We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel

Hotwire.comUS$45*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 178: English reviews
Start your review of Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
 Click to rate
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good Hostel centrally located, close to restaurants and bars, and the city downtown, so no transit was necessary.. Breakfast in the hostel which I liked. Staff were friendly. Could get a transfer to the apt, but I used the transit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 283MarkM283
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have stayed at the Marco Polo many times. Why do I return? It must be obvious that it is relates to the excellent vale and friendly, knowledgeable staff. The location is excellent being near the Kelati Train station and the metro lines.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
Judit I, General Manager at Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to publish your opinion! It makes me really happy that you enjoy staying with us and that we can welcome you time to time! See you soon!

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very well located. Basic and old hostel , but dorms were OK, giving some privacy, as there are curtains. Bathroom not the best but bearable ;) it was the cheapest hostel that I found. Nice and helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oMagdalenao
Judit I, General Manager at Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! I am happy that you enjoyed our 12-bedded dorm's privacy, as the bunk beds are seperated with wooden wall and curtain - also there is big dedicated locker to use. We work on making the shower more comfortable to use - hope next time you come you will see the difference! Thank you again for...

Reviewed 1 week ago

the price is very cheap but the room is nice. also place of hostel is perfect. near the hostel there's awsome club. bus stop and metro station is on 10minute. reception staff is so kind and friendly. bb

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jang1880
Judit I, General Manager at Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your expreience! I am happy that you enjoyed our really nice location and you have found the Reception kind and friendly! We hope to welcome you again!

Uruguay
Reviewed 1 week ago

Met expectations. Clean, well located and helpful staff. Located near the Jewish quarter so it is not far from touristy places (15-20 min walking) and very near of a lively night bar scene. Room with private bathroom was always clean, same as common areas. Did not go to hostel's bar so can't talk about it. Staff helped with indications, and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gonv2017
Judit I, General Manager at Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice feedback! It makes us really happy, thank you! Hope to welcome you an other time too.

Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel is very close to the main events and you can see most of them by food.The staff is very friendly and polite.Overall this hostel is one of the hostels that you must vist and stay if you are in Budapest.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 714sashkov
Brasov, Romania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything was ok. I recommend this location, good prices, excellent location. The staff was ok, no problem with English. The brekfast can be improved, but this is my personal "problem". I total it was all very well. See you soon!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mitrutia
Judit I, General Manager at Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your opinion! We do thiunk about improving the breakfast. Please let us know more exact what you would missed or what would make you happy to have for breakfast! Recently we did enlarged to offer of our brea selection and try to offer something different every day. We...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are very good. Aside of that, the hostel lacks pretty much everything: no kitchen, no laundry, bad wi-fi, lack of good common areas. Some of the staff members were nice, but some were awful. I hope the hostel improves soon!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 353rafael
Judit I, General Manager at Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time and share your experiences with us. I am glad that you found our roosm very good. However, we are sorry to read that the facilities did not meet with your expectations. We do try to improve them and of course we do everything that all technical equipments work - sometime the go out...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here many times because the quality is excellent at the price, It is a friendly establishment with excellent service provided by friendly knowledgeable staff. I shall be visiting again very soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidpD3102YB
Judit I, General Manager at Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel, responded to this review

What a lovely feedback! Thank you so much for this 5-star rating, I am extremely glad to know that you like to stay with us! Hope to see you again soon!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2017

I booked into a single room at the Marco Polo. The room was ensuite and comfortable enough. There was a TV (though it didn't work) and the front desk was exceptionally helpful for someone like me who has no sense of direction. There are no amenities provided at the hostel though for the price I paid you could hardly expect...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruvini

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Casa De La Musica Hostel
#44 of 641 in Budapest
270 reviews
Belváros-Lipótváros
Full Moon Design Hostel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#27 of 641 in Budapest
331 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#5 of 641 in Budapest
844 reviews
Dominik Panzio
#138 of 183 in Budapest
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District VII / Jewish Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
District VII / Jewish Quarter
District VII is the very heart of Budapest and houses the city’s Jewish Quarter. Its streets are lively and colorful, its buildings narrate different histories in an assortment of architectural styles, and its cafes and bars are frequented and loved by the enthusiastic crowds. Grand and magnificent, the striking star of the district is the Great Synagogue, the largest in Europe and one of the biggest in the world. Distinctly Moorish in style, crowned by the twin onion shaped domes, the Synagogue is the very emblem of District VII and one of the main attractions in the capital.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel in downtown Budapest, is open all year round. Located in the heart of the city, offering the services of a 2 star hotel with its en-suite double TWIN rooms and providing organised and tidy 12-bedded dormitory rooms.Marco Polo’s excellent city centre location provides great access to public transport. Famous Budapest sights and great nightspots are also nearby. Our twin and quad rooms are bright and comfortable and have telephone and TV, plus en-suite bathrooms.As for our dormitories, we’ve yet to find another anywhere that even comes close. Each 12-bedded room is divided into 2-bunk areas with their own lockers. Each dorm is next to HAS a dedicated bathroom with two sinks, showers and WC's. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel

Address: Nyar utca 6, Budapest 1072, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Price Range: $20 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I prefer to have an en suite room.”
DavidP377, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Check with the hostel by mail or phone to be sure you have the right room”
924andreib, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't get the dorms”
Rachelbabe, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not beside people being chased by gangs”
fergusonsasha, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have more heat...”
Jonathan_sss, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$45* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$84
Expedia.comUS$45
Hostelworld.comUS$61
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates