We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

University Inn Washington DC

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
Panoramas (31)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for University Inn Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,074: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Can't fault this hotel. We had 24 hours in DC, location was perfect, based in the attractive and historic foggy bottom, we were walking distance away from the mall, Lincoln Memorial, Whitehouse and main sights of DC. We could also take a walk into Georgetown for a meal that evening. The staff were fantastic, friendly, helpful, even let us store...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GavPTA
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello GavPTA, We’re happy you had a short but sweet stay with us, and found our close location to the Metro ( Blue, Orange, & Silver Line) ideal for your quick 24 hour adventure in DC. We hope next time you stay longer. There’s plenty more to see. Kindest Regards, Wil Laura

Hamburg, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 June 2016

First off, do not go to DC on memorial day weekend if you don't like crowds, and long security check points to get into the museums. We stayed at the GWU Inn and they had valet parking. I thought it was free with the stay, but its not. Its 40.00 per night. plus the 14% dc parking tax they called...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chriscX783WI
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello ChrisX783WI, Memorial Day is definitely one of the peak times in Washington DC, with tons of free events and the Rolling Thunder event throughout the National Mall. It definitely adds to the typical crowds during the summer in Washington DC. I’m sorry for the miscommunication with regards to the valet parking. Please note, we offer a parking package that...

Summerland Key, Florida
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We booked their studio apartment which was very efficient. We totally enjoyed our stay and the staff was great. It was very clean and the towels were new and lovely. The bed was very comfortable. The kitchen was wonderful. We had breakfasts and dinners using their quality cookware and kitchenware. Location was convenient to metro but we chose to use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fisherwoma
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello Fisherwoma, Thank you for calling us a Hidden Gem! It means a lot to the entire GWU Inn family. We’re thrilled your stay with us went well and that you enjoyed our newly updated kitchen supplies. Great advice with regards to Trader Joe’s, Sundays tend to be very busy at the grocery but the lines move superfast. Kindly, Wil...

Novato, California
Reviewed 30 May 2016

I stayed here recently for business. The service was kind and helpful and the rooms were spacious. The location is within walking distance of food, drinks and entertainment. The building is a bit dated but that did not detract at all from my overall stay. I would return here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kurtchr
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello Kurtchr, Thank you for choosing us for your business trip to Washington DC. We know there are plenty of hotels to choose from and are thrilled you chose us. We hope to be your hotel of choice when traveling to DC. Respectfully, Wil Laura

Dorchester, Ontario
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Close to Metro, lovely neighbourhood, nice clean rooms and friendly staff. Within walking distance of the Mall. Whole Foods is close by with everything you might need. Highly recommended for business or pleasure trips.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank law204
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Greetings Law204, We’re happy you found our location great for your adventure in Washington DC. We love being tucked away in Historic Foggy Bottom, where one is close to almost everything, including three metro lines (Blue, Orange, & Silver) two blocks away. Thank you for your future recommendations, we appreciate it. Thank you, Wil Laura

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 29 May 2016

It's nice to be greeted by the friendly faces at this hotel. The staff are always happy and helpful, the room was large and clean, and you can't beat the location. Near the metro, Whole Foods, Trader Joe's, and check out the free 6:00 pm concerts at the Kennedy Center after a long day of museums. Parking is valet only,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zimnopivo
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello Zimnopiyo, It’s always wonderful to see guests enjoy their stay! We’re happy our location suited you during your visit, and that your found our team happy and helpful, two very important qualities. Great tip about the free show at the Kennedy center located less than an eight minute walk from the hotel. Kindest Regards, Wil Laura

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 28 May 2016

The inn was close to the Metro and a very good market for purchase of food. The suite was pleasantly furnished although the kitchen lacked starter items such as Teatowel and dishcloth. Reception was friendly but not very helpful in recommending the delights of Washington or local or airport transports.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaretw230
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello Margaretw2330, Thank you for staying with us, we’re happy you found our location well suited for your stay in Washington DC. I’m sorry you did not find our team very helpful with regards to recommendations which is a bit surprising, but I promise I’ll look into it. I truly hope this does not deter you from returning to us....

New Zealand
Reviewed 28 May 2016

The room was excellent. We loved the fact that we had plenty of room & we could do laundry. Location is also excellent, close to the metro, shops, restaurants, market etc We would certainly recommend the GW as a place to stay while in Washington DC

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandJamey
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Greetings NewZealandJamey, We’re absolutely thrilled you had such a wonderful stay with us and found our rooms spacious and our location perfect for your trip to Washington DC. We really appreciate your recommendation with regards to the tea towel and will definitely look into having them available in all our rooms. Thank you, Wil Laura

Mold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Most comfortable hotel, great staff -always helpful and friendly. A little tired in parts as to decor but the staff more than made up for any little niggles we might have had. We're so pleased our tour operator chose this hotel for us , great location and we've no complaints.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesliep898
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Greetings lesliep898, Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad to hear you found our rooms comfortable despite the look of the decor. While we are not the newest hotel around, we strive to offer our guests the very best in class service and I'm thrilled to hear we succeeded. We look forward to seeing you again the next time...

Northville, Michigan
Reviewed 25 May 2016

I enjoyed it here. We were so close to the metro and in a very cute mixed space neighborhood. We had a large suite and I slept on the pullout couch. It was decent. They're attached to an Italian restaurant with a happy hour. But they're not open Mondays:(

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AdrienneFH
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello AdrienneFH, Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to see you enjoyed our location as well as our large spacious suites. We're also happy to see you enjoyed our happy hour we offer at our Italian Restaurant, Nottie Bianche, and look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in Washington, D.C. Respectfully, Wil Laura

328 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (120)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Other (63)
Viewed
One Bedroom King Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,524 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,687 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#70 of 141 in Washington DC
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
1,590 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#6 of 141 in Washington DC
1,363 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Price Range: $173 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from University Inn Washington DC staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question
Monterrey, Mexico
over a year ago
Lindenhurst, New York
1 month ago

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from University Inn Washington DC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I rarely sleep well when I travel, so it wasn't a demerit on the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles X4212YPkellyk, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room on a higher floor for a better view”
 of 5 bubbles Dr_PMoh, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Very nice. Bathroom could use an update but water pressure was strong which isn't always the case in hotels. Convenient to metro. Short walk. ”
 of 5 bubbles Bbare, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Overnight and weekend parking would be a lot cheaper if you used the parking meters in the surrounding area, especially towards George Washington University.”
 of 5 bubbles JACfromNJ, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The location is a bit tricky as this hotel is tucked away next to George Washington University -- plan to pay $47 per night for parking -- OR attempt street parking -- just beware of signs/permits and times if having your car on the street. We got lucky both nights and saved the $$.”
 of 5 bubbles Momster42, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5