We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 656: English reviews
Berkeley, CA
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I just stayed here for business at the recommendation of the company I was visiting (which is nearby). Come day two, I was ready to move to a different place. The room was fine (think Nescafe and a mildly uncomfortable bed). What killed me was the front desk, where every transaction took 3x longer. My coworker actually spend 30(!) minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrentCW
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying in our hotel and for taking your time to write this detailed feedback. We regret to read that you experienced multiple problems during your stay, we apologize for any inconvinience. We will make sure to improve the check-out speed so that such problems won't happen again. We hope that despite the inconviniences we can...

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is very well located in Buda side of Budapest. The facilities are a lttle tired, but still well appointed. For a little extra money the executive rooms are a great way to stay. The Health club provides a good range of pools, spa and sauna. The restaurant and bar staff are professional multi lingual and truly helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AAK62
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying in our Hotel and for taking your time to write this detailed feedback. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience, and that you enjoyed our facilities and services. It's also great to see that you found our staff to be highly helpful, they do their very best to meet the...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I was in Budapest on business and someone else booked this hotel for me. It is in Obuda on the south side of the Danube, far from the usual tourist attractions of Pest. That said it is very near to the excellent transport links. 2 minutes walk to the No.1 tram and the overland train along the Danube. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fraser G
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying in our Hotel and for taking your time to write this detailed feedback. We are are very happy to read that you experience was positive. Thank you for your feedback on the bar prices, we will take it into consideration for possible future price changes. Having a relaxed drink in a comfortable enviroment is...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a fine hotel with very good amenities. I do think I qualifies as a five star. The rooms were excellent and the service was outstanding. My criticism is that it wasn't as central as we thought. Spent more money on taxis to get to City centre. Wife liked the spa.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deric H
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying in our Hotel and for taking your time to write this detailed feedback. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience, and that you enjoyed our facilities and services. Sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with the location; we actively strive to provide a fast transportation to the...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Big and right up to the job. Good in all respects. Szentlelek ter Metroline station across the road giving east access to the city. Hotel provides nearby Margaret Island jogging map. Food short of wow but very good none the less. Free to use business centre for internet access with printing; otherwise Wi-Fi in rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Awayagain2014
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The only good thing about this hotel is that you have good facilities in the room: ironing, coffee, cosmetics, safe. On the other hand, the bathroom really needs an update. Both the room and the bathroom were very dirty. A lot of dust not just on the furniture, but the curtains were grey instead of white. The plate for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JulliaDia
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was a decent size, bathroom fine and on the bright side, the bed was super comfortable, so a great night's sleep is guaranteed. The spa is modest and they should certainly add a jacuzzi, or ask guests not to hog the space endlessly. Saunas and steam rooms adequate and functional; clean at least. Breakfasts are quite fine with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngusmacTV
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is located close enough to the city center, far enough to be nice and quite, but close enough to get to the center with public transportation in around 20 min. The spa and the massage therapists are amazing however that cannot be said about the kitchen. Both the breakfast is a disappointment and the fact that you have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hanan A
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest We'd like to thank you for choosing Aquincum Hotel Budapest. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our spa facilities and the various relaxational massages. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your food, and we apologise for the long wait time you experienced. Customer feedback is always important for us, so that we...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent 3nights over Christmas. Location was a little bit removed from the town center but was expected. (There is a train/tram station across the street next to the hotel which is a convenient 5min ride to the city center) NOTE: The hotel charges 15EURO/day to park your vehicle on their front parking lot. The hotel charges 12EURO/person for Breakfast. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shrewdlog
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying in our hotel and for taking your time to write this detailed feedback. We regret to read that you experienced multiple problems during your stay, we apologize for any inconvinience. Thank you for your kind words for our staff, they do their best to give each and every guest a home-like experience, we will...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First off this hotel was OK. Definitely not a 5 star standard. Big reception hall and friendly staff we liked. Unfortunately spa as well as hall ways and cutins are outdated and look old. The room was spacious and we enjoyed the free water and coffee in the room as well as the ironing board. The furniture was quite old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lukas9292
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying in our hotel and for taking your time to write this detailed feedback. We regret to read that you experienced multiple problems during your stay, we apologize for any inconvinience. Thank you for your kind words for our staff, we are happy that they could be of help to you. Please accept our apology...

585 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (327)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (145)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (230)
Viewed
Amenities (65)
Viewed
Deluxe River View King (29)
Viewed
Executive King (29)
Viewed
Executive River Suite King (39)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Superior King (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#51 of 340 in Budapest
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Danubius Hotel Helia
#76 of 340 in Budapest
1,461 reviews
Lion's Garden Hotel
#73 of 340 in Budapest
638 reviews
Hilton Budapest City
#50 of 340 in Budapest
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest hotel overlooks the Danube on the historic Buda side, at the Arpad Bridge, opposite Margaret Island. Providing an exquisite balance between business, leisure and relaxation, the hotel offers comfortable accommodation, versatile conference facilities, and a natural thermal spa. We are located near some of Budapest's most fascinating attractions including the ruins of ancient Aquincum and the hills and forests of Buda. Downtown Budapest and the Danube Bend are also within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Address: Arpad fejedelem utja 94., Budapest 1036, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Price Range: $76 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Aquincum Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Aquincum Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Budapest Hotel Budapest
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#55 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#56 Family Hotel in Budapest
#84 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Aquincum Hotel Budapest staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from The Aquincum Hotel Budapest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to the North overlook the river”
 of 5 bubbles fraserg2017, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Front facing rooms have a view of the Danube River across the street”
 of 5 bubbles Shrewdlog, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There are rooms with a view to the inner courtyard, if you want a view, ask to be a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles HoppieMaky, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own flip flops! - We thought they will be provided with the robs but they were not”
 of 5 bubbles B4014NTannas, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get one facing the river.”
 of 5 bubbles RogerThornhill66, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay