We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Art Series - The Cullen

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Art Series - The Cullen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,017 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Art Series - The Cullen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,005: English reviews
Sydney, Canada
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Fantastic hotel. Comfortable beds and pillows. Great little extras like tea and they don't overstock the bar fridge so you can't fit your own things in there. Good on-site cafe. Well located with great market, shops. The Prahan market is across the road.We also went to a theatre improvisation show that was lots of fun.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pipb52
CoryNJ, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Hello Pibb52, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at The Cullen. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that you have been able to sample a bit of everything The Cullen has to offer! Look forward to having you back soon. Kind Regards, Cory Norris-Jones

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A change in work arrangements over the weekend led to an impromptu stay at The Cullen Hotel, Prahran. The moment we stepped through the doors we were welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff. We were a little disappointed that there were no balcony suites available for an upgrade that we had requested, however, it didn't prove to be an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
CoryNJ, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Hello Laura C, Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. Hopefully next time we are able to accommodate your upgrade request and you get to experience one of our balcony rooms. Our bed's are very comfortable, if you ever decide you want that comfort in your home let us know! Art Series Signature Beds are...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great Fun and Funky hotel, we Really enjoyed our stay and the Staff were so amazing and helpful! We're from Sydney and i brought the trip away for my boyfriend for his B'day and upon arrival he was greeted with a little birthday cupcake and a hand written card which was really sweet and totally unexpected. The hotel is close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aimee_xo
CoryNJ, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Hi Aimee_xo, Thank you for your kinds words, I am happy we were able to make your boyfriend's birthday weekend memorable! It is always great to hear that someone has fallen in love with Adam's work after staying with us! We are hoping to have Cullen prints up for sale again soon, maybe you can add to your collection next...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My partner and I booked the Cullen Hotel after joining the Priority Rewards loyalty group and seeing the hotel listed as a member. Originating in Sydney and being regular patrons of boutique hotels such as the QT, we thought that a trip to Melbourne and the opportunity to visit one of the Art Series Hotels would be a fantastic way...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Erin M
Amy_Moylan, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear Erin M, Thank you for your review and recently staying at the Cullen Hotel. I am delighted to read your feedback regarding your Deluxe Artist Suite which features one off artwork specially designed by Stormy Mills, this room as you have noted is something rather special. Secondly thank you for your comments regarding the comfortable bedding, stylish design and...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Cullen is such a cool hotel in a great convenient location. Great area and close to all that South Yarra has to offer and the tram outside the door to take you to the city. It is so nice to stay where the extra little things are though of..lovely tea bags, great bath products, wonderful, colourful and well designed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Di J
CoryNJ, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Hi Di J, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of all the wonderful things our neighbourhood has to offer! Cory Norris-Jones

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great service , food and rooms at a reasonable price. I will be back. I thought that having a room facing commercial rd it would be noisy but I could not hear a thing. The staff were very helpful and there is handy parking below.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben O
CoryNJ, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Hi Ben O, Thank you for your great review! I am glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and I would have to agree our beds are very comfy! We look forward to having you back. Cory Norris-Jones

Devonport, Australia
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was my first stay at the Cullen, I have stayed at the Blackman on numerous occasions and I would say that it is far superior than the Cullen. The room was very standard, the bathroom was a little intimidating as it is fairly see through, glad I was staying with family and not just a friend!. Biggest disappointment was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
CoryNJ, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Kim S, I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations while staying with us. We strive to offer a unique and memorable experience for all our guests, and I am disappointed we were not able to do this for you. I will pass on your comments to management in Gramercy, and hopefully next time your experience will...

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed in a junior penthouse room, the king size bed is made up of 2 king single beds pushed together which makes it uncomfortable to lay in the middle or next to your partner. After leaving our room early the next morning leaving a 'make up our room' sign on the door we arrived back to our room to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean W
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear Dean W, Thank you for your review - I have sent you a personal email to follow up. I very much look forward to your reply and having the opportunity to discuss with you in person. Kindest Regards, Amy Moylan Hotel Manager The Cullen

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I have been fortunate enough to have stayed at The Cullen twice now, the most recent time being in March this year. We were warmly welcomed at reception on arrival and we were told about how the hotel came to be as well as a bit of information about the artist whose work is displayed throughout the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue05Tan
CoryNJ, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Hi Sue05Tan, Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review! We feel a bit spoiled being able to work in an environment with such unique and exciting art! I am glad we were able to share our enthusiasm for Adam's work you. We look forward to showing your daughter and her fiancé the same great Cullen...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My Daughters and I stayed here for 4 nights, my husband joined us for the last couple. A great location, great place. Very cool and quirky artwork throughout! Staff were very accommodating and friendly. My husband was very ill the day we were due to check out so I extended our check out so he didn't have to move. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JDswag
CoryNJ, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Hi JDswag, I am glad we were able to accommodate your family with a late check out and hopefully your next stay with us everyone will be feeling well enough to enjoy the hotel as much as you did. I understand the importance of internet, especially with two young girls! We do offer a 50% discount on our daily internet...

422 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (262)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (130)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (121)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Growler Penthouse (42)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#22 of 156 in Melbourne
1,565 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 156 in Melbourne
1,947 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
5,069 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 156 in Melbourne
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Price Range: $167 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Art Series - The Cullen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Art Series - The Cullen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I like a higher room to get away from the street noise - essential for me when in Melbourne, as I find the trams loud.”
 of 5 bubbles lukehP678ZT, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are well positioned”
 of 5 bubbles Killara_Lodge, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“On Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights the Emerson nightclub can be a bit loud so ask for rooms on the other side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles misspuss57, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing rear are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Fussy662016, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“In the heart of the action”
 of 5 bubbles NW5454, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5