We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hay-Adams

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hay-Adams
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hay-Adams
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,088: English reviews
CA
Reviewed 31 July 2015

This was our second, and much more disappointing stay. The rooms, even the least expensive, are still a significant financial commitment. But if you opt for one of those, as we did, be aware: No dresser. Two tiny drawers next to the mini bar. And the "inside view" is of dumpsters, and the office workers in the adjacent building (which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul B
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review

Dear Susan B, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at The Hay-Adams. I am very sorry that your experience was disappointing and did not meet your expectations. We are an historic hotel and do pride ourselves in upholding the history and tradition that makes our property so unique. Because of this, we do experience...

Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

Came with our grand niece and nephew to teach and tour the city for a week this summer. We are more than happy with the hotel. I would never consider staying anywhere but here. I could see see White House out my window! Wow! It's across the street and so walking distance to so much. The hotel services were over...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Lizardia
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review

Dear Lizardia, What a delight to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Hay-Adams. The hotel truly has a beautiful view of the White House and I am thrilled that you were able to enjoy it. Also, I am happy to know that you had over the top service from...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

Traditional hotel in a great location. My room was old and tired with a miniature bathroom. Bed was very uncomfortable. Poor value for money. I moved to another five star hotel and got a better rate and excellent amenities. This hotel is in need of renovation.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sidneyzrh
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review

Dear Sidneyzrh, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that The Hay-Adams did not meet your needs. We wish you nothing but the best. Sincerely, Hans Bruland VP/General Manager

Washington
Reviewed 28 July 2015

My wife and I got married at the top of the hay, at The Hay Adams hotel in the summer of 2015. Superlative, flawless, once in a life time experience, are just a few superlatives I can use to describe our experience with The Hay Adams. Every single employee, from the event coordinator, to the florist, to the hotel lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank BlueDevilForLife
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review

Dear Blue Devil For Life, Congratulations on your wedding! The Hay-Adams team is so happy to hear that we were able to make your day flawless and a life time experience. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and the positive experiences we were able to help create and be a part of. We hope you come back...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Do not get fooled by the claims of its history. Being a frequent traveler, I booked this hotel only because some of their rooms had view of White house via their confusing website. ** It made me believe that such rooms were avail in their top most tier that were not suites but only find out that on arrival. **...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anushil
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review

Dear Anushil, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We take all reviews seriously and want to ensure all guests have a luxurious and memorable stay at The Hay-Adams. We apologize that we have failed your expectations and we hope to redeem your confidence in our facilities at some future date. Sincerely, Hans Bruland VP/General...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel with my family. The location is very good as you are within walking distance of the White House. I however found that the hotel is getting a bit old. If I compare it to other more modern 5-stars hotel, the staff is great, but the hotel needs to be modernized. This is why I gave...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dubois1969
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review

Dear Dubois1969, It is good to hear that you and your family had a great time at the hotel. Your feedback is appreciated regarding the feel of the hotel. As a historical hotel we try to retain the original charm, but we strive to stay current with the expectations of today’s travelers. Thank you again for giving us the opportunity...

Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed 25 July 2015

We were celebrating our 10th Anniversary with our stay at your hotel. This was our gift to ourselves, an extravagance in which we would not normally indulge. We wanted a very nice hotel close to downtown DC, the Hay-Adams overshot the mark in every way possible. We were upgraded to a room with a view of the White house, given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wesley B
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 25 July 2015

I picked the Hay Adams based on the review that I read on TripAdvisor. We like to stay at a great hotel when visiting a city and reading the reviews--the Hay Adams was our choice. From the moment we arrived, everybody was very nice and helpful. Our room was nice looking out over to the church...we weren't too concerned on...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank fam27
Oregon
Reviewed 23 July 2015

The Hay Adams is a world class hotel. I was attending my brother's wedding with my 20 year old daughter. We had the very good fortune to spend four nights in The Hay Adams. I was hoping to realize a life memory with my daughter, and The Hay Adams did not let me down. After a long day of travel,...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank hotelfan
New York City, New York
Reviewed 22 July 2015

The Hay-Adams is an old-school hotel with a very Washingtonian feel. Hard to describe, but I grew up in Annapolis and it's a similar feeling -- perhaps late 18th or early 19th century. The service was pretty much stellar. You were always genuinely greeted by the staff; if you asked for something it happened and in short order. My only...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank NY10040

1,066 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (504)
Viewed
Room/Suite (113)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
View from Room (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (16)
Viewed
Other (182)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (531)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Church View Deluxe Room (42)
Viewed
Deluxe Executive Queen Room (51)
Viewed
Interior View Room (115)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
St. John's Church View Suite (16)
Viewed
Superior Queen Room (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)
Viewed
White House King Room (44)
Viewed
White House View Junior Suite (51)
Viewed
Federal Suite (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
1,062 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
1,736 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Price Range: $494 - $920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hay-Adams staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Sibley, Louisiana
Dover, Delaware
9 months ago
Washington DC Metro
2 months ago
Vero Beach, Florida

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Hay-Adams staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Join LHW -- upgrades upon availability and worth it!”
KarenandGunnar, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a view! It is worth it.”
williamsonmary01, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“we stayed on the 8th floor which gave us a great view and no road noise”
JandKtraveltime, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Any room is great.”
genep2013, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the White House view rooms”
adalbert3, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5