We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Old Post Office Restaurant and Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Old Post Office Restaurant and Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
budapest
Reviewed 3 October 2014

Some 12 rooms, in "minimal art style" - but tasteful, clean and very good price/performance. Best location, if you want to discover the downtown of Debrecen (and not looking for the spa pleasures). The pansion (not a hotel!) was refurbished recently (not much time ago) -each room around an other "theme", like Toscana, or Swedish King, or others. Good for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank handhungary
RegiPosta, Vezető at Old Post Office Restaurant and Inn, responded to this review

Thank you that you choosed this inn and your rating. We waiting you coming back again!!

Budapest
Reviewed 15 August 2014

A lovely romantic inn very close to the city center. Staff is very kind and helpful, the design of the room we have chosen is special, prices and food in the restaurant are OK. Unfortunately, the inn is located just on the edge of the car free zone, so during the rush hours (in the morning and in the evening)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTr
RegiPosta, Vezető at Old Post Office Restaurant and Inn, responded to this review

Thank you rating and that you choosed this inn. Sorry your nuisance.

Paty, Hungary
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Every room is the hotel is different. We choose the room with a wagon in the reservation, but something happened so finally we got the Swedish king's residence room. It was perfect! Recommend it to anyone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bolyak
RegiPosta, Vezető at Old Post Office Restaurant and Inn, responded to this review

Thank you your good rating! Come back again, we waiting you!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Warm welcome however they did not have our booking (booked using booking.com) Room comfortable with a good bathroom. Only issue was no cooling in room. room on ground level but we did not feel comfortable leaving the window open due to noise and people walking past. Bus and trams very close by. Walking distance to main mall area and tourist...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharonjoymc
RegiPosta, Vezető at Old Post Office Restaurant and Inn, responded to this review

Thank you that you choosed Old Post inn and the rating.

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The "Old Post Office" in Debrecen, Hungary is a very special place to stay. While the building has kept much of it's historic integrity, the rooms are beautifully updated, clearly with a designer's eye....simple yet elegant. Gorgeous use of old brick, tile, and a lovely blend of modern and antique furnishings make this destination truly unique. Regi Posta was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bowissa52
RegiPosta, Vezető at Old Post Office Restaurant and Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the good grades , and for choosing this restaurant. We are waiting for you coming back again!!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Arrived late approx 2am but the owner stayed awake to greet us and give us the room keys which was very appreciated, we entered our room and was blown away by the decor. We requested the "Wild West Cart Room" The room was custom made which really made it look authentic and as if you really slept in the wild...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dubai-Mafia
RegiPosta, Vezető at Old Post Office Restaurant and Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the good grades , and for choosing this restaurant. We are waiting for you coming back again!!

Germany
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Its a nice rural hotel (or pension) with surprisingly beautiful rooms in a unique rustic design. Rooms a large, very clean and in their own special way attractive (in ours had the wall on top of the bed was build of giant wood trunks). Bathrooms are very modern in contrast. There are many antique artifacts all over the place (like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank floonline
RegiPosta, Vezető at Old Post Office Restaurant and Inn, responded to this review

Thank you that you choosed this inn and your rating. We waiting you coming back again!!

Kópavogur, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our experience was not good, we came there and no one could speak English, we didn't know Hungarian so that was a bit of a problem (you can imagine us trying to reenact everything we wanted to eat. ) Our air condition didn't work (in august) so we had to sleep with wet towels on us because of the heat....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Linda M
RegiPosta, Vezető at Old Post Office Restaurant and Inn, responded to this review

Thank you rating and that you choosed this inn. Sorry your nuisance.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My favorite place in the center of this beautiful Hungarian city, full of students. Beautiful rooms, cosy and full of atmosphere, lovely restaurant with wonderful Hungarian music (live) during dinner time. Great hospitality. Good vibs!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IvoValkenburg
RegiPosta, Vezető at Old Post Office Restaurant and Inn, responded to this review

Thank you that you choosed this inn. We waiting you coming back again!!

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The Regi Posta is a lovely rustic hotel (by that I mean there is an abundance of wood everywhere and a certain quaintness). It is well situated right by the centre of the city and a 5 min walk from the large shopping plaza. There are cafes and bars nearby. The hotel itself is very clean and the rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ezz100
RegiPosta, Vezető at Old Post Office Restaurant and Inn, responded to this review

Thank you that you choosed this inn. We waiting you coming back again!!

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Debrecen hotels
0.5 km away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#1 of 18 in Debrecen
117 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Divinus
Hotel Divinus
#4 of 18 in Debrecen
213 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Lycium
Hotel Lycium
#5 of 18 in Debrecen
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Obester
Hotel Obester
#4 of 26 in Debrecen
59 reviews
2.6 km away
Aquaticum Debrecen Thermal and Wellness Hotel
0.4 km away
Stop Panzio
Stop Panzio
#9 of 18 in Debrecen
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Old Post Office Restaurant and Inn

Address: Szechenyi utca 6, Debrecen 4025, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Great Plain > Hajdu-Bihar County > Debrecen
Price Range: $61 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Post Office Restaurant and Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Old Post Office Restaurant and Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cart room is noisy and overpriced.”
 of 5 bubbles FrequentTr, 15 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Room 6. Two separate beds, silent at the backpart of the hotel, including balcony. Lots of wood decoration, comfortable beds, beautiful bathroom. Pure quality!”
 of 5 bubbles IvoValkenburg, 30 Jun 2013 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay