We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

State Plaza Hotel

Booking.comUS$169*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,662 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for State Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,395: English reviews
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 5 wonderful nights on this city break as a couple from Scotland. As previous reviews the location was great for us. We were able to walk to most places that we wanted to. Did the Big Bus ho/ho for 2 days which was well worth it. Couple of minutes walk to 2 lovely restruants. Nice quiet area next to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fifer1075
Declan K, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for that glowing 5-star review. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, as we strive to ensure each guest has a pleasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Cheers, Declan Kealy

Reviewed 1 week ago

The positives about this hotel are location and rooms. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the the Foggy Bottom metro stop and the rooms are spacious with kitchenettes. The negatives are the location as it sits in the center of GWU and you're surrounded by dorms and fraternity and sorority houses. There are also very few restraunts...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emily S
Declan K, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted to see you enjoyed the location of the hotel and our spacious rooms. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to our Nation’s Capital. Cheers, Declan Kealy

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fabulous hotel! Wonderful customer service. Great breakfast and happy hour. Rooms comfortable. Right across the street from the metro stop and right by the baseball stadium. Lots of restaurants near by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ybavg
Declan K, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a glowing review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and great restaurant along with our wonderful customer service, as my team works hard to ensure that each guest has a lasting and pleasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Cheers, Declan Kealy

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for six nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Stayed in Suite with King Bed room 829. Lovely clean room with everything you would need, including kitchen with all necessities for a short stay including a dining area. Room had recently been refurbished. Good location to stay to see the sights of Washington. 10 minutes walk to National Mall and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amberley66
Declan K, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review! We are delighted you chose to celebrate your special time with us. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed our spacious rooms, friend service and great location. We look forward to welcome you back next year to celebrate your anniversary in our Nation’s Capital! Cheers, Declan Kealy

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed with a friend just for a night while testing, as it is located just across and up the street from OPM. The sleeping portion of the room is nice- similar to a Hampton Inn. The bathroom was very light and bright with mirrors, with a separate dressing table area. The full, but smaller scale kitchen and eating area would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveloften1962
Declan K, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a glowing review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel from our spacious and clean rooms to our accommodating and friendly service, as we strive to make sure every guest has an outstanding experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Cheers, Declan Kealy

Mundelein, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited this hotel for only a 2 night stay in April and was given an unexpected upgrade to a lovely suite. The rooms themselves were not luxurious but they were very spacious although the bath was somewhat small but comfortable and the kitchen and dining area a little tired but overall fine. Pretty good value for money. Had dinner in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trini-trekkers
Declan K, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to see you enjoyed the upgraded suite and the food in our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit our Nation’s Capital. Cheers, Declan Kealy

Nairobi
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My big complaint is that the hotel charges you $5 for each package you receive beyond 3 packages, regardless of how long you are staying. This is the first time I have encountered a hotel with such a policy. The hotel receives many international business guests like myself who wish to take advantage of their visits to the US to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whirled_traveler2012
Declan K, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very sorry you were not aware of our policies and procedures Due to limited storage; we like to ensure that all guests have the same opportunity to have a package shipped and stored. If you wish to discuss this further please email generalmanager@stateplaza.com Best Regards Declan Kealy

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had the pleasure of being your guests the week of $/24 thru 4/28. Our room was 711. It was beautifully clean well appointed and the maids did an excellent job.Everyone was very pleasant and completely helpful. We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting your city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sincityanne3052
Declan K, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing 5-star review! We are delighted that you enjoy our clean rooms and the helpfulness of our associates. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our housekeeping department. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Washington, DC! Cheers, Declan Kealy

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Some very clever photography creates quite the wrong impression. To get the the 'bar' and restaurant one goes down a corridor, thru the underground car park and across an open area. All very uninviting. Central but won't stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kipper_11
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I attended the People's Climate March and stayed at the State Plaza hotel for the first time the last weekend in April. The staff were very cordial, the room was very clean, plenty of closet and drawer space, nice views of George Washington University area. Within walking distance of the Capital mall, as well as multiple restaurants in the university...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jnelson9215
Declan K, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms as well as our helpful staff and convenient location. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Declan Kealy

684 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (444)
Viewed
Room/Suite (175)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (180)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (229)
Viewed
Amenities (68)
Viewed
Deluxe King Suite (79)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#44 of 140 in Washington DC
469 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
212 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#39 of 140 in Washington DC
2,057 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2916
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Price Range: $207 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from State Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from State Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“South tower is more convenient for site-seeing and close to CVS.”
  • queen beds were comfy
KimO506, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the rooms in the "annex". The views at the back of the hotel give onto a rooftop and nearby apartment blocks.”
boondoggie, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“I had Rm 501 which was a large King suite”
Trini-trekkers, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Go to another hotel.”
Kipper_11, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Be aware that hotel stretches from E ST NW to F St NW, small garage for off-street parking”
jnelson9215, 2 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$169* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$169
Expedia.comUS$169
Hotwire.comUS$169
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates