We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sonnenburg

Show Prices
#14 of 52 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Sonnenburg
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 100: English reviews
Nice, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had pretty good classic Austrian lunch here in the December sunshine on the terrace I would like to mention that the maitre D was exceptional, diplomatic and charming. He is an asset to this hotel/restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ADHADH
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Geschäftsführer at Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear Adhadh, thank you so much for your rating. Stephan, a real "pro". But it is his special type, which makes him so liked for the guests. We hope we will be able to work with him lots of years :). Hope to see you soon again & best regards, Gregor & Waltraud Hoch

south wales
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Third visit , a great pre christmas stay . Oberlech are amazing at making snow as snow fall was poor again this year. We needn't have worried the pistes were fabulous and so quiet. No off piste obviously but sunny and warm! Its usually a sunny resort! So lots of sitting outside with a gluehwein!! Hotel food is very fancy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rockySouthWales
Province of Milan, Italy
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We are biased about this hotel because we got married here, but we love the place. It is simple, unpretentious, good food, good bar, and rooms are comfy. Peaceful and relaxing. Recommended to Oberlech lovers.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank agf883
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Manager at Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear agf883, thank you so much for taking the time to reccomend us to Oberlech lovers. We hope you've enjoyed the new Sonnenburg and you will return as soon as possible. Looking forward to your next stay :), Gregor & Waltraud Hoch

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We spent a week at the Sonnenburg hotel with our family and friends. The location is fantastic and beautiful and we loved being able to ski in/ ski out. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately there were a few negatives: The rooms were far too warm and stuffy making it difficult to sleep at night and no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paola0902
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

Used to be a great place for lunch, but the service is now arrogant and frankly shocking. Same again at tea time, waited 15 mins to get served and gave up. Montana and Burg much better options for lunch and drinks, or the Monhanfluh up the hill with its better view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theczech
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Manager at Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear theczech, thank you for your rating. Yes of course, it can happen that you have to wait approx. 15 Minutes when we serve meals for over 400 guests at the same time. We are very sorry that you have to wait that long time for your meal. Best regards!

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 22 March 2016

We went for lunch at the sunny terrace which was very nice and the service was very good and responded very friendly to any questions that came up. We had some Schnitzel and Soup which where good and well done. Unfortunately the "Käsespätzle" where unacceptable. I am really sorry but it was disappointing, it used to be very excelent at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mbegle
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Manager at Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear Mbegle, thank you for your assessment. We are very happy that you liked our sun terrace and our food. Our Käsepätzle are homemade and it might be that you don't like the natural taste, but we will try to improve the taste. Best regards!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sonnenburg. Staff were friendly and attentive and the decoration was traditional and homely. We considered both breakfast and dinner to be very good. The hotel is family run and although some may say that the operation is not as slick as a large chain, the intimacy and atmosphere make it a very pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coachlondon1
poppi
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Sonnenburg has all you can ask for as a winter hotel. But it is very expensive you even pay for tap water ! At the bar a GT goes for € 17,50 ... The staff is very friendly and they do everything to make your stay great. The salad bar in the evening is top but the cheese buffet is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank goodtime62
New York, United States
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

Sonnenburg has all you can ask for in a winter hotel. Location, ski-rental, pool, big-spa, gym, babysitting and playroom for kids. Effortless arrival service with bags and skis left at the bergbahn to show up in your room and in the ski room. Also cleaning is excellent. So basically all i great, but I am left with a lingering feeling...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gustaf V
Heraklion, Greece
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Unfortunately our stay in Sonnenburg hotel this time (we had stayed in this hotel 4 years ago) was not at all what we expected based on our previous experience in this hotel. Starting form our rooms which were located in the 'Landhouse'. Firstly the rooms were unacceptably small for the price we were paying and most importantly located quite far...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank EmmanouelaLin

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#12 of 52 in Lech
114 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#2 of 52 in Lech
197 reviews
1.5 km away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#1 of 52 in Lech
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#22 of 52 in Lech
91 reviews
0.6 km away
Burg Hotel
Burg Hotel
#17 of 52 in Lech
111 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Ilga
Hotel Ilga
#34 of 52 in Lech
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On the sun terrace of the Arlberg mountains; in the traffic-free village Oberlech; mountain rail connects to the center of Lech. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonnenburg

Address: Oberlech, Lech 6764, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Price Range: $352 - $1,118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sonnenburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sonnenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenburg Hotel Lech
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lech
#13 Family Hotel in Lech
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lech
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sonnenburg staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
south wales

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sonnenburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“303, some rooms overlook slopes this room is at the side. Uber quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles rockySouthWales, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in main building might be more convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles coachlondon1, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“do not choose the Landhouse option as it is as if you are staying in a 3* lodge but paying 5* price.”
 of 5 bubbles EmmanouelaLin, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the Landhaus are a bit of a walk away but no issue unless of reduced mobility.”
 of 5 bubbles SkiingSwede, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“If you have really small children - being on the Landhaus is convenient as the Kinderclub is right outside.”
 of 5 bubbles H4983GWrebeccas, 4 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay