We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Onuku Farm Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 62: English reviews
Start your review of Onuku Farm Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked the Tonga Hut as it was described as "private". We knew the kitchen and bathrooms were in a separate building, so we brought flashlights. Tonga Hut is actually two rooms, side by side. Okay, semi-private--still a beautiful setting. We were not issued a key at reception and so I called to ask about it. I also asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Feenixwest
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a party campsite of the highest order - music blasting right through the night from all angles, drugs and alcohol abundant everywhere. Not ideal if you have children! Nice setting however shame about the staff they are pretty rude and we saw one of the management physically attack one of the campers who apparently had been asked to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank BobbySandsHerald
OnukuHostel, General Manager at Onuku Farm Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Bobby, I am sad to hear that you were unlucky enough to arrive at our beautiful campground on such an unusual and unfortunate evening. We haven't had a noise complaint and/or alcohol abuse issues for over 3-4 years or more!!! The weekend to which you are referring to was Waitangi weekend and unfortunately we had some guests who were...

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This farm is a great place to stay for several days! Every accommodation is special and made with lots of love. You can do several walks there, even if the weather is not the best (happens sometimes) you have amazing views!! The dolphin swimming tour was awesome and if the tides are good, you have to go "Paua Picking" with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Teresa B
OnukuHostel, General Manager at Onuku Farm Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you Teresa for staying with us for 4 nights! Glad to have been able to spend time with you and to get to know you! We will miss your friendly personality and adventure spirit! Hugs from all of us!

Sohar, Oman
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We loved the friendliness and personality of this hostel. The road to get there is quite winding, but it was really lovely. Akaroa is small and quaint, and Onuku Farm Hostel brings great humor and life to their property. It was fun to wander around meeting geese and sheep, and pointing out all the little details to each other. Really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank egrieb2017
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The perfect night spent here with my teenage daughter. The staff were all super friendly and couldnt have been more helpful. The hostel facilities were perfect and the grounds were immaculate. Stunning views across the bays, set in the bush, birdsong and even their very own "pets"! We stayed the night in one of their famous stargazers and were very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie G
OnukuHostel, General Manager at Onuku Farm Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie, Thank you so much for your kind words and your nice smiles! It was our pleasure to host you again and to meet your family! Hope to see you here again anytime!

Darlington
Reviewed 18 December 2016

There are a number of different accommodation options at Onuku Farm Hostel. We stayed for one night in the Trampers' Hut which had bunk beds and a kitchen (the loos and showers were a short distance away - but you do need to go outside to access them). The hostel is approximately 6 kilometres from the centre of Akaroa and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikeedeedee
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights and we had booked the Tonga hut for the first night and stargazer for the second night. The whole area of the farm is actually pretty big, so different areas were quite isolated from each other (camping, hostel, van park). Especially in the Tonga hut you can just enjoy your own company - unless...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mindei
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Amazing place! It's a small hostel, charming and intimate, it feels like home! The staff is very friendly and fun to be around, helpful too. For nature lovers it's the perfect place as it's in a remote location on a hill (20 min by car from Akaroa) with nothing but green all around. It's really relaxing to just sit outside,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bérengère S
Marburg, Germany
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

The perfect place to stay. That's the way I imagined New Zealand and the way I want to keep it in mind. Big value of different rooms with special starlight accommodation :) (I hope it's still there). If I ever suffer a burnout I'll come here and relax for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marsupialia
Broome, Australia
Reviewed 29 April 2016

This place is incredible. The staff are welcoming, the place is homely and the scenery to die for. Akaroa, the town itself is an abosolutely stunning place, and to have somewhere like Onuku Farm Hostel to kick back and relax at, is just joy!! If you don't have a vehicle, it may be difficult to get to - however they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TillyMillican
OnukuHostel, General Manager at Onuku Farm Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Tilly, I am incredibly happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Onuku. I am very glad to have met you and spent time with you! I wish you all the best in your travels!

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (41)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
4.0 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
50 reviews
5.6 km away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
6.9 km away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 25 in Akaroa
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Kokopu Estate
Kokopu Estate
#4 of 24 in Akaroa
115 reviews
5.0 km away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
203 reviews
4.6 km away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Open Oct-May: Cozy farm hostel with amazing coastal views & rustic original kiwi facilities: Stargazers, Farmhouse, girls only dorm, camping, vans, huts. Enjoy it all: sunrise to sunset & the most amazing stars in the sky at night plus No sandflies :) Hiking, mussel picking, BBQ. Guided dolphin swims & kayak trips directly from the farm. Internet & WiFi. Just 6 km from Akaroa. Free pick up @ 12.30 from Akaroa. Cash only! Phone for monthly specials. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Onuku Farm Hostel

Address: 89 Hamilton's Rd, Akaroa 7452, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Price Range: $28 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Onuku Farm Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Onuku Farm Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“So many options, huts, camping, dorm or private rooms. You can't go wrong!”
 of 5 bubbles TillyMillican, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Great views!”
 of 5 bubbles menno4u, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the main house are great! Girls dorm has amazing view and en suite bathroom with shower and washing machine!”
 of 5 bubbles IngaLV, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The Kiwi stargazer is unique. A very basic 'wooden tent' but the views at night are great.”
 of 5 bubbles MaartenD447, 8 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Get a cabin with see-though roof.”
 of 5 bubbles scarbez, 29 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5