We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sonnenburg

Show Prices
#16 of 52 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sonnenburg
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 102: English reviews
Start your review of Sonnenburg
 Click to rate
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This Sonnenburg offers pure mountain bliss with all the conveniences you could possibly imagine. The location simply doesn't come better and the extensive spa pool area is perfect after a day on the sloapes.The newly decorated suites are modern yet cosy just as they should be in the alpes. We have been going to the Sonnenburg for the past 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louisefaerovik
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Geschäftsführer at Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear Louisefaerovik, thank you so much for your nice words. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Best regards from snowy Oberlech, Gregor & Waltraud Hoch

Nyon, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Oberlech is where we generally gather at lunchtime and the Sonnenberg is the usual place we do it. In good weather the sunny terrace is heavenly and when the weather is bad there is abundant comfortable space inside. They have the most extraordinary waiters that see you once and then remember you all week. An excellent and varied menu from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Nyon
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Geschäftsführer at Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear Michael_Nyon, thank you so much for your nice rating. Well, this morning we already smiled about your words, because we really try to remember all our guests and we see - we can :)! We hope to see you soon again ;) Best regards, Gregor & Waltraud Hoch

Nice, France
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We had pretty good classic Austrian lunch here in the December sunshine on the terrace I would like to mention that the maitre D was exceptional, diplomatic and charming. He is an asset to this hotel/restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ADHADH
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Geschäftsführer at Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear Adhadh, thank you so much for your rating. Stephan, a real "pro". But it is his special type, which makes him so liked for the guests. We hope we will be able to work with him lots of years :). Hope to see you soon again & best regards, Gregor & Waltraud Hoch

south wales
Reviewed 22 December 2016

Third visit , a great pre christmas stay . Oberlech are amazing at making snow as snow fall was poor again this year. We needn't have worried the pistes were fabulous and so quiet. No off piste obviously but sunny and warm! Its usually a sunny resort! So lots of sitting outside with a gluehwein!! Hotel food is very fancy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rockySouthWales
Province of Milan, Italy
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We are biased about this hotel because we got married here, but we love the place. It is simple, unpretentious, good food, good bar, and rooms are comfy. Peaceful and relaxing. Recommended to Oberlech lovers.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank agf883
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Manager at Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear agf883, thank you so much for taking the time to reccomend us to Oberlech lovers. We hope you've enjoyed the new Sonnenburg and you will return as soon as possible. Looking forward to your next stay :), Gregor & Waltraud Hoch

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We spent a week at the Sonnenburg hotel with our family and friends. The location is fantastic and beautiful and we loved being able to ski in/ ski out. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately there were a few negatives: The rooms were far too warm and stuffy making it difficult to sleep at night and no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paola0902
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

Used to be a great place for lunch, but the service is now arrogant and frankly shocking. Same again at tea time, waited 15 mins to get served and gave up. Montana and Burg much better options for lunch and drinks, or the Monhanfluh up the hill with its better view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theczech
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Manager at Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear theczech, thank you for your rating. Yes of course, it can happen that you have to wait approx. 15 Minutes when we serve meals for over 400 guests at the same time. We are very sorry that you have to wait that long time for your meal. Best regards!

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 22 March 2016

We went for lunch at the sunny terrace which was very nice and the service was very good and responded very friendly to any questions that came up. We had some Schnitzel and Soup which where good and well done. Unfortunately the "Käsespätzle" where unacceptable. I am really sorry but it was disappointing, it used to be very excelent at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mbegle
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Manager at Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear Mbegle, thank you for your assessment. We are very happy that you liked our sun terrace and our food. Our Käsepätzle are homemade and it might be that you don't like the natural taste, but we will try to improve the taste. Best regards!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sonnenburg. Staff were friendly and attentive and the decoration was traditional and homely. We considered both breakfast and dinner to be very good. The hotel is family run and although some may say that the operation is not as slick as a large chain, the intimacy and atmosphere make it a very pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coachlondon1
poppi
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Sonnenburg has all you can ask for as a winter hotel. But it is very expensive you even pay for tap water ! At the bar a GT goes for € 17,50 ... The staff is very friendly and they do everything to make your stay great. The salad bar in the evening is top but the cheese buffet is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank goodtime62

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#13 of 52 in Lech
132 reviews
1.5 km away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#1 of 52 in Lech
226 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#3 of 52 in Lech
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Burg Hotel
Burg Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lech
123 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Plattenhof
Hotel Plattenhof
#43 of 52 in Lech
46 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#5 of 52 in Lech
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On the sun terrace of the Arlberg mountains; in the traffic-free village Oberlech; mountain rail connects to the center of Lech. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonnenburg

Address: Oberlech, Lech 6764, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Price Range: $514 - $1,375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sonnenburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sonnenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenburg Hotel Lech
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lech
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lech
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lech
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sonnenburg staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
south wales

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sonnenburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“303, some rooms overlook slopes this room is at the side. Uber quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles rockySouthWales, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in main building might be more convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles coachlondon1, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“do not choose the Landhouse option as it is as if you are staying in a 3* lodge but paying 5* price.”
 of 5 bubbles EmmanouelaLin, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the Landhaus are a bit of a walk away but no issue unless of reduced mobility.”
 of 5 bubbles SkiingSwede, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“If you have really small children - being on the Landhaus is convenient as the Kinderclub is right outside.”
 of 5 bubbles H4983GWrebeccas, 4 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5