We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

HI Washington DC Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
HI Washington DC Hostel
HI Washington DC Hostel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

625 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for HI Washington DC Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 416: English reviews
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2015

I booked to stay 2 nights in a private room (no ensuite) and ended up extending my stay to 3 nights. For the most part the staff were ultra friendly and helpful. Michelle Johnson Dews was super helpful when I needed to check something at a local store. And other staff also gave me excellent sightseeing tips, great advice on...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Atheoretical
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

Atheoretical: Oh, my! Now that is a thorough review! Thanks for all of the feedback and tips for other readers. And, thank you for all of the kind words about the HI DC team, location, Wi-Fi, bed lamps, breakfast, kitchen, and cleanliness (generally). We're actually looking into new faucets, which would be snazzy-looking and provide better water pressure for the...

Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 6 February 2015

I used to stay here when I first backpacked to Washington DC area in mid-1990s. I also stayed there when coming into town for job interview and conferences. As a student with limited budget, this place offered me a place to stay without breaking a bank. And it is quite close to the Convention Center and many DC sights. Thus,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Saricie_Q
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

Saricie_Q: It's always a pleasure to hear from our repeat hostellers. We're so glad to have you back! When you write that nothing has changed, I hope that you mean that the service is impeccable and that you had a wonderful time. :-) You did mention that the experience remains a strong value. Thank you! In all seriousness, you mentioned...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 28 January 2015

This place is well located, rooms are clean, and the staff helpful. Not too expensive, but well priced for DC. Down the road from the Metro and Buses pass all the time. Go visit Capitol Brewing Company on New York St.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank demolitionrob
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

demolitionrob: Thanks so much for the fun review! My team always likes reading about happy hostellers. Yes, Cap City is a great place for a beer (brewed locally) and a bite. Safe and happy travels! ~ Mark Schneider, HI DC General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2015

A great little place. Clean and spacious rooms, very friendly staff. My friend and I paid $80 for one night in November, and got a room to ourselves. In an excellent location, there are plenty of good restaurants and bars within 5 minutes of walking. There is also a bike sharing station right out the side. Would highly recommend getting...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew M
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

Andrew M: Thanks for the perfect score and very kind words! Also, thank you for helping our fellow TripAdvisor readers with the advice about the bikeshare station. It's good for travelers to know that it's so close and convenient. ~ Mark Schneider, HI DC General Manager

Rome, New York
Reviewed 5 January 2015

My one night stay at Hostelling international was very good. I didn't get to do any tour with them, but I can speak on the other things I experienced at this hostel. Unfortunately, before arrival, I was notified that the elevator was being renovated, so I had to cut my stay short and move to a hotel being that I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BlueWayTravel
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

BlueWayTravel: All of us at HI DC are thrilled to hear that you had such a pleasant stay, especially that our individual team members made it so special. Contributing to wonderful travel experiennces is the reason why we are here, and reading how this happened for you is a huge boost. Thank you for all of the compliments! ~ Mark...

Toronto
Reviewed 30 December 2014

I stayed at HI Washington for 3 nights in December and I had a very positive experience. The team who work the welcome desk were very helpful and they were available any time of day. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm and the room was very spacious and clean. They also had storage lockers in the room so we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Audrey B
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

Audrey B: It was truly our pleasure to host you and the rest of the attendees of the White House Summit! All of us working together to encourage youth travel is definitely part of making the world a more tolerant place. Thanks so much for your review, and we do hope that you come back to DC and say "Hello!"...

Terang, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 27 December 2014

The hostel was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was excellent and it was in a great location. However if you leave personal items there don't expect to get them back, I left personal items there and the staff made no attempt to try and recover them. They ignored the numerous emails I sent to them and were very rude when...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jarrod L
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

Jarrod L: I apologize for any mis-communication. I have checked into the situation, and here's what I found. My Assistant General Manager, Emily, received an email from you and responded on 9 December, but never heard back from you. She said that you mentioned that you were missing a "print," but she needed more information to be able to find...

Greenfield Center, New York
Reviewed 13 December 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect as I had never stayed in a hostel before. I did feel somewhat out of place due to my age, however I was made to feel welcome. The hostel touts its friendly atmosphere of camaraderie and friendship, however that was not very much in evidence here. Hardly anyone except staff spoke to me. None...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank geocachelinda
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

geocashelinda: Woo hoo! Another first-timer! It's incredibly exciting to be able to offer the inaugural hostel experience to so many travelers...and to see so many converts. I'm so glad to read that our team made you feel welcome throughout your stay. And the free, volunteer-led tours are a great way to see the city and meet new people. It is...

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2014

Booked this quite late so ended up in a 10 bed dorm which was a bit scary as I hadn't stayed in a hostel before, but it was alright in the end! Got woken up a few times by other people coming and going but wasn't a problem! Breakfast in the morning was good, but the guy working was a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank EMWindle
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

EMWindle: Very cool! We're thrilled that you chose us for your first hostel experience. Welcome to the club! John, our world famous Breakfast Attendant, usually gets rave reviews for helping people to get their day started and to meet other hostellers. Sometimes, though, it may not be a good fit. Hopefully, you'll give more hostels a try. It can truly...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2014 via mobile

Great location, rooms comfy, the lift is super slow so using the stairs is better. Which is great exercise! Our window wouldnt close in our room, but it worked out well as the heating got a bit too hot for us and we would have opened the window anyway! Would stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathy P
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

Kathy P: Welcome to the glorious world of hostelling! All of us at HI DC are so proud that you chose us for your first hostel experience. In the future, if you have challenges with climate control or a maintenance issue, please let us know. Both of those are items that can be addressed relatively quickly by our Guest Service...

301 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
4:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (71)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (147)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Private Room with Double Bed (16)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Ten Bed Economy Dorm (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#58 of 140 in Washington DC
1,466 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 140 in Washington DC
4,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
893 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#67 of 140 in Washington DC
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
HI-DC is the best value in DC! Our dorm-style and private rooms bring together international and domestic budget travelers in a safe, clean, and fun environment. We have a long list of FREE amenities and an unbeatable location - just 8 blocks to The White House and The National Mall (home to world-famous monuments, museums, and galleries), 4 blocks to China Town, and 3 blocks to the Metro. We're Gold Level Certified by Sustainable Travel International's STEP ("green") program, too! ... more   less 

Additional Information about HI Washington DC Hostel

Address: 1009 11th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4409
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Price Range: $52 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI Washington DC Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your HI Washington DC Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from HI Washington DC Hostel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from HI Washington DC Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The private room and 6 bed dorms are great.”
 of 5 bubbles 841abbieb, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I don't think you can choose, but the elevator is often busy so the closer to the lobby the better (there are 8 floors)”
 of 5 bubbles Danimost, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Frontdesk and staff are always very happy to help. Also go early for breakfast so you don't have to eat in a rush.”
 of 5 bubbles 908jeremiaha, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room off the street and choose a room with the least amount of beds for your budget”
 of 5 bubbles RamblingRonda, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“go for a room with less people in it”
 of 5 bubbles ToffeeCanary, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5