We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Castle Villa by the Sea

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Castle Villa by the Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Castle Villa by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 81: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We stayed in 2 bedroom self contained 'townhouse for 2 nights' Good - location - very close to the Cowes beach and high street. Bad - we did not get what we paid for. Property advertised as a townhouse but actually an apartment, with no wifi at all (our booking confirmation indicated that we would have free wifi). Most of...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank saadaustralia
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

This person booked through an agent and booked for 1 couple and arrived as a family group. The property has two bedrooms but one is closed off if only 1 bedroom is booked - hence the disclosure to us by phone after they booked in, to come there and open other bedroom. Then some story was concocted as to why...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Stayed here recently for two nights. Really nice place close to the beach and the City centre. The room was very spacious but the balcony even bigger! Great to relax with a glas of wine. Boutique accommodation as it should be. Unfortunately no Internet available in the room and no Food Service.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndreMueller87
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

thank you for choosing Castle Villa - the internet always wavers around on Phillip Island and we had such a massive amount of visitors on the Island in January - a record apparently. However you are always able to access it here and if any problem go out of bedroom to the lounge areas or your private outside balcony or...

Seaford, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Impressed from the moment we arrived. Friendly greeting, beautiful gardens, and even more stunning hotel/apartment. Attention to detail was just amazing. Everything we needed, was provided. Only one downfall was that we couldn't stay long enough. We will certainly be staying there again, hopefully very soon. Natalie & Shane

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

hello Natalie and Shane - thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and sweet review - we dont do too bad a job do we? Words such as yours give us a real lift and the inspiration to keep on keeping on. We have the champagne on ice for your next visit!

Toronto
Reviewed 16 January 2016

This "villa" is in a great location. The large room, was comfortable but in need of an update! The bed was not comfortable and there was no internet available in the room! I think at this price there should be more to offer. It felt like we were staying in a B & B but without breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RaquelToronto
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

Yes our villa is in a great location. Many thanks for your comments

Mt Martha, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights at The Castle Villa by the Sea and found the Yakatoon room limited in space, but with delightful decor and a comfortable bed. Artwork in all areas by the owner was wonderful and varied. The communal upstairs lounge area works well and light food preparation possible. Coffee, tea and biscuits are provided and good supply of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue S
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

thank you Sue S for staying here for a 2 day holiday in one of our deluxe bedrooms with private balcony. We do like to be discreet and once guests are welcomed on arrival there is very little contact unless guests need help or advice. Regarding keys on departure, we place a silver platter for keys when guests are leaving...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We were given our holiday as a Christmas gift as the original guests were unable to attend. We stayed in the Broadwater suite. We were running late to arrive but jenni and Harley were fantastic about it. They were more than happy for us to arrive a few hours after check in time, and were very polite and hospitable when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sporte2016
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

thank you sportiv2016 and glad you had an enjoyable time, but we cannot work out what happened - we have put a spirit level on the floor and the bed - all is fine. May we suggest though that if in future you have an issue at the time of staying, please let us know before it becomes an issue...

Newcastle Upon Tyne
Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

You cannot review this place with normal B&B's. The reason for this is that it feels like someone's house and the owners make you feel you are extremely welcome. The room far exceeded my expectations with a good sized bedroom and lounge area with a spa big enough for 2. The room was comfortable after our day out in phillip...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dazjob
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest here dazjob and your positive comments. Yes, it has reverted back to our home through such clever design by Harley that guests cannot work out where we live! Which is great as who wants to be running into us once you have checked in! We are a business that started big and went small....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

The owners Jenny @ Neville make u feel very welcomed and do their upmost to make ur stay there enjoyable. Lovley surroundings close to beach, shops ect.. Even though its close to everything you have the peaceful and quite surroundings which makes the stay even better. We took our 9 yr old daughter with us and their friendliness was awesome!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lina M
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

thank you so much it was a great pleasure to have your lovely family as our seekers of comfort - your daughter has beautiful manners...such a credit to you both

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

Beautiful room beautiful service the owners were lovely made us feel good about the place. It was a great distance to walk to the beach and shops. Will definitely come back again. Our room was beautifully set out when we arrived had a beautiful outdoor seating area good little kitchen and really comfortable bed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris1760
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you Chris - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay Harley and Jenni

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

Nice place for a weekend. Well appointed rooms and great place to relax. Seats about so you can sit outside and lounge is available for guests. Books and DVDs available. Also run an honesty system for an evening drink, although we did not partake. Off street parking and easy walk to beachfront and cafes. Warm welcome and local advice provided....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank drtgfnz
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

Hi Tanya - thanks for your nice review - Sorry about not introducing ourselves - it's Jenni and Harley

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.1 km away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 10 in Cowes
208 reviews
0.2 km away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 10 in Cowes
156 reviews
2.7 km away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
0.2 km away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#3 of 10 in Cowes
192 reviews
3.3 km away
The Island Spa - Wellness Retreat & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Castle Luxury Villa offers you your own island oasis and perfect carefree holiday accommodation, footsteps from the beach-front and hidden away in a magical garden ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Castle Villa by the Sea

Address: 7-9 Steele St | Phillip Island, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Price Range: $171 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Castle Villa by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Castle Villa by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Cowes
The Castle Villa By The Sea Phillip Island/Cowes, Australia
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cowes
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cowes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Castle Villa by the Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Read the fine print when you go for this property”
 of 5 bubbles saadaustralia, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“My partner and I stayed in the suite which was very nice and romantic.”
 of 5 bubbles 841gabbyb, 9 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a suite that looks over the beautiful garden”
 of 5 bubbles Indigo_Moon334, 28 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Look at their website first to view all the rooms to select one to suit your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles elisabethf_13, 19 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Make sure the bed is to your liking...”
 of 5 bubbles HK_John, 9 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay