We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 637: English reviews
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. The Aquincum is a decent hotel - however there are a few things why I would not give a top rating. Here are the points I liked and did not like: + Reception was really professional and welcoming - The room was well used and not in really good condition... More 

Helpful?
Thank Schiffi
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Starting on a positive note, the hotel has a great SPA, which was free for us to use. The room was nice, clean and spacious. Now to the negative... the hotel was much further from town than described online (it took us about 45 min in a fast-pace walk to get there), the personnel had a very limited understanding of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sabine1705
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here on a weekend trip to the city. The rooms are comfortable, good bed and bathroom slightly dated but fine. Breakfast was a bit of a let down, it was the usual buffet but not much of a selection and coffee was poor and cold. I didn't find the service particularly good. Reception were helpful and got us... More 

Helpful?
Thank SolLoving
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We got a deal on a website which included flights. I am glad it was on a deal as I would not pay the going rate for this hotel. firstly it is tucked away at the end of the H5 tram track so a 10 minute journey then another 15 minute walk if you wish to Chain Bridge. We arrived... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank juboy
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Our Guest, Thank you for staying in our hotel. We regret to read that you were not satisfied with our hotel, room and service. Please accept our apology for the cleanliness of room and the noise during the night. We are happy to read that you liked our Bar and spa with massage. We hope that we have opportunity... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay in Aquincum hotel often because it has big room , spa open as of 6 am and offers good brekfast. Hotel is not in the center and it takes some time to reach the downtown. At the same time it is very much ok if I travel for business.

Helpful?
Thank Svetlana L
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Our GUest, Thank you for choosing us again and we highly appreciate your loyalty. We are happy to read that you liked our room, breakfast and spa and our services meet your expectation while you are in business. We hope to see you again soon. Yours sincerely, Gábor Nemes General Manager More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dated interior, cold atmosphere, below average rooms with smell, bad heating control, terrible room service, old bathroom, dirty carpets, dated corridors. Hotel shouts 'Renovate me'. Definitely not 5 star, hardly 4 star, more like an average 3 star. Nothing special about it.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear our Guest, Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to share your experiences. We regret to read that the design of the hotel and the room did not exceed your expectations. Please accept our apology. Please, rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel deserves not more then 3 stars. Once upon a time probably it was good hotel but now is to old. Crew is not so friendly, printer is so old and can only prin black/white, spa centar is in bad condition, tai massage was super. So

Helpful?
Thank Frane Š
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear our Guest, Thank you for choosing us and your feedback. We regret to read that you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel and the staff. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences. Excpet from this inconveniences we were happy to read that you were staisfied wth the thai massage. We hope that we will have the... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The spa is a great + , but the room is slightly dusty and not that modern. For a one time trip it is okay for relaxation, the spa is opened from 6 to 22, which is great. The parking is an extra cost of 12 eur a day, which is very expensive.

Helpful?
Thank Izabella L
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear our Guest, Thanky you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our Spa area. We regret to read that our room and charge of parking area did not met your expectations. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Gabor Nemes General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night as we were invited for a wedding nearby. Bit disappointed, expected a lot more. Average 4* hotel, don't understand how could it be 5*.. Room was ok, check-in was fast, but cleanness of the room was very poor. Coffee spots on tray, hair in the bathroom, dust on the chair. On the other end, spa... More 

Helpful?
Thank ViktorH89
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear our Guest, Thank you for choosing us and share your experiences. We were happy to read that you were satisfied with our room and check-in. We regret to read that the cleanliness did not exceed your expectations.Please acpet our apology for the inconveniences. We hope that we will have the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Yours... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The place is great and so are the facilities. You can use the spa if you have a room over there. It's good value for money. And the breakfast is good. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Bit difficult to communicate with some of them if you can't speak the local language.

Helpful?
Thank Schubert M
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear our Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your experiences about your recent stay at our Hotel. We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the spa area. We were happy to read that our breakfast buffet met... More 

572 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (314)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (143)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (230)
Viewed
Amenities (65)
Viewed
Deluxe River View King (29)
Viewed
Executive King (29)
Viewed
Executive River Suite King (39)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Superior King (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Danubius Hotel Helia
#77 of 339 in Budapest
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#50 of 339 in Budapest
610 reviews
Lion's Garden Hotel
#70 of 339 in Budapest
622 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 339 in Budapest
6,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest hotel overlooks the Danube on the historic Buda side, at the Arpad Bridge, opposite Margaret Island. Providing an exquisite balance between business, leisure and relaxation, the hotel offers comfortable accommodation, versatile conference facilities, and a natural thermal spa. We are located near some of Budapest's most fascinating attractions including the ruins of ancient Aquincum and the hills and forests of Buda. Downtown Budapest and the Danube Bend are also within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Address: Arpad fejedelem utja 94., Budapest 1036, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Price Range: $77 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Aquincum Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Aquincum Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Budapest Hotel Budapest
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#55 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#56 Family Hotel in Budapest
#79 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Aquincum Hotel Budapest staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from The Aquincum Hotel Budapest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are rooms with a view to the inner courtyard, if you want a view, ask to be a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles HoppieMaky, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own flip flops! - We thought they will be provided with the robs but they were not”
 of 5 bubbles B4014NTannas, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get one facing the river.”
 of 5 bubbles RogerThornhill66, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here”
  • Bathroom
  • View from room
  • Room very old and smelly
 of 5 bubbles claireleslie1973, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles violaa919, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay