We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1008)
Room & Suite (231)
Dining (89)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 148 hotels in Washington DC
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Mixing smart design with the unexpected, Hotel Hive unites modern innovation with historic character. Our distinctive 125-250 square foot rooms are perfectly unique hives for on-the-go guests looking to truly connect with the city. From its prime location, Hotel Hive guests can buzz about the city and return to a unique and innovative hotel experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Rooftop bar
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
5.0
2,465 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Hotel Hive garners high praise for its excellent location, with guests appreciating the ease of access to local DC attractions and the convenience of public transit. Its amenities, including on-site dining options, contribute to its popularity among travelers looking for comfort and value. The hotel's vibrant and stylish atmosphere, combined with its spotless rooms, adds to the welcoming experience, although the rooms are noted to be cozy in size. Service at Hotel Hive stands out, with special commendations for staff members Brooke, Q, and Chanta. While some guests have noted noise issues, many report a peaceful night's sleep.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Cozy
Value
Affordable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Noise level
Mixed
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
2465Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,231
  • 174
  • 40
  • 15
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
GoPlaces32872579221 wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Staff was amazing & very friendly. Quick call we had ice for our refreshments. Beds were SUPER comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was spot on. Bar and pizza shop on premises was a welcome surprise. Great experience & will definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sarah C wrote a review Jan 2024
4 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
I moved to this hotel after a couple nights at a more expensive highly rated “trendy” hotel in Capitol Hill. I wish I’d been at Hive from day one. It was so comfortable there. I had a loft room which was more than big enough and had big windows and a good view. The bed was very comfortable. I loved the neighborhood of Foggy Bottom and felt safe walking around at all hours, and it’s really well located to everything. The pizza they serve is amazing especially the breakfast avacado pizza. Understand before you book that this is a micro hotel…services are less to help keep their costs down and your costs down. If you want your room turned over every day and a coffee maker in your room this is probably not the place for you. The coffee they serve in the lobby in the morning is good coffee and it’s free for guests…I just went down and got some. I will definitely stay here if I go back to DC. The staff were all very nice and I felt safe there as a solo female traveller.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Guillen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hive
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Sarah, Thank you for writing us a 5-star review! We are extremely happy you gave our unique Hive a try and enjoyed it so much! Our beautiful loft rooms and amazing location tucked in Foggy Bottom make for the perfect stay. We are very glad you felt safe and welcomed during your visit as your comfort is a high priority for us! I love that you indulged in the delicious pizza and coffee too. While we are micro, we offer the best value stay in the city. We like to say that we have everything you need and nothing you don't. We are so excited to hear that you'll be back and look forward to seeing you next time! Best, Kara Wohlfahrt - Emerging Leader
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Dion F wrote a review Feb 21
2 contributions
The room was super clean! Comfortable and the location is lovely if you looking to be by the historical museums and sight seeings! James up front was nice and helpful as well! We were able to visit all the most beautiful locations, food places and more!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ebret-the-Elephant wrote a review Feb 20
Cambria, California1 contribution
This is my second year in a row staying at Hotel Hive for an annual conference at GW. I can't recommend this spot enough. Great bang for the buck, centrally located, and the friendliest staff around. I will most definitely be staying here when I return to DC next year.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Guillen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hive
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Ebret-the-Elephant, Thank you for leaving us a 5-star review! It is so nice hearing that each stay with us has been so comfortable and positive. Our central location and engaging team members help make us the best value spot in the city and we appreciate you recognizing this. We cannot wait to see you again next year! Best, Kara Wohlfahrt - Emerging Leader
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Laura wrote a review Feb 20
2 contributions
I love this little hotel! Great location: close to the mall but away from the tourist mania. The rooms have well-curated essentials. Any extras you need, the staff is happy to provide. The bars (downstairs and rooftop) keep a nice fun buzz going and the pizza is fantastic! Best of all is the warm, knowledgeable, upbeat staff who care about your experience. Big thanks to Q, James, and Brooke! I will keep returning!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Try the pizza… it’s amazing!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Guillen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hive
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Laura, Thank you very much for buzzing about your recent stay! Our location is perfect for visiting all of Washington's greatest attractions while also relaxing in the heart of charming Foggy Bottom. We are overjoyed that our cozy rooms, amenities, and delicious pizza menu made your stay so memorable! We also appreciate you shouting out Q, James, and Brooke, as well as the rest of the team for their exceptional service. We cannot wait to welcome you back for more 5-star experiences! Best, Kara Wohlfahrt - Emerging Leader
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Deborah S wrote a review Feb 20
1 contribution
Fantastic stay! Clean hotel and very friendly staff. Small rooms but had everything you could need. Safe area on the edge of the George Washington campus. Terrific price and rooftop bar was amazing and the end of the day to relax and unwind. Bar and pizza downstairs was comfortable to grab a bite at the end of a long day of touring.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Guillen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hive
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Deborah, Thank you very much for writing us such a sweet review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed such a lovely stay. It is great that our cozy and unique rooms fit all of your needs. Our can't-beat location and amazing value makes us the best place to stay when exploring DC! I am glad you had a chance to unwind in our bars too. Hopefully we can welcome you back again for another 5-star stay! Best, Kara Wohlfahrt - Emerging Leader
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kelly-Ann R wrote a review Feb 19
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States5 contributions
I had a wonderful experience at the Hive Hotel. The Hotel is charming and hip all at the same time. The rooms are small, however clean and very comfortable. The staff was helpful and very hospitable. Note: My one disappointment - the Bar/Restaurant closes at 10/10:30 PM.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Guillen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hive
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Kelly-Ann R, Thank you for taking a moment to write us a 5-star review! We are so glad you enjoyed our unique and upbeat vibe. What we may lack in size, we certainly make up for with our clean and welcoming atmosphere! I appreciate you highlighting our friendly and accommodating team. While we wish we could buzz all night in the bar, we do limit our hours because of the rooms above and below. We hope you come visit us again soon for another relaxing and fun stay! Best, Kara Wohlfahrt - Emerging Leader
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jen wrote a review Feb 19
3 contributions
Hotel Hive is a hidden gem in D.C. It's clean, cozy and comfortable with a laid-back vibe. What truly sets Hive apart, though, is the customer service. The hotel staff reach out frequently to make sure things are ok and genuinely seem to care about the guest experience. I also appreciate the convenient dining options at the hotel, with beer and pizza (even vegan - hooray!) available in the lobby and coffee in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Great for solo travelers
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Guillen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hive
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Jen, Thank you so much for your 5-star review! It is great that you had such a sweet experience. I am very glad that our clean and inviting rooms and our friendly team made your stay stand out so positively. We appreciate your recognition of everyone's amazing service and helpful attitudes. We have a delicious bar and restaurant menu and I am so happy you could find some vegan-friendly options during your visit. We hope to welcome you back again very soon for another great stay! Best, Kara Wohlfahrt - Emerging Leader
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Inspire695288 wrote a review Feb 19
1 contribution
Although it seems compact, the rooms are spacious, comfortable, and have amenities. You wouldn’t expect and accents that make it elegant and simple. The bed is super comfy, I also want to commend the location. It is in a vibrant part of foggy bottom, right on Washington University‘s campus. It is also five minutes long n foot from the Kennedy center and 10 minutes on foot from the mall. We will stay here again when in DC. Probably will not stay anywhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Guillen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hive
Responded 3 days ago
Hi Inspire695288, Thank you so much for writing us a 5-star review from your recent stay! While we are micro, we pride ourselves on our cozy rooms and great amenities. It is great that our central location was such a good fit for your visit. We cannot wait for you to buzz by again next time you are in DC! Best, Kara Wohlfahrt - Emerging Leader
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Expedition438910 wrote a review Feb 18
Nashville, Tennessee1 contribution
Fantastic team!!! “Q” and James are an exceptional duo who assisted us from the very first moment we spoke on the phone to check in/out. The is no better option in DC. Looking forward to our return stay. Check out the pizza as well as the roof top bar!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Guillen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hive
Responded 3 days ago
Hi Expedition438910, Thank you for sharing a 5-star review with us! It is so great to hear that Q and James made your stay so smooth and comfortable. We appreciate you giving them such a sweet shoutout! I am very glad you had a chance to enjoy our yummy pizza and bar refreshments too. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Best, Kara Wohlfahrt - Emerging Leader
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Washington DC area.
PRICE RANGE
C$187 - C$398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesDistrict of ColumbiaWashington DCFoggy Bottom - GWU - West End / Upper Northwest
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Hive - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Washington DC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Hive
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Hive?
Nearby attractions include The George Washington University Museum - The Textile Museum (0.3 km), Department of State (0.3 km), and George Washington University (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Hive?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Hive?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Hive?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Hive?
Conveniently located restaurants include CIRCA at Foggy Bottom, &pizza - Hotel Hive, and Whole Foods Market.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Hive?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Hive?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Hive?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Arlington National Cemetery (2.6 km), Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens (5.2 km), and Ford's Theatre (2.1 km).
Is Hotel Hive accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.