We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Farm Cottages

Traveller (5)
Room & Suite (21)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Luxury
HOTEL CLASS
13Reviews
29Photos
1Q+A
0Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 8
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
There are two cottages on the property, aside from the owners' home. We stayed in Grevillea Cottage which for 2 couples was very spacious (3 bedrooms, 2 bath) and very private. The cottage is beautifully clean, renovated and very well appointed. The kitchen had everything we
Read more
Response from Vanessa J, Owner at Protea Farm Cottages
Responded Jan. 8, 2017
Many thanks for your lovely comments Karen. We try very hard to make the cottages as comfortable as possible and it is nice to know this is appreciated. The winter/spring rains have really helped the gardens and I am pleased you found them pleasent. Glad you enjoyed Mudgee and hope we see you again soon. Once again thank you so much for your feedback.
Read more
+2
Whether it's just for a weekend or a relaxing week away your bound to enjoy Protea Farm Cottages. Well appointed accommodation set in beautiful manicured cottage gardens and natural bush setting. Off the beaten track but not far from the center of town and vineyards of
Read more
If you would love to get away from.the hussle and bussle of the city Protea Farm Cottages is your place. We arrived later than expected but we let Vanessa and Fiona know. When we arrived greated by Vanessa she lead us into the Peppertree Cottage with a wonderful Fire burning.
Read more
Response from Vanessa J, Owner at Protea Farm Cottages
Responded Oct. 30, 2016
Many thanks for staying with us, it was great to meet you all, and your review and kind comments mean a lot to us. Hope to see you all again soon Protea Farm- Vanessa & Fiona ( and assorted creatures)
Read more
One of the owners was extremely rude to us, very unreasonable and headstrong. She made us pay a ridiculous amount of cash for having one extra person around even though there is plenty of room for more, otherwise she'd kick us all out on the spot. Would not recommend staying
Read more
Response from Vanessa J, Owner at Protea Farm Cottages
Responded Jun. 20, 2016
Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the fresh baked bread, cake and eggs and the fire burning awaiting your arrival. The cottage you booked for the weekend has a maximum occupancy of 6 people (3 Queen beds). You agreed to this when you paid and accepted the very clear terms and conditions of the stay. It was also covered in an additional email prior to your stay that the cottage was booked with its maximum number of guests and that we could not accommodate 2 extra people. When it was discovered you had in fact brought in 2 additional adults, doing your utmost to hide them, you were given the option to pay for these 2 extra guests or terminate your stay. You may have felt that there was plenty of room, but two double air mattress crammed into the living room blocking the fire exits is not acceptable and invalidates our fire and public liability insurance. We would love to take additional guests over busy periods but cannot due to insurance restrictions. If we do overfill our houses we risk losing our livelihood. I understand your grievance as you were obviously not expecting the owners of the property to be present nor that they would insist you comply with the terms and conditions of your stay. Late checkouts carry no extra charge if agreed in advance and are dependent on whether another party is booked to arrive on departure day (which was indeed the case). Had there been honesty from the start there would have been no need to revisit the terms and conditions during the stay. Fiona & Vanessa
Read more
We enjoyed our 3 night stay at Protea Farm cottages. Lovely district views, well equipped and comfortably appointed 3br cottage with friendly hosts. Our boys enjoyed strolling through the bush, the animals and especially the nicely located tennis court. Downsides for some may
Read more
Response from Vanessa J, Owner at Protea Farm Cottages
Responded Jun. 20, 2016
Thank you for your feed back. We really appreciate it. Hopefully I will have the third longer bush walk finished before your next visit for the boys to explore. Thanks again.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & Suite
Photo provided by managementProtea Farm Cottages
Pepper Tree Cottage
Photo provided by managementProtea Farm Cottages
Grevillea Cottage
Photo provided by managementProtea Farm Cottages
Grevillea Cottage
Photo provided by managementProtea Farm Cottages
Pepper Tree Cottage
Photo provided by managementProtea Farm Cottages
Grevillea Cottage
PreviousNext
12345
PreviousNext
11
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesMudgee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing