We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

University Inn Washington DC

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
Panoramas (31)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for University Inn Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,098: English reviews
Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 June 2016

I was here on business and booked via client. The location is wonderful, right next to the GWU campus and, thus, located amongst a good deal of restaurants, etc., but in a quiet neighborhood. The front desk managed things well but is small and cramped. If they were taking in a large group (the hotel had a bus tour, but...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawn D
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello Shawn D, We’re glad you had a good stay with us and found our location excellent for your business trip. We do have a small desk, we are very efficient and are used to dealing with large groups, especially during the summer. While our bathrooms are a little dated, we promise they are super clean. Overall, we’re very happy...

Park City, Utah
Reviewed 22 June 2016

I chose George Washington University Inn because it was near GWU as I was there with my 17 year old niece who had tours scheduled there and Georgetown U. The location was perfect and near the Metro so we could use it from Ronald Regan National Airport. The hotel is just the right size with a nice restaurant attached. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharon f
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello Sharon F, We’re overjoyed you had such a wonderful experience with us, particularly with Carrie who recently joined our family at the GWU Inn. We hope the tour went well and would be truly honored to be your “go to” hotel in Washington DC if your niece decides to enroll. Kindest Regards, Wil Laura

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We always try to stay here when visiting our son at GW. This was our 4th stay. Nicely decorated colonial rooms. Cumfortable beds. It is nice to have a refrigerator, stove and sink if needed. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Would give 5*s except furnishings are a bit worn (not at all bad). The restaurant in the building has...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank weisberg89
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello Weisberg89, We are honored you have stayed with us time and time again. It truly means the world to the entire team seeing familiar faces return. We are looking forward to your future stay with us, and promise to make every stay better and better. Respectfully, Wil Laura

Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Reviewed 21 June 2016

This medium sized residentially located hotel is convenient to George Washington University and an easy walk to both Georgetown and the White House Mall area. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Check in and check out was a breeze. The room was good sized with a microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. The bed was comfortable and the flat...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cliff T
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello Cliff T, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community. We’re overjoyed everything was to your liking and are happy you found our location and amenities well suited for you adventure in Washington DC. We hope to be able to welcome you back the next time you are in our Nation’s Capital. Thank you,...

Baton Rouge, United States
Reviewed 20 June 2016

This is a nice hotel located near Georgetown. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice but the bathrooms show signs of age. First of all there are no counters or places to rest your bathroom items. You will have to put down the toilet seat of you want a place to place your change of clothes,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello Margaret T, Thank you for your feedback on your 5 day stay with us. I’m happy you found our team and location great but very sorry we did not live up to your expectations throughout your stay. I understand how frustrating the items mentioned can be and apologize for the inconvenience. We will definitely review these items and find...

Rock Springs, Wyoming
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Wonderful Hotel in a great location. The staff helped with all our needs, at the hotel and with sightseeing tips. Great service from housekeeping to management. Everyone one on every shift seemed to enjoy making our trip the best it could be.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kgreenlee73
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Greeting kgreenlee73, We’re thrilled you had such a wonderful trip to Washington DC, and that we made it better. We love taking care of our guests and making their stay as memorable as possible. We can’t wait to welcome you back the next time you are in DC. Kindest Regards, Wil Laura

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 18 June 2016

The place is old. They are giving you the bare minimum. We booked a suite for 3 girls and the provide one small bar of soap for the entire 5 days. Lamps didn't work, wallpaper pealing off the wall, cracked tiles in the tub. All toiletries were mounted to the wall, shampoo etc. Making for a lot of up and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeltwayB
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello BeltwayB, We’re very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us during you 5 day trip to Washington DC. We know we’re not the newest hotel on the block but take great pride to ensure our rooms are well kept and clean. I’m sad to see you did not feel we lived up to those standards. On a...

Delavan, Wisconsin
Reviewed 17 June 2016

We found this hotel to be charming. Every staff person was friendly and helpful. We were able to walk to the White House, the Lincoln Memorial and other monuments. A Trader Joe's is located very near by. We enjoyed seeing some of the campus. Our accommodation was very clean. I highly recommend The George Washington University Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nana20012004
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello nana20012004, We’re delighted you had such a wonderful stay with us and were able to take advantage of our location in Historic Foggy Bottom. Thank you for your future recommendations and we can’t wait to welcome you back for your next trip to our Nation’s Capital. Kindly, Wil Laura

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Very nice quiet place. A little old in its furnishings, but clean. Very convenient to Kennedy Center. Metro nearby. Whole Foods within walking distance. Felt safe. Very nice staff at front desk and at the door.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarjOB603
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 June 2016

I stayed at the George Washington University Inn for five nights with a relative. Staff were very friendly and check in and checkout were very easy. Our room was old and furnishings were a bit daggy, but the room was very clean, spacious, practical, and comfortable. There was a comfortable desk and chair, plenty of storage room, mini fridge, conveniently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexinmelbourne
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello Alexinmelbourme, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We truly appreciate our guest’s feedback. We’re happy you found our team, location, and clean room well suited for your 5 day adventure in DC despite our older décor. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Washington DC. Kindest Regards, Wil Laura

329 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (69)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (120)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Colonial Double (21)
Viewed
Colonial King (21)
Viewed
King Efficiency Studio (21)
Viewed
One Bedroom King Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
1,544 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#80 of 140 in Washington DC
650 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
1,384 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#38 of 140 in Washington DC
1,612 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Price Range: $235 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from University Inn Washington DC staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from University Inn Washington DC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We liked 704.”
 of 5 bubbles ejhArlington, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I rarely sleep well when I travel, so it wasn't a demerit on the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles X4212YPkellyk, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room on a higher floor for a better view”
 of 5 bubbles Dr_PMoh, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Very nice. Bathroom could use an update but water pressure was strong which isn't always the case in hotels. Convenient to metro. Short walk. ”
 of 5 bubbles Bbare, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Overnight and weekend parking would be a lot cheaper if you used the parking meters in the surrounding area, especially towards George Washington University.”
 of 5 bubbles JACfromNJ, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5