your budget. Basic 3 star single economy rooms from $89 to premium queen rooms for only a few $ more. We have extensive parking for trailers and trucks, we are located at the first roundabout as you come off the Hume Hwy from Melbourne (A300 exit). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rose City Motor Inn

Address: 1 Faithfull Street, Benalla, Victoria 3672, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Benalla
Price Range: $96 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rose City Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Rose City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rose City Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We haa a Premium Queen room at the back of the motel”
 of 5 bubbles Tracey063, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The more expensive rooms are at the back of the property and suffer less traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles AussieHolidays, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms in very quiet "country" location but close to town centre.”
 of 5 bubbles GraemeS194, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Quiet. No other noise, and we had the room closest to the intersection/roundabout.”
 of 5 bubbles Peregrinesmith, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 10 and up are better”
 of 5 bubbles leor369, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5