We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Groove

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Groove
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Groove
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Stayed in a group of 7 - was great! Hostel in a good location, staff very friendly and had a really nice community feel. Facilities were fine, would definitely recommend. We bought our tickets for the baths from the hostel too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gga14jsd
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Went here with a group of 8 friends (not a bachelor party) and booked it specifically so we had the dorm to ourselves. Dorm was colorful, high ceilings, clean, spacious. Beware that there are 2 dorms, one is "exclusive", the other serves as hallway to the balcony and another dorm (basically making it a 14 bed dorm). The staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RVDL91
Reviewed 8 January 2016

I can definitely recommend this hostel ! Not big, cozy, so you really feel like at home. There is a common kitchen you can use to cook for yourself, they provide you with the towel, sheets and the lockable box for your stuff. The location is perfect, near to the subway and to the Parliament, so it won`t take you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dasha K
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

This wasn't the best place we've stayed. We arrived at midnight in Budapest after a horrid bus ride from Zagreb, and the hostel wasn't well signed on the street. After finding it and being buzzed into a very old building, although quite stunning in the daylight, we made our way up two flights of pitch black stairs to reception. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RachelMT86
lilaj84, Manager at The Groove, responded to this review

Dear Rachel, First of all thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry if you were disappointed. We will discuss this cleanliness issue with the staff, normally everything should be clean, I'm sorry that you didn't mention it when you were there, we would have cleaned your whole room again. Also about the water pressure you are right, we've tried...

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 17 December 2015

If you decide to stay at this hostel, you need to be aware of the noisy surroundings. People and the staff can make noise, so if you want a good night of sleep, you need to be aware of this. The rooms are big, there is a high space to the ceiling, but the toilets are small, there is three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali h
lilaj84, Manager at The Groove, responded to this review

Dear Ali, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that you were not fully satisfied however I must correct that we have 3 showers and toilets and usually we don't get any complaints about their size, they are actually quite big compare to the standard ones. I'm also apologizing for the noise but I've asked others and nobody complained those...

Reseda
Reviewed 30 November 2015 via mobile

Groove has a comfortable vibe, comfortable rooms, and the best staff of any hostel I've been in. It's not a party hostel but you can always find people there to go out with, and you can come back to a quit spacious that's freakishly cheap. Stay here and enjoy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cody D
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 24 November 2015

This is my second time reviewing the same hostel. Management responded in an attempt to "draw my attention to some details" allegedly missing from my own experience. Of course, a party which was not present would know more about the situation than the person who experienced it first hand. My time at the Groove was a bit up and down....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Laura W
lilaj84, Owner at The Groove, responded to this review

Dear Laura, After emailing back and forth 3 times and many apologies from our side, we cannot and will not get into this fight with you. We have talked to our staff about the possible policy breaches and everyone has learned their lesson. We go out of our way to please our guests and we used your phone number for...

Reviewed 15 November 2015

i stayed for 2 weeks in The Groove hostel, i was by myself and the staff(bo, kris, danni, dori and the rest) made me feel always at home, sitting and talking to me every night and making tea(dont forget to try kris's special tea) and explaining about where to go out and eat and everything you need to know. some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank I N
Spain
Reviewed 1 November 2015

All areas of the hostel were clean and welcoming. The staff were genuinely lovely and went out of their way to help me make the most of my time in the city. The helpful & friendly staff encourage a communal atmosphere that make this place extra special. I felt really at ease in the hostel - safe, looked after and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marziano B
Pacifica, California
Reviewed 12 October 2015

I booked at the Groove for 2 nights but ended up extending to 5 nights because I really enjoyed the environment they have created. I had been travelling for a while and wanted a place that felt cozy, like home, that I could relax in (but was still clean!) and The Groove was all + more. The staff are really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathan Z

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#101 of 340 in Budapest
1,272 reviews
District V / Inner City
Zsofi's House Hostel
Zsofi's House Hostel
#173 of 645 in Budapest
49 reviews
District V / Inner City
Full Moon Design Hostel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Green Dream Apartment
#85 of 645 in Budapest
229 reviews
Kadar Apartments
#98 of 645 in Budapest
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you want to feel home away from home The Groove is your place. Small, independent hostel (32 beds total, 4 dorm rooms and 3 privates) with everything you need: orthopedic matrasses, fully equipped kitchen, lounge area to meet people and plenty of social activities (bicycle trips - bicycle rent on site, cooking, pub crawl etc) and the friendliest, local, multi-lingual staff who eager to help you with good tips about Budapest and everything you need for a nice stay in this beautiful city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Groove

Address: Szent Istvan koerut 16/II/14, Budapest 1137, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Price Range: $17 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Groove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Groove staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Groove staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Remember a padlock!”
 of 5 bubbles Riley1993, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Mixed dorms, cheapest, does the job.”
 of 5 bubbles Y4019ADalih, 17 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Private rooms are a little more expensive, but offer a bit of privacy and space.”
 of 5 bubbles Stinz3, 7 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a lower bunk bed, they have curtains to avoid sunlight :)”
 of 5 bubbles sonis, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The private room is more than worth the upgrade.”
 of 5 bubbles danielnC1853ZX, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5