We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hacienda Hato Verde

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hacienda Hato Verde
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Hato Verde
See the most recent reviews
Showing 44: English reviews
Golden, Colorado
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Staying in Hato Verde was very much like a B & B experience in the states. Maria and Cesar were perfect hosts, and their staff was impeccable in meal serving and room maintenance. My adult children and I stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every moment. My kids' mission was to climb the nearly-20,000 foot volcano, Cotopaxi, and they did,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davegardnr
HaciendaHatoVerde, Owner at Hacienda Hato Verde, responded to this review

Dear Friends Thank you for your lovely review and for taking your time to write it. All the best,

Geres, Portugal
Reviewed 30 October 2014

The hosts are very friendly, the rooms are nice and clean. Some walls require paint maintenance , but over all rooms were ok. The soup at dinner was exceptional, the rest of the food - ordinary. Breakfast was nice with a good selection of fruits and eggs. Recommended for those in the area (Cotopaxi).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MB050919
HaciendaHatoVerde, Owner at Hacienda Hato Verde, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments; they are of great value for us. Best Regards,

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2014

The Hacienda is just off the main road, I guess there is limited scope for independent exploration unless you have a car. The owners, Maria and Cesar, are very hospitable and you are encouraged to make yourself at home. Our room, in the main house, was very comfortable and well equipped, we didn't feel the need to have the log...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23RUN
HaciendaHatoVerde, Owner at Hacienda Hato Verde, responded to this review

Dear Friends, Thank you for the nice comments. Best Regards,

Basingstoke UK
Reviewed 12 October 2014

Less than 1km from the Pan-American Highway at 55km this Hacienda is a world apart. It is an active working dairy, a real home away from home where you are integrated into the family environment, if you wish. I was travelling with a small group and I heard no complaints, I think we took all the rooms. Some rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Signum32
HaciendaHatoVerde, Propietario at Hacienda Hato Verde, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your comments; and for taking your time to write it down. It was really a pleasure to meet you and your fiends. We are glad you had a nice experience. Best regards,

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The rooms inside the house are nice with stuffed duvets and the bathrooms are clean. However the prices are bizarrely expensive. BEFORE you drink or eat anything, ask how much it is or you will be in for a bit of a shock when you leave. I guess there is very little else in the area (Cotapaxi). I did notice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fishonhook
HaciendaHatoVerde, Propietario at Hacienda Hato Verde, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments; they are of great value for us. Best Regards,

Tarpon Springs, Florida
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here overnight while on Tren Crucero. The property is a working farm just off the Pan American Highway. We were assigned a room in a small outbuilding away from the main house. It was cold and the owner promised to light the fire in the little wood stove but never did. The meal was OK but I was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony L
HaciendaHatoVerde, Propietario at Hacienda Hato Verde, responded to this review

Dear Friend Thank you for taking your time to write a review.

St Albans, UK
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We were on the Tren Crucero trip and this Hacienda was part of the plan. Very enthusiastic owners who provided excellent food. Limited menue was on offer but the quality was excellent. Wine was limited and very expensive

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cornakey
HaciendaHatoVerde, Propietario at Hacienda Hato Verde, responded to this review

Dear Friends Thank you for your comments.

Wilmette, Illinois
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I cannot begin to tell you what an amazing experience we had at this beautiful, warm and inviting Hacienda. Our wonderful hosts, Cesar and Maria provided tours of Cotopaxi, Laguna Quilotoa, Banos and a even a day of river-rafting (go Team Adventure!). Each day my family (which included two teenagers) came "home" to delicious meals and wonderful conversation with guests....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Sunok A
HaciendaHatoVerde, Propietario at Hacienda Hato Verde, responded to this review

Dear Friends Thank you very much for your very nice comments. It was really a pleasure meeting you.

Nottingham England
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Hacienda lies adjacent to pleasant fields were dairy cattle are raised. However the view beyond is of an iron and steel works and the Pan American highway although there is almost no noise from these. As noted by another correspondent, the hacienda is isolated and if you have no transport, there is little to do. A trip to the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adrian Ross
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Not every holiday where you get a room that is part of a bull ring. Very charming hacienda with lovely hosts. Room was great except for water pressure in the shower which was temperamental. Food was good and professionally served by chef but pricey by local standard. Location was easy to get to on a bus from Quito and on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
HaciendaHatoVerde, Propietario at Hacienda Hato Verde, responded to this review

Dear Friends Thank you for kind note. It was a pleassure having you here.

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mulalo
16.0 km away
Hotel Endamo
Hotel Endamo
#1 of 3 in Latacunga
133 reviews
27.4 km away
Rumipamba de las Rosas
Rumipamba de las Rosas
#1 of 1 in Salcedo
80 reviews
2.5 km away
Hacienda La Cienega
Hacienda La Cienega
#1 of 3 in Lasso
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo
3.8 km away
Cabanas Los Volcanes
Cabanas Los Volcanes
#1 of 14 in Latacunga
26 reviews
32.4 km away
Hacienda Santa Ana
Hacienda Santa Ana
#2 of 24 in Cotopaxi Province
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hacienda Hato Verde is part of an antique big dairy farm. Its elegant farm house, 140 years old, was reconstructed in 2004 preserving its rustic materials such as pumice-stone, decorations and style. The country-house serves as home of the owner and his family and also has ten(10) thoughtfully decorated bedrooms, each with fireplace, bathroom, beds with white duck feather duvets and a beautiful view of the farm. We can accommodate up to 20 persons. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hacienda Hato Verde

Address: Panamericana Sur Km. 331 | 8 minutes from Cotopaxi National Park, Mulalo, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Mulalo
Price Range: $133 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Hato Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Hato Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hacienda Hato Verde staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not all rooms have great wifi reception”
 of 5 bubbles Pilpelet_42-2, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the main building”
 of 5 bubbles UrsulaM434, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Just contact them well ahead of your trip and you'll be guaranteed a good room. Some prefer to be a bit more private accommodations in rooms away from the house, but staying in the beautifully-restored house in a family setting worked great for us.”
 of 5 bubbles davegardnr, 27 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Guests in the main building reported they were warmer but their fires were not lit either.”
 of 5 bubbles TonyL946, 1 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a ground floor room”
 of 5 bubbles Cornakey, 30 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay