We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Art Series - The Cullen

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Art Series - The Cullen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,030 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Art Series - The Cullen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,017: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2015

We stayed in a Deluxe Studio Suite (upgraded from the standard Studio Suite for AUD15 extra). We appreciated the extra space even though we didn't really use the kitchenette. I was quite disappointed that the charge for parking a car in the hotel garage was AUD25 per day. The full charge for non-hotel guests was AUD30 per day, so there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vsylee
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear "vsylee", Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Cullen]. I am delighted you ejoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback we do appreciate hearing your experience here at [The Cullen]. I have noted your comments and will be sure to pass them on to the...

Sydney
Reviewed 9 January 2015 via mobile

Very disappointed in the Cullen, Totally not suitable for families! Curtains between bedrooms no doors! Glass bathrooms offering little privacy, does not leave much for imagination when people on toilet! Reception staff not overly friendly or helpful!!will stick to city hotels in future! Too try hard to be funky!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren G
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear Darren, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Cullen]. I am dissapointed to read that our team here were not of assistance to you. I am upset that you found the team not to be friendly. At [The Cullen] we do appreciate all feedback and your comments...

Melbourne
Reviewed 9 January 2015 via mobile

The Cullen is a great hotel. Comfortable and well equipped rooms with fantastic and quirky art by a great Australian artist. The hotel is situated in the heart of Prarhan right across the road from the market and just around the corner from Chapel Street. Downstairs is a great restaurant and you also have the wonderful Hutong Dumpling Restaurant right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneRod1960
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

"MelbourneRod1960" Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Cullen]. "Perfect in every way" what wonderful feedback. I am delighted to hear you had a fantastic time and you love the art of the late Adam Cullen. We look forward to welcoming you back! Kindest Regards, Rowena

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 January 2015

Love this edgy, artsy hotel in Prahran and a 5 mins walk away from Prahran station. Accessible enough for Prahran area, Chapel Street, High Street with cafes (with the most awesome coffees) littered every 100 metres range. Right in front is the Prahran Market, clubs and pubs with very 'happy hours' prices. Friendly hotel staff and a very memorable stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank staysg
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear 'staysg' The right amount of 'edginess' is a description of [The Cullen] we absolutely adore! You are spot on, we are fortunate to be surround by the shopping precinct of Chapel Street and all of the hidden gems of Prahran. Thank you for your kind words regarding the team, I will be sure to pass on your feedback. We...

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 31 December 2014

Stayed here last night for NYE as we did last year when we watched the fireworks from their obeservation/function deck on their roof. Pretty disappointed with their attitude and response this year. No access to the roof this year, even though I enquired with the receptionist as we booked in and was informed that they would confirm with me if...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Barny R
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear Barny, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Cullen]. I am dissapointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I do apologise it is dissapointing to hear that the team let you down and did not respond to your question upon...

Brisbane
Reviewed 28 December 2014

The location was fantastic, right in the heart of it all. Great Restaurant / Café downstairs. Rooms were superb. We had a Deluxe Twin Room with our 16yr old son, which was great, as we had two TV's so he could watch sport, whilst we watched our shows. There is a supermarket meters away. But we chose to eat in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SimBrisbane
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear SimBrisbane, "Fantastic Location and Gorgeous Hotel" what a wonderful description of your recent stay with us here at [The Cullen]. Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We really love receiving all guest feedback especially those that provide great insight into their stay. It sounds like you had a wonderful time with us. We...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 December 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Cullen Hotel for 5 nights over Christmas 2014.We found the amenities great. We cooked breakfast which saved us money which we put towards outings .The walls were sound- proof .We could either use the air conditioning or open a window allow fresh air in. As I am disabled ..had a stroke in 2001...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 44sandy
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear Sandy, I really enjoyed reading your review. You have provided great insight regarding your recent stay here at [The Cullen]. I will be sure to pass on your kind words regarding The Cullen Crew and the Gramercy male head waiter. It sounds like you had a wonderful time whilst staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back....

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 21 December 2014 via mobile

We have a two years old staying with us and the bathroom floor is too slippery. My toddler fell down twice when bathing. The second day after room made up, I found the carpet was not very clean and I can still see some bread from last night. There was no refill of tea bags but I do like the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YuyuCai
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear YuyuCai, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Cullen]. I appreciate your feedback and will be sure to take on board your comments. I do apolgoise in regards to the housekeeping during your stay, this is not acceptable and I will be speaking with our housekeeping executive. If...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 December 2014

We booked The Cullen for a one night stay after checking out a night early from a nearby hotel following a sleepless night listening to trams and street noise through paper thin walls and windows. And what a stroke of genius booking The Cullen was! We requested a quiet triple room NOT facing busy Commercial Rd and after checking out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear Sue, Wow what a fantastic review to read! I am delighted that the team here at [The Cullen] were able to asssit in making your stay with us memorable. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and were able to enjoy all that [The Cullen] has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderfully...

Reviewed 13 December 2014

Stayed 4 nights in this snazzy and arty hotel for a business trip and it was near-perfect - the interior design of the entire hotel was breathtaking, staff were really friendly and the room service was lovely (grilled salmon with pesto and vegies). We stayed on the second floor and there was no noise from the side-street below. The little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie S
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear Connie, Thank you for your kind words regarding the team here at [The Cullen]. We really do appreciate receiving guest feedback. It sounds like you had a wonderful time whilst staying with us. We are fortunate to be located in a fantastic area close to transport and the shopping precinct of Chapel Street. We look forward to welcoming you...

430 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (270)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (121)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Growler Penthouse (42)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#26 of 158 in Melbourne
1,586 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 158 in Melbourne
1,969 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
5,158 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Price Range: $135 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Art Series - The Cullen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Art Series - The Cullen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I haven't had a bad room but I loved having a kitchenette in the room. They're quiet and no noisy neighbours. ”
 of 5 bubbles JACKBrighton, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Every room we have stayed in has been fine.”
 of 5 bubbles KayH137, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Amazing artwork!”
 of 5 bubbles QueenDragon, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the south side of the building....more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Fletch101, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I like a higher room to get away from the street noise - essential for me when in Melbourne, as I find the trams loud.”
 of 5 bubbles lukehP678ZT, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5