We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Continental Hotel Phillip Island

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Continental Hotel Phillip Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 217: English reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Understandably this is a 3 star hotel, but at a price of $250 a night over long weekend, I definitely expected more!! Room stank like mould and sewage, part of the architraves and skirting in the bathroom had rotted right through. Television didn't work. Lamps beside beds had exposed wires. Wouldn't dare use the dirty, grimy spa bath. The grounds...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Andrea M
theconti59, Manager at The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review however I find this to be an extremely negative review with no relevance or factual content at all.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed at the Continental last week for two nights and did not expect too much after recent reviews. On the plus side the room was clean, the bathroom was clean and may have been recently upgraded. Air conditioner worked after a struggle! The negative was that the walls were scruffy in parts and could do with a simple wash down....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean1247
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was obviously once a very good hotel but time has left it well behind. It can be restored to presumably former glories but it will take an awful lot of Aussie Dollars to bring The Continental up to the standard expected by the modern traveller. This is a very tired establishment but what makes it so very disappointing is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheDoctor1941
theconti59, Manager at The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. The hotel itself was officially opened in 1976, we are currently undergoing renovations throughout the hotel, but as this is a destination in high demand particularly for accommodation and we are still in high season - we are limited in the amount of work we can undertake at any one time without causing disruption to Hotel...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had booked a oceanview standard room for one night. Despite previously reading poor reviews, I still chose to book this hotel with an open mind. Our oceanview room had perhaps 20% view of the ocean and 80% view of a large bushy tree. I couldnt bathe my daughter due to the mould around the bath. The whole place feels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KYCU
theconti59, Manager at The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback, I am sorry to hear of your disappointment in staying with us. Regarding you complaint email we are yet to receive this.

Southern Cross Victoria
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Where do I start! This was the worst place I have ever stayed at. We paid $210 a night for a room that was just plain terrible. The apartment consisted of a lounge room that contained a sofa bed, you couldn't sit on it because it was to uncomfortable. T o watch the big old TV (digital top box on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny D
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over New Years with a couple of friends after being told we were to young to stay in the seahorse motel! Best decision ever made! Perfect location although rooms where probably not good value for money they were still okay for the night. Took us 2 min to walk to the main shops and beach not even. Got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurenthompson95
theconti59, Manager at The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and strongly believe that this site often misused by reviewers to attempt to almost defame or destroy reputations of businesses Australia wide. We hope you will stay with us again.

Foster, Australia
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Beautiful location, close to the beach. It's quiet...until the bar comes to life. The receptionist was nice enough to shift us to a quieter room away from the bar (I was travelling with family), though I did visit the place later at night when the silence became too boring. It isn't awfully clean, and there's no wifi in room (at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FarazTalat
theconti59, Manager at The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 December 2013

we booked here overnight for my birthday, as we pulled up it looked very old and dated but we thought it may be ok inside. Having seen previous reviews we asked for a room far away from the bar area as its very noisy, we were the furthest away so we couldnt hear any noise from the bar thankfully! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauren j
Warragul, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I bought a voucher after having a quick look at the company website and forgetting to check trip advisor, it was to be a 2 night escape in a spa room, the spa looked bad and we didn't dare use it, the place was noisy with a fight taking place in the street around midnight, the continental breakfast was poor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John W
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were given a two night voucher deal by a friend. The hotel in in an ideal position however the room was old and delapedated! It smelt of mould, ripped curtains and drapes, 3 TV channels as there is no digital TV or DVD player. The couch was fadded and although there was a jug and tea making facilities there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paulinevth

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.3 km away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 10 in Cowes
170 reviews
0.3 km away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
0.2 km away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 10 in Cowes
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
2.8 km away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
0.4 km away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#1 of 10 in Cowes
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Continental Hotel Phillip Island

Address: 5 The Esplanade | PO Box 797, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Price Range: $124 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Continental Hotel Phillip Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Continental Hotel Phillip Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Cowes
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island Cowes, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Continental Hotel Phillip Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor about the middle.”
 of 5 bubbles WendyH28-1, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with views, we had 310.”
 of 5 bubbles S6939ZPcolinm, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get an ocean front view.”
 of 5 bubbles Cocopops101, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Budget accommodation - Great location”
 of 5 bubbles Iuvphillipisland, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“High floors in the west wing are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles A8981ITmichaelp, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5