We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Willard InterContinental Washington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Willard InterContinental Washington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,589 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Willard InterContinental Washington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,423: English reviews
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

This is an expensive treat. I must admit I was a bit disappointed. Service was not particularly attentive. The tables for four are a bit too small, especially after two tiered trays of sandwiches, scones, and sweets are placed in the center. When we wanted our check, it took quite awhile before our waiter appeared. (And they were not overly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beautifuldays2013
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Willard after a very disappointing experience at the Holiday Inn - Capitol (see review). What a very refreshing change. Yes it is expensive and they do not necessarily recognise your IHG Status however it is a very nice, comfortable, friendly hotel and is very well situated in DC.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RockyBubbles
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

The front desk delayed our Check-in (after the 4:00pm check-in time), as we were told our room had been cleaned but was awaiting final housekeeping inspection before they'd release the room for us (hotel guest). With basically no apology for the delayed check-in, we were finally given our room keys. As we begin to get settled into our room we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UTVol94
GM_the-willard, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review

Dear UTVol94, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Willard InterContinental. I am very disappointed to see that you were not satisfied with many elements of your stay from arrival to cleanliness of your room, and finally the poor problem resolution interaction you had to witness. This is all very unacceptable. I understand that...

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 30 December 2015

The Williard is know for the exceptional service, great location in the heart of DC and history. What you may not be aware of is the absoutley beautiful decor of the hotel during the winter holiday season. The outside is decorated in traditional holiday dessings that make it look like a Christmas card. When you enter the lobby the hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Reviewed 29 December 2015

I have to admit, I was already expecting this hotel to be nice. After all it was an Intercontinental Hotel. I was not however expecting the hotel to be so accommodating. The staff was excellent and very engaging, I felt very welcome and would definitely stay here again. I loved the location, which is right in the middle of everything....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dougiec24
McLean, Virginia
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

I was so excited to have Christmas tea with friends at the gorgeous and historic Willard Hotel. I was sorely disappointed though. Why? $52 + tip for tepid tea, stale scones, open faces sandwiches with dried up chicken salad, and other tasteless treats. Our teapots were refilled one time and we were never asked if we needed anything. Peacock Alley...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marilyn F
GM_the-willard, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review

Dear MarilynF, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am sorry to see that we failed to deliver a memorable experience during your recent visit for tea in our Peacock Alley. Please accept my sincere apologies. I will share your feedback with our Food and Beverage team. Please feel free to contact me directly at James.Ryan@ihg.com...

Providence, RI
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Visiting DC for a week I needed a nice hotel with a good amount of extra room - the Willard's Executive Suite King is am astonishingly well appointed room. Truly top of the line amenities and decor make this ideal. But what I really need to comment on is how absolutely perfect the service was across the board. From the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drewsomeness
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

Nice charming hotel with a location to beat in DC. Literally steps away from the White House and National Mall. Quaint rooms and comfortable beds. Unfortunately as other IHG elite members have pointed out, don't expect any elite benefits in this property beyond the free wifi. No acknowledgement of Spire elite status at check in and was asked to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WilliamNg111
GM_the-willard, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review

Dear WilliamNG111, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Willard InterContinental. I am disappointed to see that you were not satisfied with our benefits offered through our Spire Elite program, especially when it comes to recognition. I apologize and will use your feedback to improve our process. I agree the Willard is...

Reviewed 27 December 2015

We stayed for a couple of nights here. A very nice place, and the staff was very helpful and let us keep the room for a little longer before check out, due to illness in our family. Nice big room - lovely room service - lovely spa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martine P
atlanta
Reviewed 24 December 2015

I had several slightly unusual requests for my anniversary which were seamlessly and gracefully fulfilled. I would guess that Robert Watson, the exceedingly masterly concierge there, could build a restaurant over night if he had to! The front desk crew is also a "we will do it" crew with guys like Benny on duty. Some good things still occasionally seem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evantorch

1,807 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1252)
Viewed
Bathroom (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (282)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (229)
Viewed
View from Room (55)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (567)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (414)
Viewed
Amenities (93)
Viewed
Calvin Coolidge Suite (88)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (49)
Viewed
Dining (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (141)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
1,153 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
3,081 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
1,052 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
1,688 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Price Range: $460 - $1,049 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Willard InterContinental Washington staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Willard InterContinental Washington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was clean and neat. Bed was very nice and Bathroom was very elegant.”
 of 5 bubbles myhotelstaysforvac, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an upper floor with a view of the Washington Monument.”
 of 5 bubbles jsokolow, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“For quieter rooms, ask for courtyard view rooms, all other rooms face the street and are subject to traffic and pedestrian noise.”
 of 5 bubbles ixxael, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“For coffee and tea drinkers you'll be happy with free coffee/tea available. For those who don't want to worry about going to get drinks or snacks there is a variety for purchase in the room. ”
 of 5 bubbles M6856JOmichaelg, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on 3rd and 9th. Both were quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles GoCarolyn, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5