Hotel Schlossle

Hotel Schlossle

Traveller (592)
Panorama at the Hotel Schlossle
360
Panoramas (13)
Deluxe King/ Twin
Room & Suite (160)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#3 of 89 hotels in Tallinn
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Schlössle Hotel can be found on Holy Spirit Street, with its picturesque cobblestones, numerous historic storage buildings and merchant houses dating back to the 13th century. The Schlössle Hotel, is steeped in history and over the centuries has seen numerous owners, among them members of Tallinn's most distinguished patrician families. Located between the old harbor and the Old Town Square, it offers a prime location to explore Tallinn and a city today classified as a UNESCO World heritage site. The luxury five star Schlössle hotel reflects its unique history with lots of original features in its elegantly appointed bedrooms, public areas, all combined with the latest technology and comfort. In the hotels gourmet restaurant Stenhus, you can discover a cuisine with a sophisticated twist to a traditional Estonian dining experience. The menu consists of enticing classic & contemporary dishes using quality seasonal ingredients. During the summer months the hotels opens its romantic external courtyard terrace, with live music every weekend offering gourmet experience in a green oasis in the middle of the medieval city under the shade of trees surrounded by blossoms and blooms. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Full body massage
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Hand massage
Head massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Estonian, German

Location

Puehavaimu tn 13/15, Tallinn 10123 Estonia
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Ulemiste Airport
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles456 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in the heart of Tallinn's Old Town, the Hotel Schlossle is lauded for its enchanting atmosphere, combining a historic aura with modern comforts. Guests are charmed by the cozy, well-appointed rooms and the staff's exceptional service, often noting the personal touches that enhance their stay. While some guests mention the rooms can be small and occasionally noisy, the overall cleanliness and value are consistently praised. The hotel's strategic location and praised amenities, including an outstanding breakfast, ensure a memorable experience for many travelers.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Outstanding

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
456Reviews3Q+A63Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 373
  • 47
  • 23
  • 6
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
TravelsFromAtoZ wrote a review Aug 2020
Europe
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here, directly in the beautiful old town, for one week and had a great time. The reception and lounge is a joy to look at and to spend time in. The room is spacious, with lots of windows, and has this dreamy vibe. The atmosphere the ceiling lamp creates in the room is simply divine. During the day, I visited lots of different museums, churches, cafes and restaurants and it was a delight to return to the sanctuary of my room at night. The welcome at reception was exceptionally friendly throughout my stay. Breakfast left nothing to be desired. I even found the time for a facial at the spa, and it was so relaxing. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mara Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle
Responded Aug 20, 2020
Dear Guest, You might have had a dreamy vibe while staying with but you have certainly managed to make us have a vibe anything else hardly compares to. Thank you very much for sending our way tons of good energy. We enjoyed looking after you dearly. With kind regards and hopes to see you soon, Mara Blaubarde
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer_Gelignite wrote a review Mar 2020
Derry, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Can't recommend highly enough. We were welcomed in from the rain with a glass of prosecco and helped with our bags. Our room was huge and cosy with a large crystal light shade as the centrepiece, dark wood furniture and an elegant en suite bathroom. There was a private sauna in a cavern, which was really romantic. The restaurant is in a vaulted cellar and the imaginative food was the best we ate in Estonia: a creative venison & mackerel "surf & turf", lipsmacking borscht, superlative fruited rye bread with whipped beetroot butter, and the always-appreciated touch of an amuse bouche.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SchlossleHotelGroup, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle
Responded Mar 1, 2020
Dear Jennifer, Thank you so much for praising Hotel Schlossle so highly. Taking care of you has been an honor. In particular we are happy to hear how much you enjoyed dining in Restaurant Stenhus. It is indeed a place you don't want to skip dining at when visiting Tallinn. We look forward to seeing back with us soon, With Kind regards, Mara Blaubarde
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Nina wrote a review Sep 2021
Delft, The Netherlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From checking in to checking out, we had a great experience staying at Hotel Schlossle. The staff was very attentive, helpful and friendly. Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. I can honestly say I have never stayed in a hotel room in a city centre that was as soundproof and quiet as our room in Schlossle was.

The breakfast served was abundant and of great quality - even with a hot dish (scrambled eggs, omelette, porridge) made to order. The variety of food on offer was simply outstanding.

The hotel is located in the city centre near all the main sights. I think Hotel Schlossle is the perfect choice is you're looking for a worry-free, comfortable and luxurious stay in Tallinn.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We really enjoyed our stay in room 9, with views of the garden/inner courtyard.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mara Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle
Responded Sep 27, 2021
Dear Guest, Your numerous compliments are melting our hearts. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to tell the world what a great stay you had! We loved looking after you and cant wait to welcome you back soon! With Warmest regards from the entire team, Mara Blaubarde
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mariannemaikku wrote a review Mar 2020
Mikkeli, Finland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve been visiting Tallinn many times, in different hotels. This is not one of the best customer experiences. First when we came, we had to fill in a form about rules and penalties for misbehaving for examble smoking in the room. We also had to pay in advance wich felt a little bit rude. I started to think there was something wrong with us... For some reason there was smoke odour in our room. The carpeting also made the room stuffy. Breakfast was served in a beautiful room but unfortunately I’m allergic to gluten and they didn’t have any gluten free bread. That has never happened in Tallinn hotels for me before.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SchlossleHotelGroup, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Dear Marianne, Thank you so much for highlighting unpleasant matters experienced while staying at the Schlossle Hotel. Please accept our apologies if you have felt in any way uncomfortable during check in process. Due to the GDPR much of arrival experience for hotel guests have changed. We area obliged to keep you up to date and ask you far more questions then it was a year ago. This concerns your data safety and well-being in general, so we run your stay at our property as clear as possible. When it comes to paying for hotel services up front, is also a practice many hotels in the world has turned to. This is in order to avoid guests walking out on you, which is unfortunately another trend hotels experience. Just like you pay for your airline ticket in advance, hotels these days ask to pay for accommodation in advance as well to protect yours and hotels interest. When it comes to odor in your room. Your remark is well noted and personally I will investigate where this smell could have come from as we are none smoking hotel. No other guests have complained about such discomfort. Last but not least, We are very sorry we ran out of gluten free bread on Sunday Morning. We were not able to restock as quickly as per demand that morning. This is indeed good lesson to learn to raise our order amounts for gluten free bread higher. Apologies once again for not having splendid start at the morning. Besides issues experience on your last visit, I truly hope you would give us another chance to serve you better in future and wish you many wonderful travels for 2020 ahead! With kin regards, Mara Blaubarde
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
johnschulz wrote a review Apr 2020
San Francisco, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I just got off the boat from helsinki and it was hot. i could walk but took a pedicab instead. i was dropped off at this very old but fashionable hotel. upon arriving i was greeted a lovely hostess. my room wasnt ready so i was escorted to the beautiful courtyard and offered a glass of wine perfect the room was large and very nice and the hotel is very central you could walk to everything the hotel has a wonderful restaurant
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: all rooms seem to be great
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SchlossleHotelGroup, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle
Responded Jun 30, 2020
Dear John, What a wonderful note sent our way! It was our true pleasure to look after you and we simply cant wait to have this opportunity again some time soon! With kind regards from entire team, Mara Blaubarde
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David M wrote a review Dec 2022
Greater London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely boutique hotel with character and great service but at a price.
One is meant to be in awe at all the famous guests but most stayed on business trips.
A beautiful building with great staff but not worth €256 a night. The money is not the issue as I would have been happy to pay more . It was certainly an oasis in a very cold Tallinn at minus 20C. The room was lovely with all I needed so that was fine.
But when we asked for some tea and a drink at 11.40 in reception by the fire , we were told that the 24/7 room service had ended.
We ate in the restaurant on our last night. The first course of eel was amazing but my steak was over cooked after asking for rare. Wine was fine but the issue was service. He may not have realised it but the restaurant manager was condescending and failed to make us feel comfortable with a superior dismissive attitude . He even made it difficult splitting the €300 bill so I could pay half in cash.

Essentially a very special boutique hotel which merits its high rating but only if it exhibits more humility and does not rely on past glories when it was the chosen venue for the powerful and the famous.

It is us normal clientele who keeps it open and no longer Prince Charles of Mick Jagger!

A beautiful place to stay as long as it realises it has to keep earning its stars.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mara Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle
Responded Dec 29, 2022
Dear David, Thank you very much for this feedback shared. As I already reached out to you personally, after having this arrived to our attention, I am extremely pleased that outcome from above was mutually beneficial. We certainly look forward to welcome you back soon. Have a wonderful holiday season! With Kind regards, Mara Blaubarde
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rossyto21 wrote a review Jun 2023
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel Schlossle was the best of the eight hotels we stayed on a one-month vacation. This is a small boutique hotel that welcomed us with a fresh glass of our beverage of choice while we checked in, made us feel right at home, and has excellent facilities and services: from the pillows, towels, and bedside water to the spa and sauna. Not even the luxury hotel we stayed at in Helsinki had a night turn-over service, which was traditional in the past but has been cut off because of the cheap economy we are living on. If you want to feel pampered and treated as royalty, come to the Schlossle (and by the way, Queen Elizabeth, and the new king of England Charles, have stayed here along with Duran Duran, and other famous people). Apart from that, the restaurant is top of the line and the location is perfect to visit the Old Town. I will not want to stay anywhere else whenever I come back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mara Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle
Responded Jun 28, 2023
Dear Guest, What a wonderful trip you have had! It is truly amazing to hear you have been on a road for over a month and that Hotel Schlossle brought you the warmest memories to look back to. We couldn't be more pleased to hear what a great stay you had! Thank you for your kindness and for your recommendations to other travelers out there recommending to stay at the Schlossle Hotel. We look forward to have you back with us at some point during your wonderful travels again. In name of the entire team, Mara Blaubarde
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anna wrote a review Mar 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel for4 nights in January. The hotel itself is beautiful and historic; we enjoyed having coffee by the fireplace each day. The food and service in the hotel restaurant was also excellent and we loved that the old city was explorable from the hotel by foot. We used the private sauna twice during our stay and would highly recommend this, especially after a cold day exploring the city!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SchlossleHotelGroup, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle
Responded Mar 1, 2020
Dear Guest, What a treat is to read your feedback! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Schlossle as taking care of you was our true joy! Look forward to see you back soon, Mara Blaubarde
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Miriam L wrote a review Oct 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It's hard to put into words how amazing this place is. I felt like I was at home. Everyone went above and beyond. It was really hard to believe. From day one to the day we left everything was perfect. The biggest thing I noticed was the extreme attention to detail. The welcome, robe, house slippers, turn down service in the evening, water and glasses at our bed side stands at night, bathtub was glorious especially in this part of the world, bathroom scale, full frig, in room coffee and tea, everyone who works there wears suites and they look wonderful, everyone is so kind and friendly and all spoke great English, and on and on and on. The morning breakfast was in a very romantic room again with all details thought of. You can order an omelet or egg to order if you want but tons to choose from on the buffet. Yes, you can go to a regular hotel but if you want a very special place to go to and remember...this is the place. I would recommend it for a honeymoon or anniversary. Very very very special place to go. I booked on Expedia but they would love for you to book directly if possible. I really did not understand how very special this place was until I arrived and in the heart of Tallin a magical place to visit. Even Queen Elizabeth has stayed here. They have pictures to prove it. Also, many many dignitaries. This is one of the top boutique hotels in the world. Don't miss out, stay here. Life is short and this is one place to put on your bucket list.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mara Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle
Responded Nov 29, 2022
Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Schlössle Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future. Sincerely, Mara Blaubarde
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rc1 wrote a review Jul 2022
Folsom, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 3 nights at this beautiful hotel. The location was perfect, right in Old Town, on a quiet street, yet only a short walk from most of the sites. There are cafes and small restaurants less than 5 minutes away, and the Town Square and other restaurants very close too. The staff is absolutely excellent, making us feel like valued guests. The reception staff were extremely welcoming, professional, friendly, and helpful. Our superior deluxe room, though sort of small, was tastefully decorated. The window seat was a perfect place to relax. The breakfast staff were great too and welcomed us every morning and took care of our requests. The buffet breakfast was very good and even included a menu with hot items to choose from. The only small thing missing was good black tea, as the tea leaves they had were a little too mild for our tastes. And a kettle (tea service) in the room would be much appreciated, though the reception staff got one for me right away when I asked for it. I highly recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mara Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle
Responded Nov 29, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for such a splendid review! It has been an honor to be at your service and we look forward to see you back soon! With Kind regards, Mara Blaubarde
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Artemistica asked a question Jul 2022
Gibraltar117 contributions39 helpful votes
Does this hotel cater well for vegans? What vegan options are available at breakfast?
Answer from petrar
Porvoo, Finland53 contributions32 helpful votes
I am not sure about this, but I think so. I am vegeterian, so for me the breakfest was really good. Ps. For lunch or dinner I recommend restaurant Vegan V! It is our favourite.
Answer from WolfgangTeufl
Salzburg Region, Austria12 contributions9 helpful votes
Buffet and a la carte, very delicious.
clarence p asked a question Nov 2016
Eagle River, Wisconsin11 contributions17 helpful votes
Does this hotel have parking?
Answer from Liva L
Tallinn, Estonia1 contribution
Dear cwpbup, Please be informed that we offer valet parking!
QuincyYork wrote a tip Feb 2024
York, United Kingdom389 contributions140 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No bar area so drinks in lobby only - which is very nice!"
Read full review
petervanalstine wrote a tip Jan 2024
Copenhagen, Denmark9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't miss out on the Restaurant downstairs... enjoy the open fireplace and of course the food "
Read full review
Janelle H wrote a tip Dec 2023
Nether Alderley, United Kingdom55 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Would recommend booking evening meals if going at the weekend as very busy with the Christmas markets"
Read full review
W P wrote a tip Sep 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Def elect to get breakfast if not offered. Breakfast is exceptional"
Read full review
Sam C wrote a tip Sep 2023
Seattle, Washington6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Right in the middle of historic downtown!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tallinn area.
PRICE RANGE
C$277 - C$456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
schloessle hotel tallinn
LOCATION
EstoniaHarju CountyTallinn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Schlossle - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Schlossle
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Schlossle?
Nearby attractions include Tallinn Old Town (0.1 km), Medieval Photo (0.4 km), and Get Away Zone (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Schlossle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Schlossle?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Schlossle?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Schlossle?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Schlossle?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vegan Restoran V, Chakra, and Mix.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Schlossle?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Schlossle have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Schlossle offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Schlossle located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Tallinn.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Schlossle?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Schlossle offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
All Tallinn HotelsTallinn Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TallinnHotels near Hotel Schlossle
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars