We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Kimpton Donovan

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Kimpton Donovan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,495 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Kimpton Donovan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,387: English reviews
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Hotel itself is a bit tired, but comfortable enough. Staff could not be more helpful or pleasant. Bar is a bit dear but it is in the middle of a big city. Location wise it is an easy 10 minute walk to the White House and about a further 15 minutes to the museums and Art galleries. Hotel has nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugh B
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Kimpton Donovan, responded to this review

Hugh B, Thank you for your comments regarding the staff. We do our best to recruit people for their personality and let the rest come naturally. Seems like we got that right a few times! And yes, our location is excellent which we embrace fully. Come see us again soon. Regards, Pete

Scarsdale, New York
Reviewed 21 May 2016

If you need to be in DC for the big convention center we like staying here. The location is walking distance to the DC convention center, and very convenient for all DC area activities. Hotel was clean and well appointed with a modern/Asian feel. We were very happy with this choice and glad to get out of the hub-bub of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Kimpton Donovan, responded to this review

Lynne F, I am happy that you were happy with your hotel selection! The convention center area can certainly become congested so I agree that we are situated in a prime area. Hopefully you have the chance to return to DC soon. Regards, Pete

Clarks Summit
Reviewed 20 May 2016

We spent 4 nites here and had a wonderful time. The staff at Kimpton properties are always helpful. From the doorman to the front desk to the house keeping staff. Thanks for great service. The room was large, bright and very well maintained. We had a King overlooking Dupont Circle. The shower was a bit "odd" in that it looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim_the_food_guy
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Kimpton Donovan, responded to this review

Jim_the_food_guy, First I must say that I think your username is great. I am a foodie myself and always happy to provide recommendations around DC. But I digress! Our showers absolutely have a unique design and most importantly, I am thrilled that you found the service was up to par. Please come back and see us again soon! Regards, Pete

Philadelphia, PA
Reviewed 20 May 2016

I recently stayed for one night at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel. The hotel is only a 10-15 minute cab ride from Union Station. Check-in was very easy (late at night). The room was quite nice...the king bed extremely comfortable and my preference for foam pillows was honored. The room was quiet (not much in the way of doors...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tlh02
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Kimpton Donovan, responded to this review

tlh02, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We believe we are a great DC hotel too and we are very aware of the competition out there. Hopefully are trade secrets don't leak... Look forward to hosting you again! Regards, Pete

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Things I loved about this hotel: the very welcoming staff at the front desk, the large room with the cool bathroom, the beautiful rooftop bar and pool, and the location that was just a short walk from the White House. The beds were very comfortable, and the place was very quiet, too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Kimpton Donovan, responded to this review

Scott K, Your top 5 favorite things at the Donovan list is really similar to mine. I do feel that you have to work Zentan in the list somewhere since the food and overall experience there is one of a kind. We still have plenty of rooms available Memorial Day Weekend if you want to join us again! Regards, Pete

Fayetteville, Georgia
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

This hotel was excellent! The room was spacious and fun, like all Kimpton rooms. The staff extremely accommodating and cheerful. The rooftop bar/grill was great day and night, with a beautiful view, good food and fun cocktails. The free wine hour(s) in the lobby capped off fun days and certainly encouraged conversation and joviality with fellow guests. We received several...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terri H
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Kimpton Donovan, responded to this review

Terri H, I was sorry to see your review end but I understand since I can't stop saying enough good things about our hotel either! Wine hour is always a blast and the DNV Rooftop Bar is exceptional. In fact, the weather is very nice right now, I may have to go taste a cocktail or two... Cheers to the...

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 17 May 2016

This hotel was beautiful! We loved staying here. We received an upgrade for a very small feel, and our new room was huge! We had a beautiful view and unbelievable amount of space. The front desk called to make sure we were happy only a few minutes after getting settled. The front desk was completely wonderful. They were so nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AllysonF903
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Kimpton Donovan, responded to this review

AllysonF903, While I am a HUGE supporter of the other Kimpton hotels, the competitive side of me says your experience with us will top them all! This is a wonderful review though and really lifts the spirits of our entire Front Desk team. Please come back and see us soon. Regards, Pete

Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

This hotel was reasonably priced for our group of 5, girls trip weekend. The rooms were clean looking and the beds were comfy. Room size was adequate for 3. Valet parking was easy to facilitate. Where this hotel fell short was in some minor areas. The lighting in the rooms was very poor making it difficult for my friends and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaVonne P
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Kimpton Donovan, responded to this review

LaVonne P, Thank you for joining us for your girls weekend. I apologize that we did not fully meet your expectations. The design of our rooms is certainly unique and we understand may not suit everyone's taste. We will certainly address the Housekeeping concerns to ensure any potential issues are permanently resolved. There are a lot of options in DC...

Yuma, Arizona
Reviewed 16 May 2016

The Donovan is well located near all the attractions and locations to get the job done. The staff David Valet, Amanda and Melissa front desk and countless others make your stay wonderful at The Donovan. From the moment you arrive till the moment you leave you are family. Thanks to all at the Donovan I wish I could name you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardvcraig
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Kimpton Donovan, responded to this review

richardvcraig, Nothing better than seeing a review that lists several staff members by name! I am glad for all the conversations we had and of course for all the stories you shared. The entire Front Desk and Valet team really enjoyed getting to know you. I hope your travels bring you back to The Donovan soon! Regards, Pete

Bethany Beach, Delaware
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

I was SO excited to stay here since we had never stayed at a Kimpton property before. This hotel is in a great location and we had a gorgeous view from our king studio. Also, everything in our room seemed clean and it was a large room. Loved the shower and the big tub. I was a little disappointed that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 256HeatherS
Peter D, Front Office Manager at The Kimpton Donovan, responded to this review

256HeatherS, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your first stay at The Donovan and Kimpton was disappointing for you. We take pride in ensuring every guest leaves with nothing but positive remarks. You are correct we offer coffee makers upon request and continental breakfast is not included in our standard rate. However, there are select...

745 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (501)
Viewed
Room/Suite (176)
Viewed
Bathroom (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Other (144)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (218)
Viewed
Adult Pool (30)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Double Double Executive Room (6)
Viewed
Executive Suite (5)
Viewed
King Deluxe Room (4)
Viewed
King Executive Room (79)
Viewed
King Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
234 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
The Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
2,995 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about The Kimpton Donovan

Address: 1155 14th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4111
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Price Range: $171 - $1,169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimpton Donovan 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kimpton Donovan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kimpton Donovan staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from The Kimpton Donovan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms right on Thomas Circle have fantastic views, but be warned: the drapes are not blackout, so street light streams in at night.”
  • The view from Room 811
 of 5 bubbles joopynyc, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“sign up for Karma rewards”
 of 5 bubbles MichiluzTravels, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Free wine hour between 5-6pm!”
 of 5 bubbles eleanormurphy01, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for what you need to feel comfortable - their staff will do everything possible to make it happen!”
 of 5 bubbles katelynk27, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“stay away from the 12th floor, directly underneath the rooftop pool!”
 of 5 bubbles lhamo1953, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay