We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Continental Hotel Budapest

Booking.comUS$132*
View Deal
#39 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$141*
US$132*
US$141*
US$141*
US$132*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Continental Hotel Budapest
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Continental Hotel Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,806: English reviews
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2015

I have just returned from this lovely hotel after my second visit. This time i was with my husband and he enjoyed it as much as i did.The hotel is really clean and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. We had a very nice room. They are not large but have everything you need, safe, tea/coffee making facilities,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandy T
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Sandy T, I am very happy that you found our Hotel lovely! Thank you for beeing so loyal to us. As the General Manager of Continental Hotel Budapest I am very happy to read such commendatory reviews like yours. I think we did our mission. We wait you back! Kindest regards,

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Welcoming staff to greet you, from reception to the bell boy, who took us to our good size room, beautifully clean. It was a visit for our annieversary with wine and flowers that my husband had requested we also recieved a lovely big platter of fresh fruit and sweeets and biscuits and a card from the dicrector with was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marshes24-7
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Marshes24-7, Thank you so much for this overall very praising feedback regarding your stay with us, and I was extremely happy to read that you felt so well in our Hotel and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to create a memorable experience for our guests and I am very glad to hear...

Ptuj, Slovenia
Reviewed 16 July 2015

We were transfered to this hotel since ours was overbooked...so we didnt have any clue what to expect. It turned out it was nice hotel, friendly stuff, clean rooms...with bad view. Brekfast was ok with enough to choose from...but diner was too small and we needed to wait to get a table which was rather strange. Also slow service when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mojca J
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Mojca J, Thank you very much for your feedback, both of your positive and negative comments. I am very happy to read that you found the staff friendly and your room clean. On the other side I am very sorry that you were not satisfied with the food at the restaurant and with the service at the Galery Café....

Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 July 2015

I stayed here in March 2014 (although the dropdown menu when I wrote this review only allowed me to choose as far back as August 2014). Good location, comfy beds, clean, small room but it was fine for what we needed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessica82378
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear jessica82378, Thank you for your nice feedback after such a long time. It is very unique to receive reviews after one and a half year about a visit to our hotel. I hope you will choose us again if your travel will bring you back to Budapest. Best regards,

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

Comfortable and pleasant hotel. Easy walk to metro and only a 20m stroll to city centre. Great value for money and friendly helpful staff. The decor is impressive, especially balcony bar. Will certainly stay again on next visit to Budapest....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rdslight
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear rdslight, Thank you for your short but all-in feedback regarding your recent stay at Continental Hotel Budapest. I really appreciate you taking your valuable time to share your experience with all the readers of Trip Advisor. It was good to read that you have been so much satisfied with the location of the hotel. Also thank you for your...

Kent
Reviewed 15 July 2015

I had a few concerns about how we would be received after reading about a supposed negative reaction to two women travelling together but our welcome was both friendly and efficient. On arrival we were told about the small discount offered to guests who want to use the spa area (around £7 each and well worth it after a hard...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SUE90082
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear SUE90082, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Continental Hotel Budapest. I really appreciate you taking your valuable time to share your experience with all the readers of Trip Advisor. It was good to read that you found the Reception staff friendy and efficient, and you were satisfied with the location of the Hotel. On the...

exeter devon
Reviewed 15 July 2015

We booked into this hotel on the 14th July for 5 days. The hotel was very nice and clean. Rooms are very small. also beware you have to pay 8 euro a day per person to use the rooftop pool area. I payed for a room that had free wifi but did not get online at all. I had to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ExeterDevonDenise
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear ExeterDevonDenise, Thank you for your feedback, both your positive and negative comments. Regarding wellness enrty fee I wish to inform you, some of the travel agents are offering packages without the free entry to the wellness to keep their promotional rate as low as possible. Unfortunately without knowing the date and the room number it is difficult for us...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

I booked two rooms in the hotel for one night. My brother was flying out later in the evening and asked if we can get late checkout for his room. They said the only choices were to pay 50 euro fee for checking out late or paying for another night. We had no problem paying 50 Euro fee and said...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MikeFried
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear MarkFried, Firstly thank you for your feedback, even your review contains serious criticism of our service. Late check out – especially if the Hotel is full – needs special care from the staff. As I have been informed by the relevant team members you didn’t asked for late check out, you have just inquired about options and you sad,...

Bourg La Reine
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

I changed my booking 1 month before my arrival and my room was not ready, the pillows were very hard, no dress-room and slippers (in a 4 star hotel !!!!), but this gave me the opportunity to notice that the sole of my foot was not clean ... contrary to my colleagues, I did not have a bath ... the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daruff
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear daruff, Firsly I do apologize that your room was not ready at your arrival. Since these reviews are anonym I am not able to check what time you arrived, I hope not after 2 PM. Regarding pillows: guests are different, therefore we have a whole pillow menu with at least ten different pillows in the guest rooms to give...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Room was a good size, the hotel is surrounded by a great variety of bars & restaurants, including the New York Café, facilities including breakfast & WIFI were excellent. Hotel is only three minutes from transport into the city centre and is about a 20 minute walk to the centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baigrie1961
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Baigrie 1961, I’m very happy that you have shared your experience at our Hotel regarding your stay with other possible travelers. It was very good to read that you were so much satisfiead with all of our services. I hope you will really return soon. KIndest regards,

2,193 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1351)
Viewed
Room/Suite (231)
Viewed
Bathroom (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (294)
Viewed
Dining (77)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (50)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (590)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (753)
Viewed
Amenities (98)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (84)
Viewed
Presidental Suite (119)
Viewed
Dining (89)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (102)
Viewed
Standard Room (69)
Viewed
Suite (99)
Viewed
The Hotel (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,647 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 333 in Budapest
1,210 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 333 in Budapest
6,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District VII / Jewish Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
District VII / Jewish Quarter
District VII is the very heart of Budapest and houses the city’s Jewish Quarter. Its streets are lively and colorful, its buildings narrate different histories in an assortment of architectural styles, and its cafes and bars are frequented and loved by the enthusiastic crowds. Grand and magnificent, the striking star of the district is the Great Synagogue, the largest in Europe and one of the biggest in the world. Distinctly Moorish in style, crowned by the twin onion shaped domes, the Synagogue is the very emblem of District VII and one of the main attractions in the capital.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Price Range: $147 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Budapest
#29 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#29 Business Hotel in Budapest
#32 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Continental Hotel Budapest staff and other travellers.
100 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (100)

Questions? Get answers from Continental Hotel Budapest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room awayfrom road.”
donaldandbarbarac, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors overlooking the side street or the atrium are the quietest.”
, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Accessibility because of location; generally quiet hotel.”
khalidsayyed, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking courtyard nice”
AmandaB779, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No specific views so room position not an issue. No noticeable road noise as not on a major road.”
HelenCopestake, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$132* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$141
TripAdvisorUS$132
Hotwire.comUS$141
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates