We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion
Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 197: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I wish I had read reviews before booking. Worst experience in Washington DC in10 yrs. but could not get in to my usual choices. Street noise very disturbing late at night and very early morning. Ear plugs provided were no use whatsoever. Triple glazing might be a good investment. Staff on arrival and departure more interested in getting their iPads...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn J
Sarah C, General Manager at Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear Evelyn J, We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Technology is a blessing and a curse. Hotel RL's do not have a front desk, but the table and the ipad because we wanted to have a more personal interaction with our guests. This is often hard to do when we are trying...

Monrovia, Liberia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It was a great stay for 5 days on business. Was very pleased with the room, the hotel, and the exceptional service and all-round support provided by Cali and Tylor! Really great place, highly recommended for either business or touristic travel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank giesd
Sarah C, General Manager at Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear giesd, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We happy to see your comment about Cali and Tylor. We will be sure to share this with them and everyone else here. Please do come back and see us again.

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel RL in Washington DC is the perfect location for us near Dupont Circle. There are great restaurants near by and it is easy to get anywhere from there. The hotel was in the process of being updated but was still great. I had a room that was huge and had a comfy couch, dressing area, dining table and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dana Z
Sarah C, General Manager at Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear Dana Z, Thank you for taking writing a review on your stay. We are pleased you like our location and our rooms. The Cascadia amenities and towels are so wonderful. A lot of our guest just love them. I know I do! Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room itself is very nice, looks just like the pictures on the website. However, we stayed during an unseasonably warm day in the winter; our room's thermostat did not work. When we called to ask about it we were told it was an old building and due to the warm weather the master control was set to 'neutral' as...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rpitt_393145
Sarah C, General Manager at Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear rpitt_393145, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for us not being able to turn on the air. As you mentioned, it was an unseasonably warm winter. We have scheduled our chiller that runs the A/C to be scheduled for maintenance on February 7th. Upon doing this...

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great stay to visit Washington DC. Weekend days are not recommended as many shops are closed. Hotel does have too much heating in the hallways. Recommendation to take a rental car to Virginia and take the Skyline drive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dennis874
Berkel en Rodenrijs, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is conveniently located close to main the international institutions and for sightseeing in Washington DC. Spacious room with good quality bed, sofa, desk and fridge. Good breakfast opportunities nearby. Only minus was noise from the street early morning (5 AM). Earplugs are provided! Good value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aagje56
Sarah C, General Manager at Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear aagje56, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are happy to see that you like the location and your room. We apologize for the noise, but our downtown local does make us susceptible to it. Please come back and see us again soon.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Poor service, poor HVAC system, poor customer service facilities. No one available when there is a problem. Several times tried to have them service the HVAC system in my roof that was constantly 77 degrees or warmer. Blinds in room do not block out enough light if you need darkness to sleep.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ricod936
Sarah C, General Manager at Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear ricod936, Please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of service you experienced. The Chiller for the building was in the process of being serviced, so we were not able to turn it on. We had and unseasonably warm winter and we brought in our HVAC company in early to do the seasonal maintenance so we could turn it...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cold room and no heat for the entire night. Called the front desk to ask for assistance and was that maintenance was coming up. After waiting for an hour no one showed up. Service response time is very poor

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcos C
Sarah C, General Manager at Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear Marcos C, Please accept our sincere apologies for the cold room. The weather this season has been like any other we have seen. It is 70 degrees one day and 30 the next. We had our system in neutral and we had to wait for the water to heat up again so we could turn the heat back on....

Newport Beach, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Large spacious room, clean, comfortable bed, but sheets are irritating. They are scratchy. Maybe is how they are laundered because they don't seem old. The most important thing to remember is this is an older hotel and very loud. They only have heat or air, so you must open the windows which make it so loud all night long. ALL...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank worldview2016
Sarah C, General Manager at Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear worldview2016, We appreciate your feedback. Our downtown location is great for getting around town, but it does make us susceptible to all the noise the area has. Mother nature has not been on our side and as I type this, our HVAC company is servicing our chiller so we can get the air on. The mild weather was something...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm really suffering since i saw a rat licks the cafe maker and all the tools in the kitchen. I have taken more photo for this rats. the hotel tried to hack my accounts when i was connected internet throw your network to delete this photo, But they could not.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Malek and Ahmed h
Sarah C, General Manager at Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion, responded to this review

Mr. Gamal, As you know when we spoke in person in our lobby, the coffee area was closed when you took this photo for some additional construction in that space and the outside wall. This was the reason you witnessed the unwanted visitor and we appreciated you letting us know. While you were at the hotel, we completely removed all...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at The Mayflower
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at ...
#109 of 140 in Washington DC
36 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#84 of 140 in Washington DC
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarter...
#101 of 140 in Washington DC
1,272 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Gregory Hotel
The St. Gregory Hotel
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
51 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our contemporary boutique hotel is simple, stylish, and inspired by the vibrant pulse of the surrounding city. Amenities in our Washington DC boutique accommodations are anything but standard. Plush bedding, comfortable living areas, huge flat-screen TVs, free Wi-Fi, and convenient amenities create an inviting home-away-from-home environment. Hotel RL Washington DC is a gathering place for the District's most creative visitors and locals. The simple spaces at our boutique hotel in DC provide organic comfort, and our rooms are designed to inspire. We're right in the heart of The Capital, just a few minutes walk from George Washington University and The National Mall, and our hotel near Dupont Circle grants you access to all the hidden gems in the city. Use us as your home base when you explore DC. We've got your essentials: craft coffee, free Wi-Fi, passes to fitness centers, and meeting spaces. Our attentive staff is always around, ready to offer a lunch recommendation or an extra amenity. Hotel RL is within walking distance of the iconic sights of the National Mall, the diverse dining, nightlife and parkland of Dupont Circle, and only two blocks from the DC Metro. Take the District's energy as an invitation to explore. Discover area experiences new and old alike in the stately architecture of Embassy Row, the ahead-of-trend nightlife of U Street, the world-class dining of Logan Square, and the tight-knit neighborhood feel of Shaw. Hotel RL provides a comfortable place to rest and recharge. The coffee is hot, the rooms are spacious, and the unique location provides assurance that no two stays will be the same. Experience the newest boutique hotel in the DC area. Come, connect, and enjoy DC at Hotel RL. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion

Address: 1823 L St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Formerly The Quincy)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Price Range: $221 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quincy Hotel Washington Dc
Quincy Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I enjoyed my higher floor street facing room.”
 of 5 bubbles 465danaz, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“King Room is huge”
 of 5 bubbles diffchic, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great location. Not so good if you decide you want to sleep at night”
 of 5 bubbles 777cameron, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room on main street was fine, hotel supplies ear plugs for the noise of fire engines”
 of 5 bubbles janetcF459NQ, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for something off the street or on a higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles N8216DUmaryp, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5