We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Central Motel

0.6 km from Port Fairy centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
56 Sackville St, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 182: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Motel is an old motel but the rooms are bright, clean, comfortable and a good size. For the price I would recommend it and of course would stay there again. Should also mention it is quiet and you have a choice of ground or first floor rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neville S
Centralmotel, Manager at Central Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Neville for your review and we would love to see you back here again. Our motel is in the perfect spot to enjoy all the delights of this lovely little town. We are set back off the main street in a gorgeous garden setting so you can be assured of a quiet and peaceful stay. Hope to see...

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Did I say that the owners and staff are friendly?! In a town known for tourism where during holiday season the local population is outnumbered by tourists, it would be very easy for businesses to take a downbeat matter of fact attitude to the level of trade; not so at the Central Motel! Peter and his staff are ready to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bruceblondamps
Centralmotel, Owner at Central Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your favourable review Bruce. We take a great deal of pride in running our motel and of course our number one priority is ensuring our guests have the best stay possible. To do this you need a great team and I am very privileged to have the best - they are hard-working, extremely diligent and complete their...

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Port Fairy is a quaint , fishing village with old buildings, restored houses and is very different to the usual holiday spot. The hotel is very well placed on the Main Street but is set back so is quiet. It has been refurbished was kept very clean and is fine for a short stay. For the little town it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
Centralmotel, Owner at Central Motel, responded to this review

Hi Bruce C, Thank you for your review. We would love to see you back here again.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Checked out tripadvisor for price on line $160.00 when I rang was told $230.00, as it was the last room available in town, as we were tired having driven from Melbourne we accepted the price reluctantly. on arrival and after we had paid for the room they handed the keys over and said that there was no airconditioning in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davidjunem
Centralmotel, Front Office Manager at Central Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review David and sorry if you weren't happy with your stay. The first week of Jan is one of our busiest times so prices are at peak rates and I'm not sure why there weren't enough car spaces as we have never had that problem before.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We stayed in the Central this week and it was excellent value. The rooms were very large and had everything we needed. Our room had a small table and chairs to eat our BBQ dinner. The owners have created a beaitiful outdoor area with a pretty garden and provide a BBQ which we found useful for cooking. The lady working...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendy22102
Centralmotel, Front Office Manager at Central Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Wendy for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Yes our BBQ has been very popular this summer - lovely warm nights to enjoy our garden area. We aim to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay and endeavour to provide them with everything they require. We understand when you are travelling you...

mepunga
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We realized we would be paying top dollar for this time of year, but was very disappointed to pay $265 for one night, that was a 38° day and very hot night and have no air con, no fans, was a very uncomfortable night. And having 10 hot hods starting up and reving and warming their engines at 8am on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank O8721UDgregb
Centralmotel, Front Office Manager at Central Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and sorry if you were uncomfortable - it was an extreme day for sure. Usually on hot days here in Port Fairy we have a sea breeze blow in during the afternoon which cools everything down. We have extremely good insulation here and there are table or pedestal fans in each room. January is our...

Barooga, Australia
Reviewed 25 December 2016

We didnt expect much and we didnt get much. The central location was great , could park the car and walk to shops and restaurants, didnt need the car except to sight see.The room was to small, ok for overnight stay but wouldnt stay the 4 nights like we did. You will need the pedestal fan to create some air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cliffnmax
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We stayed here for one night. great location. reasonably priced. Spotless tidy clean rooms. Quiet location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nice meal at Victoria Hotel.Very short walk from motel. Supermarket and shops in same street as motel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 70plusaussies
Centralmotel, Front Office Manager at Central Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and yes we are in the perfect location for our guests to enjoy our delightful town. Just a short stroll around the corner and you will find yourself in the main street ready to explore all Port Fairy's wonderful shops, cafes, restaurants and galleries. Being in the main street doesn't mean noise though, our motel...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Stayed here for just one night , after a long drive along the Ocean Road. Was very quiet even though it was very centrally located . Had everything we needed , with added filtered water in the fridge and chocolate on offer . Staff was helpful and informative . Would certainly recommend staying here . My only gripe was we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewdillonj
Centralmotel, Front Office Manager at Central Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Andrew for your feedback. Yes, as our name suggests we are extremely central - upon arrival you won't really need your car again as everything is within close proximity. Port Fairy is a popular destination which dictates the rates charged by all accommodation providers. Do you want better rates? Then don't forget to book direct with us (either...

ACT, Australia
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Service: Breakfast was not provided even though we put the order form on the counter while the receptionist was dealing with other staff. When queried in the morning why breakfast was not delivered, the receptionist said vaguely “ oh yeah, I saw it there …” and never finished the sentence. She obviously didn’t think to do anything with it! She...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vivienne_G
Centralmotel, Front Office Manager at Central Motel, responded to this review

Hi Vivienne, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you didn't receive your breakfast order. It was an honest mistake by our staff member and certainly not intentional. Please accept our sincere apologies.

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Fairy hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
374 reviews
0.3 km away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
0.3 km away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
1.3 km away
Port Fairy Motor Inn
Port Fairy Motor Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Fairy
22 reviews
0.4 km away
Drift House
Drift House
#3 of 11 in Port Fairy
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Central Motel is located right in the heart of beautiful Port Fairy. You will find us tucked away in a quiet cul de sac just off the main street. Our charming bluestone building is set amongst a delightful garden setting. We offer affordable, clean and comfortable 3.5 star accommodation. We take great pride in offering excellent value for money with our friendly 'family' style hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Central Motel

Address: 56 Sackville St, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Price Range: $148 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Central Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Motel Port Fairy, Australia - Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Central Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“downstairs rooms are only 3 or 4 steps to the car spaces”
 of 5 bubbles bruceblondamps, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay here if necessary Drive to Portland, lot better value and honesty”
 of 5 bubbles davidjunem, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“top floor might get more air than the bottom but we didnt notice any benefit”
 of 5 bubbles cliffnmax, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Couldn't pick better location and value for money”
 of 5 bubbles wendymB3688YW, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the heart of Port Fairy.”
 of 5 bubbles mdsenewton, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5